We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice experience at this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Ranked #6 of 163 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2014

From the time we got there to the time we left three days later, we got the very best service from the hotel staff. Nothing was too much to ask! They answered all our questions, solved any issues we had and helped with the directions and activities, all with a smile. The traders cafe in the hotel was great. We had buffet breakfast for three days and had dinner once. All meals were amazing. The hotel and cafe are well worth the price. About 4 weeks after we left Yangoon for a month, we contacted the hotel to update our aeroplan points.They responded promptly and asked if they can help in any other way. The hotel beds were very comfortable and the location was great.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms above ninth floor are less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kms5800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,908)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,694 - 1,700 of 2,908 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014

During my last stay in the traders Hotel the best experience, helpful staff.
Like to recommend the traders because one of the best hotels in Yangon.
If I come again to Yangon I will book the traders again and I thank all the staff for the excellent service


  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank KGR1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

First trip to Yangon and off course booked the Traders hotel. From Airport to the Room everything was smooth and the room just renovated. Very nice and comfortable room with all the necessary amenities. Happy hour in the Lounge is brilliant with a large selection of food which the very friendly staff are happy to serve with big smiles. This hotel is for sure a great experience with great service and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Get the newly renovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

If one wants to be RIGHT in the middle of everything and around the corner from the Scott Market, then this is the place to stay. We stayed here at the beginning of our 2 wk. trip and at the end w/different views each time. The staff and service is excellent. On our 2nd stay we were on the 17th floor overlooking the main pagoda of yangon altho the air is not very clear. The lobby is lovely and the buffet breakfast is huge. The bar on 2nd floor was not much. The pool area on the 5th floor is not bad for a city hotel altho we never used it. One cannot go wrong w/this hotel unless you want something a bit more resorty like the Governers Residence or something along the lake.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TucsonJoanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

It was my first trip to Yangon for Convention. Airport transfer was excellent , check in was perfect except check out and have to get local taxis since no available hotel car to airport though booking made a day in advance. Elevators is slow and taking more than 5 mins waiting and you end up in crowded lifts. The security in front of elevators also double standard asked me to show my room key but not the other guest(maybe i'm not caucasian looks) and it happened twice...this is disgusting when im having my seminar lanyard with my suit and that seminar is in the same hotel....overall room experienced,F&B and facilities are perfect....but no lively bar if you are party animals!

Room Tip: Welcome fruits, welcome greeting on tv shall be made ready in advance and of course newspaper hang o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Juraimi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

The hotel is centrally located. I recommend taking a taxi to places that you want to visit as they are very cheap.
The buffets were excellent value and the hotel was very comfortable. If you arrive from the airport late, they will provide currency exchange. There's a place just around the corner to exchange your kyat back into USD.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

One of the best breakfast places ... and I have seen a few!

Otherwise upscale hotel of Western standard. It is centrally located within very short walking distance to both Sule Pagoda and Scott Market.

Very friendly and helpful staff.

Recommended.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank SilkePfaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
1.6 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,695 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
#10 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
421 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#7 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Strand
The Strand
#4 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
763 reviews
0.3 mi away
PARKROYAL Yangon
PARKROYAL Yangon
#12 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,110 reviews
3.3 mi away
Melia Yangon
Melia Yangon
#3 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sule Shangri-La Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sule Shangri-La Yangon

Address: 223 Sule Pagoda Rd. | Pabedan Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11182, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#3 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#3 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#6 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#6 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: £104 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sule Shangri-La Yangon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 474
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 22 story Hotel centrally located across from Bogyoke Market, in Yangon's business, cultural & shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sule Shangri-La Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traders Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing