We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good stay in Shangri-La Yangon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Ranked #6 of 162 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Courteous, attentive & pleasant staffs. They treat and take care your needs very well. Always greet and smile on you.
Excellent foods. You get plenty of choices and spoiled you with great foods
Nice ambient environment hotels

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank JoeNgKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,863)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,483 - 1,489 of 2,863 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

The whole team is good in Sule Shangri-La Yangon, the most outstanding is the diector of rooms Mr. Ho Wee Lig, he is very professional knowledgeable n take good care of the guests, surely will stay here again without sencond thought in our future visits.

Room Tip: clean n ccomfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
4  Thank Agnes M.s. C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Some good, some times can be very unpredictable. I went to Yangon and always stay here. I don't mind paying for expensive rooms but hope to have consistency and reliability in the service where sometimes these points are taken for granted.


  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
2  Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave J, Manager at Sule Shangri-La Yangon, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear George T,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

I wanted to thank you for your loyalty but have also noted your comments on consistency and reliability. If we fell short of your expectations this time, then please accept my sincere apologies. I would be very keen to get some more information on your challenges and would appreciate if you could contact me on dave.junker@shangri-la.com.

We look forward in welcoming you back to the Sule Shangri-la Yangon.

Yours Sincerely,

Dave Junker
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I has stayed with The Sule Shangrila only one night but could treat me with their premium level after compared with other hotel in Yangon. Good location, nice room, friendly and helpful staffs. I will come back again. Thank you for your hospitality during my staying.

Room Tip: All high floor are recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pooomy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Upscale hotels in Yangon, Myanmar are quite expensive. It is now all a matter of supply and demand. New hotels are being built, but to date there are slim pickings. The Sule Shangri-La Yangon, formerly the Traders, has been around for some years. The hotel aesthetically is more than adequate, although it is verging on being slightly dated and in need of a fresh and more current look. That said, it is the staff that makes this hotel exceptional. Every single person in each department and area of the hotel is friendly, caring, with a smile, professional, and memorably positive. The best service in the world for a hotel. Nothing too complicated or beyond their reach. Guards, managers, desk staff, housekeeping, upstairs lounge crew, greeters, restaurant personnel, business office people, etc. all ideal. Food of very high standard. Makes doing business in a rather difficult and hot/humid city civilized and possible. I love this hotel, and I recommend it highly. Perhaps the only downside is the WIFI service, which is inconsistent. Yet it has more to do with the country's infrastructure than the hotel.

Room Tip: Best to stay away from rooms nearest service doors on each floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JAWAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

if one has stayed here when it was the Traders just before it rebranded to a Shangri-La, it's clear to see nothing has changed to the hardware of this hotel. my first stay when it was the Traders Yangon was in April and I came back recently from the Sule Shangri-La last week. both stays were one week long for business trip less than 2 months apart.

service standards when it was the Traders have been great but nothing more or new now that it’s Shangri-La. it’s the same looking hotel, same rooms that were already dated for a Traders and certainly not any luxurious for a Shangri-La, same dining restaurants and facilities.

overall I must say that I have enjoyed the Traders Yangon more as I expected less from being a luxurious Shangri-La...

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ylimeSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

One of my husbands international clients asked him to come to Yangon on business...after checking the boards on Tripadvisor he chose Sule Shangri la as our base hotel. He invited me to fly over from the US, and explore the city while he was busy with clients.
We very much enjoyed this hotel , and I was pleased and happy that he chose to make sure we were on the Horizon Club floor. What a treat! A wonderful, friendly staff...lots of smiles and good food at breakfast ...and snacks and drinks at sunset as we watched the lights come on the city's largest pagoda in the distance.
Sparkling clean hotel....good food ..we recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mjakrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
1.6 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,665 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
#10 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
397 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#9 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Strand
The Strand
#3 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
748 reviews
0.3 mi away
PARKROYAL Yangon
PARKROYAL Yangon
#12 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,098 reviews
2.1 mi away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#2 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sule Shangri-La Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sule Shangri-La Yangon

Address: 223 Sule Pagoda Rd. | Pabedan Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11182, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#3 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#3 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#6 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#6 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: £107 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sule Shangri-La Yangon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 474
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 22 story Hotel centrally located across from Bogyoke Market, in Yangon's business, cultural & shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sule Shangri-La Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traders Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing