We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Ranked #6 of 151 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
AUSTIN
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Business trip”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for five days and four nights while conducting business in Yangon.
Stayed there last year when the hotel was owned by Traders.
Excellent and very professional service. The staff are very personable and ready to assist in any way.
The rooms are very clean and comfortable and the A/C was excellent given how hot and humid it is; one will be sweating in the shade.
The food at the Cafe was excellent along with many varied choices.
The location is perfect, given that it is within a ten minute walk to the large local market.
I did see an increase in the level of traffic over the past year, so if you have business around the city allow yourself plenty of time.
I would NOT hesitate to stay here again and give it my strongest and sincere recommendation.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ERIC B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,407
    937
    194
    38
    32
See reviews for
292
952
207
647
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (606)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
142 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Absolutely loved the hotel, service was top notch, we were 3 adults sharing one room for a night, and we were able to checked-in early and checked out late, great customer service! The room was just nice, not huge but ok to add an extra rollaway bed, however this bed was not very comfortable.
The breakfast was absolutely amazing, one of the best in SEA!
One tip when you are taking cabs, please do mention Traders Hotel as we ended up at the Shangri-La residence near the lake.
Do go to see the reclining buddha (Chauk Htat Gyi Pagoda).
Enjoy Yangon and Myanmar!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pablost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
163 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Having returned to Myanmar late April for the sixth time I was eager to escape the heat and humidity and get settled in the Traders Hotel, my old Yangon fave. The hotel has been undergoing some improvements and a transformation over the last two years and this year we were there for the birth of this newly named Hotel.
The place is in a fantastic location a few hundred yards from everything in Yangon. The hotel foyer is cool and clean and welcoming. A welcome retreat from the heat and chaos out on the streets. The lounge is comfortable and a great place to sit and have a clod Myanmar lager or G & T whilst enjoying a snack and some people watching. The cafe is vibrant, offers a variety of cuisine from all over the world and all of this serviced by excellent staff. Prices are good value and the Sunday lunch all you can eat and drink is especially good value and a very busy time to dine. Rooms are bright, clean and neat and well stocked with hotel goodies.
Staff in this hotel are exemplary. We have only ever encountered smiling, polite people on staff who are always willing to go the extra mile to see us happy. No longer cheap but always great. I recommend the Hotel Sule Shangri-La [ex Traders Hotel] to all that visit Yangon, Myanmar, {BURMA}.

Room Tip: Try to get a view overlooking the amazing Shwedagon Pagoda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simonsays3042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
257 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Besides being a very elegant place, excellent rooms and service, you cannot believe the buffet meals. Beyond extraordinary. What a spread. On and on, all delicious. Anything you could possibly want to eat! So I recommend it!

Room Tip: Make sure you eat a lot for breakfast! Dinner was either a la carte or buffet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soncijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
120 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I stayed in Shangri-La (formerly the Traders) for 4 nights in early May 2014. I had a deluxe twin room overlooking the pool which was fine although not spectacular - a balcony would have been nice and the room amenities, while perfectly decent enough, weren't really 5 star level, more like 4 star. The room was reasonably spacious and the bed was comfortable, and everything worked (although we lost power to the room for a few hours one morning - it wasn't a power cut in the whole hotel, just our room, which was unfortunate, but fixed quite quickly by the hotel electrician).

I used the fitness centre once and found it to be very good with good quality equipment and good service from the staff.

The buffet breakfast was very good, and the room was packed - so it's a great credit to the staff that they managed to stay on top of it and get the plates cleared, the buffet food items all topped up and tea & coffee served efficiently despite the hordes of people filling the room. We encountered less efficient service in Gallery Bar where drinks often took far longer than they should have to arrive. An order of 2 beers shouldn't really take 15 minutes and a few reminders to arrive, but this is what happened on a couple of occasions.

Staff were all friendly and courteous, and (apart from the slow service in the bar) were generally very efficient and professional.

Overall I enjoyed my stay at Shangri La, but if I'm being honest I wouldn't really say it's quite at 5 star level. I realise that this is Myanmar so maybe this is as good as it gets, but objectively I'd have to say this is more like a 4 star hotel rather than 5 star. The prices for the rooms are certainly in 5 star territory though.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dantilley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
128 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights during a weekend trip to Yangon, and no doubt I will come back and i will stay in this hotel again.
The staff at this hotel oozed friendliness and professionality from arrival to departure.
The hotel is conveniently located right next to Scott Market (200 meter) and you have some restaurants around the hotel too. Short walks away you will find authentic food, and to find more authenticity its just a cabride away. Taxi's are easy to get from the hotel, and the staff there will help you get it straight away.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TorAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I've done a huge amount of business travelling over the last year and Traders in Yangon was one of the most pleasant and memorable stays.
Every aspect of this hotel was very very good, but what truly differentiated it from any other good quality 5 star hotel was the fantastic staff and service - they really made this hotel a pleasure to stay in
In a country where it is still difficult to come by some things, Traders Hotel had everything.
I would strongly recommend this to anyone for both business & pleasure

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank APO101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
1.4 mi away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,340 reviews
3.3 mi away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#5 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
561 reviews
1.6 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Strand
The Strand
#2 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
643 reviews
2.1 mi away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#3 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
926 reviews
0.3 mi away
PARKROYAL Yangon
PARKROYAL Yangon
#11 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sule Shangri-La Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sule Shangri-La Yangon

Property: Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Address: 223 Sule Pagoda Rd., Pabedan Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11182, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#3 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#4 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#5 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#6 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sule Shangri-La Yangon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 479
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 22 story Hotel centrally located across from Bogyoke Market, in Yangon's business, cultural & shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sule Shangri-La Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traders Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing