We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Ranked #8 of 151 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Convenient and comfortable”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Back at the Chatriam after two weeks touring. Hotel very comfortable and staff are charming. Just enjoyed an excellent Italian Buffet with free flowing beer/wine ( made the dinner almost free!!). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sendumdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    708
    595
    134
    22
    13
See reviews for
158
528
108
362
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

While the staff insists that this hotel is a five star property, it is hardly so. The rooms are adequate if a little worn and dirty feeling. When I opened the drapes dust sailed around the room.the Breakfast buffet was unpleasant with powdered orange juice drink instead of fresh juice and flies buzzing all over te buffet area, The electric bug zapper near the buffet area is an especially revolting addition to te buffet. I became quite ill from the food and woul not chance eating here again. When I addressed some of these issues with the guest relations manager and told her that this was unacceptable fora four star hotel her response was that this is a five star hotel.

Room Tip: Insect eroom before you accept it and make sure that it is clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookline, MA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Keep in mind you are in Myanmar - this means unless you pay cash during check out you will receive a ~5% surcharge on your credit card payment. This is a very large hotel that has not be refurbished since it opened. The rooms have their original carpeting, etc. Many, many folks from tourist buses stay here. Hotel has difficulty managing their reservations: (1) I booked our room online and brought a copy of my email confirmation. Luckily the front desk was able to locate my reservation but they didn't want to give me back my email (?). We had to wait 15 minutes for staff to make a copy. (2) We traveled with friends whose online reservation never made it to the hotel reservation system (this was the General Manager's explanation). Our friends were able to stay at the hotel, but the GM informed us that he had to find other hotels for ~20 guests! When you check out, the front desk held US$2 change and our receipt until they sent someone to our room to 'make sure we didn't leave anything behind'? We paid $168 - a bit pricey for the value. Breakfast was ok.

Room Tip: We were not offered a non-smoking room and coming from the US I no longer even think about asking. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DamariscottaLakeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorset uk
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We spent two nights here and received good service, a comfortable bed and a good location. ( We noticed that Hillary Clinton had recently stayed there, so she must have checked it out on tripadvisor). That said, I would suggest you eat out, the meal in the evening was poor and very pricey, try the Monsoon in town for value and great cooking.
It is a good busy hotel and I am happy to review it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JazzerDorsetUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marathon, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We loved staying here. An oasis from a hectic city. We were greated with a welcome drink. Check in was not problem. The pool area is beautiful. We relaxed by the pool with a drink and lunch. Be warned, no credit cards unless you give them 24 hr notice. Or, carry a lot of cash.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bpickard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Very happy with this hotel. It was our first visit to Myanmar and really didn't know what to expect. In the Chatrium we were more than happy with the quality of the accommodation, on a par with a 4 star London hotel for at least half the price. The staff though were, as we found all over Myanmar, second to none when it comes to service, a true pleasure to meet them.
The hotel is on the outskirts of the city which I did have some concerns about but I didn't need to have worried, the boys on the front desk will get youy a taxi within minutes if not seconds and it seems you can go anywhere you want in the city for 2000 Kyat (2 euro)
Very good breakfast catering for all nationalities.
All in all, excellent and thank you.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the pagoda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beaubleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

decent rooms even if a bit smelly
very small bathroom
very nice view over the lake
good location
do not eat at the restaurant for dinner and lunch (very bad food!!!)
breakfast is quite ok (expected more fruits in a tropical country!)
nice shops at the lobby

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldseeker79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
1.6 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
2,599 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel
Rose Garden Hotel
#9 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
312 reviews
2.8 mi away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#5 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
#15 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,363 reviews
2.2 mi away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,338 reviews
1.6 mi away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#3 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon

Property: Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Address: 40 Natmauk Road | Tamwe Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11211, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#3 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#5 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#7 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon shines as one of the city’s topmost hotels for pure luxury and rich colonial-style heritage. Situated among lush greenery and beside the famous Kandawgyi Lake, views are simply stunning and spectacular. Every guestroom is spaciously designed and furnished to reflect the luxurious surroundings, with breathtaking views of Shwedagon Pagoda. The Chatrium Club Lounge provides an added touch of luxury and exclusivity with a private check-in lounge, complimentary refreshments, access to our Meeting Rooms and many more special privileges. Choose from six restaurants and bars for delicious dining, relax by our beach-styled swimming pool, work-out at the Fitness Center and rejuvenate at Nemita Spa. Our Grand Ballroom is ideal for weddings, banquets and large events, with smaller meeting rooms available for more private functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatrium Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing