We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lacks individuality but delivers everything else”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Ranked #6 of 161 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Traders is a business-style hotel, which lacks individuality but delivers everything else. My wife, who usually prefers boutique hotels, loved Traders simply because everything worked properly, efficiently and effectively.

The rooms are typical business-style - functional, practical and unremarkable. There's a flat-screen tv, FREE WIFI, minibar, iron and ironing board, safe, free tea and coffee - everything you expect really.

The location is excellent - walking distance to downtown Yangon, Sule Paya, the Indian district and China town. The pool is good - big enough for laps, although on a Saturday afternoon it was busy with no loungers available.

Staff are friendly and helpful and they accept credit card without any surcharges (very helpful in ensuring you don't run out of those precious, pristine, US bank notes). Their exchange rate is not the best, but they immediately point you to the Farmers exchange booth over the road. Concierge service is excellent, they know where everything is and happily write addresses out in Burmese for taxi drivers.

All in all, its a good hotel, which delivers everything you expect - there is really nothing to complain about. It just lacks that little something that makes it exceptional.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theyoungsoulrebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,761)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,557 - 1,563 of 2,761 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2014

Ideal for Sule Pagoda, the market, China Town...just the sort of standard you'd expect for an international 5* hotel. Breakfast buffet superb, staff couldn't be more helpful. You'll have to go through airport style security on check in but that's all good. Currently has renovation work during the day (9-6) but they provide ear plugs! Pool is okay, but water isn't heated. Only one computer for internet use unless you are in the Traders Club. Shedagon Pagoda is a taxi ride away.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms backing on to the lift - it is noisy and may disturb you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMELondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

There are not a lot of choices in Yangon for a nice business hotel that is why Traders works very well. The location is very good and the breakfast is excellent (not very good for vegetarians though). Overall, I will recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skasera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

As we adventured across SEA, we landed at this lovely hotel, which was a great respite from the hustle, bustle, and dirt of our travels. The rooms were lovely and service excellent. We asked for a high level, extremely quiet room, and it was delivered. While a bit on the expensive side, you really get what you pay for - quiet, clean, and wonderfully comfortable. We will certainly return here during our next stay! It's important to note this hotel is about 20 min. or so from the airport, more if there's traffic.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Runner4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

It is a big, corporate hotel with professional management. Centrally located. Big comfortable rooms. It turned out that there was renovation work in progress. Had to request room change because of constant sound of drilling and hammering. Hotels should advise guests at the time of booking when such work is not due to emergency repair. Restaurant is large and has all the charm of an upscale cafeteria. The buffet breakfast has wide selection, though not very tasty. Servers go around with special of the day bakery products. Had a couple of dinners that were unremarkable and service was slow and confused. Both the cooks and servers need more training.

Room Tip: The last room on each floor with a view of Sule Pagoda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A2ZWorldTravLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip C, General Manager at Sule Shangri-La Yangon, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Thank you for your kind remarks and we are pleased to share that we have almost completed the last few remaining rooms. For some reason the information about the renovation did not reach you. Our Executive Chef is proud of the breakfast so he has assured me that he will check all these items and make sure that anything not genuine will get restored. You make some constructive observations that we need to train people more. A2ZWorldTravelLR have been working on improving ways to increase interaction with guests ; we have some more work to do but we are determined to make the difference so I am confident we will improve as time goes on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Stayed one night here at the end of two weeks in Myanmar. Comfortable and freshly renovated Club Room and a corner Traders Suite on the same floor. Both had views of Shwedagon and the lovely ramshackle old colonial railway buildings. Club lounge good with helpful staff and excellent English, better than Traders Club Lounge in KL. Only a block or so from the Aung San Markets so ideal at the end of a trip for the last minute shopping before going home. Excellent wifi and lovely fruit and other treats in the suite. Suite also has a full kitchen and guest bathroom. Food OK ate in the Chinese restaurant at the hotel and breakfast in the Club lounge was very good and not too crowded.

Room Tip: Club rooms have been renovated and good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggs07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Enjoyed our stay at Traders . The buffet breakfast was outstanding . Loved its central location minutes away from Shwedagon pagoda and the market . The staff are very courteous and helpful . The room was a little noisy during the day with the renovations going on . And on our return for a night we were in room 1605 where u could hear the constant whine of the elevators which was disturbing .

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip C, General Manager at Sule Shangri-La Yangon, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Lovely to read that you enjoyed the breakfasts here, it is something we are proud of. I have taken note that in one of the rooms you can hear the elevator shaft and our engineers will look at how we can eliminate this. Thank you for your kind remarks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
1.6 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,579 reviews
2.1 mi away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#2 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
985 reviews
1.4 mi away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Strand
The Strand
#3 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
721 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#9 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
348 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
#10 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sule Shangri-La Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sule Shangri-La Yangon

Address: 223 Sule Pagoda Rd. | Pabedan Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11182, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#2 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#2 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#3 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#4 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: £118 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sule Shangri-La Yangon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 474
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 22 story Hotel centrally located across from Bogyoke Market, in Yangon's business, cultural & shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sule Shangri-La Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traders Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing