We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“start of Myanmar vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Ranked #6 of 163 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2014

The rooms were great, the fitness center is perfect and the Trader's Club Lounge had great food, an amazing breakfast. The rooms were very well equipped, best in the country that we experienced. Walking distance to huge market.




Room Tip: Staying on a trader's floor is well worth it for the happy hour and amazing breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank drjoeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,905)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,732 - 1,738 of 2,905 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

Hotel is excellent and the amenities are amazing! The per night rate is extremely high but comparable to other hotels in Yangon in the same class. The restaurant, bar lounge, outdoor pool, and gym spa are amazing.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank huckja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Although quite expensive, the room was very comfortable with everything you could possibly need including complimentary water and Wi-Fi. They had also included a lovely fruit basket and sweets which became my breakfast as there was an additional $18USD charge for breakfast not included within the room rate. Ask for a room with a view of the Shwe Dagon pagoda. It is a lovely introduction to Myanmar.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KristinaCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We were booked into the Executive Rooms because the regular ones were full. Checking-in at the Executive Club Lounge was a breeze. We asked for, and got, the Shwedagon Pagoda facing rooms, so it was nice view especially at night even though it was quite far away. Wifi access was decent (which was also okay for our hotel in Mandalay, but not for the couple of other places we visited).

The hotel was only 5 minutes walk from Scott (or General Aung Sung) Market. The only regret was that we only stayed one night. By far the best hotel in our week-long travel in Myanmar.

Room Tip: Ask for the Shwedagon Pagoda view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HTH17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed here for two nights just before Christmas and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. While the hotel itself isn't the most modern or stylish, the rooms are clean and comfortable, it is in a great location, and the staff really make you feel welcome. We had a club floor room and their evening cocktails in the lounge were also very enjoyable. Although we didn't eat in the hotel, we were in the bar a couple of times and it had a nice atmosphere to it. As for the other facilities, we didn't use anything other than the pool which was fine, if a bit small.

Overall though it was most enjoyable and we'd have no hesitation staying there again if/when we return to Yangon.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeartsGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

It's difficult finding hotel rooms in Myanmar because there are so few…. and this wasn't actually top of our list in Yangon but it proved to be a good choice in the end.

The hotel is downtown, a short walk from the Sule Pagoda and near all the local markets. It's central and a great base to explore from if you want to see the real Myanmar.

There is a lot of security because of the recent bomb but it's nice to know that they're taking security seriously and trying to keep their guests safe.

The hotel itself is nicer inside than out. The hotel has a nice lobby and a lovely bar on the 2nd floor. That said, rooms are nothing special. They have everything you need - plus the bed is really comfortable with a great duvet - but they could perhaps do with a bit of a facelift.

The breakfast buffet is very extensive and the bar has happy hour from 5pm-8pm which is also worth trying. There are even complimentary hot bar snacks on a Friday which is a nice touch.

We did have a couple of issues:

1. The most disappointing aspect of the hotel is the pool area. It's a little soulless but that's not a big deal really…. what is a big deal, is that there are only 22 sun loungers (we counted them!) and it's a 20+ storey hotel. I know it's primarily a business hotel but it's not exclusively so and even it if was, business people often bring their partners when travelling. We came back after a long morning walking around the city to find that there was no space for us which just isn't acceptable.

2. We had room 805 which was really noisy as it was by the staff lift shaft. Initially, we thought it was building work still going on as they are currently renovating the hotel but that was not the case. The Manager Myo came up and confirmed it was the lift. He didn't give any indication that it was something he was aware of which is quite disappointing as we've just noticed in an earlier review from a previous guest that they reported the same issue for room 1105. Obviously all rooms ending in 05 should probably be avoided.

All in all, it is a really nice hotel and the staff are wonderful so I would definitely recommend it. We will actually be returning in a few days and hope to have a room away from the lift shaft!

Room Tip: Don't stay in a room that ends in 05 as you'll be by the lift shaft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gunner7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Went there for two nights and it offers everything you would expect. The rooms are good and clean, service is very good and staff very friendly. The gym is well equipped. Breakfast buffet is fantastic.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
1.6 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,692 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#7 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
377 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
#10 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Strand
The Strand
#4 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
763 reviews
2.1 mi away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#2 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,026 reviews
0.3 mi away
PARKROYAL Yangon
PARKROYAL Yangon
#12 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sule Shangri-La Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sule Shangri-La Yangon

Address: 223 Sule Pagoda Rd. | Pabedan Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11182, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#3 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#3 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#6 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#6 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: £103 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sule Shangri-La Yangon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 474
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 22 story Hotel centrally located across from Bogyoke Market, in Yangon's business, cultural & shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sule Shangri-La Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traders Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing