We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice western style hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Ranked #8 of 159 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 December 2011

Good location near the lake, excellent pool area with bar, health club, showers and dressing rooms, also nice for a few hours stopover in Yangon. (5-8000 kyat in taxi from airport) Several restaurants and shops, nice modern rooms, professional staff. Hillary Clinton even stayed here. Expensive drinks and beer compared to other hotels and restaurants though!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Moffedillen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,539)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,188 - 1,194 of 1,539 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2011

the hotel is excellent with a beautiful lake nearby and the in close proximity to the biggest pagoda of myanmar, the rooms are clean and spacious, wifi is available, food is good, nic e swimming pool and gym, overall a nic eexperience.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manishberiwala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

My third stay at the hotel. Fine previously but when I checked in this time was given a room on the smoking floor reeking of cheap cigarette smoke. Was told nothing else is available and the Duty Manager declined to assist. Staff told me to wait about 15 mins then offered me another smoking room, this one sprayed with so much air freshener that the guest relations officer couldn't stand the smell either. Ended up back in the original room where she suggested I keep the balcony doors open to let the smoke escape. But nobody mentioned the mosquitoes... :(

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JD_Dcruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Stayed at the Chatrium for the first time in Nov'11 and loved it, the room was very spacious and the sheets on the bed very high quality and very comfortable beds. The staff were very helpful, and good variety at breakfast.

Room Tip: the room we had was really good, maybe ask for a nice view and high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank c1deb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Good centrally located hotel with pleasant, willing staff. Bedroom could do with a facelift but was acceptable and clean. Breakfast had a variety of items on offer.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dornick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

We stayed as a couple only for one night on 31st October. The view was amazing from our corner room. We had a fantastic view of Shwedagon Pagoda and the Royal Lake from our balcony.
The room was a bit faded but reasonbaly clean.
The breakfast had a large selection and the food was delicious.We could say that this hotel had the best breakfast spread of the four hotels we stayed at Yangon, Bagan and Inlay Lake.
Service was also good and the staff were courteous. We would stay at the hotel if we visit Yangon again.

Room Tip: Choose a corner room with a balcony on the upper floors. The bakery is also reasonbaly good and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rajendran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

My room is facing Shwedagon Pagoda and Lake, so wonderful !!!
And even many guests, reception's still take good care.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patcharavalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.8 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
#10 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
344 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
2,708 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
#16 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#2 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
966 reviews
2.8 mi away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#4 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
659 reviews
2.2 mi away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon

Address: 40 Natmauk Road | Tamwe Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11211, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#3 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#5 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#7 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: £90 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon shines as one of the city’s topmost hotels for pure luxury and rich colonial-style heritage. Situated among lush greenery and beside the famous Kandawgyi Lake, views are simply stunning and spectacular. Every guestroom is spaciously designed and furnished to reflect the luxurious surroundings, with breathtaking views of Shwedagon Pagoda. The Chatrium Club Lounge provides an added touch of luxury and exclusivity with a private check-in lounge, complimentary refreshments, access to our Meeting Rooms and many more special privileges. Choose from six restaurants and bars for delicious dining, relax by our beach-styled swimming pool, work-out at the Fitness Center and rejuvenate at Nemita Spa. Our Grand Ballroom is ideal for weddings, banquets and large events, with smaller meeting rooms available for more private functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatrium Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing