We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Ranked #8 of 161 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2013

my first night in Burma and not expecting such a well run beautiful hotel Coffee shop decorated beautifully, rooms comfortable and fully equipped. staff helpful and friendly. evidently popular with the local elite. Lake view rooms are better, location fine- you need a taxi or tour guide wherever you go.

Room Tip: ask for lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robbiew117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,576)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,074 - 1,080 of 1,576 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2013

Stay at Chatrium for business trip during Feb 17-19. This is the best hotel in Yangon. Got a room on 8 floor with view over looking to the beautiful Chwedagon Pagoda. Room is comfortable and good space to work in the room, nice color of carpet. Hotel also provide complimentary internet although sometime a bit slow but sufficient to connect and cruising on the web. Food is very good especially Chinese restaurant is fantastic. Breakfast was also serves with good verities mixed between local and western. The highlight for this hotel is staff, everyone is very polite, friendly and helpful particularly club lounge and lobby reception. Very nice big smile. Hotel is very close to the lake and park but if you need to walk around the lake you will need to pay for entrance fee??. Overall very impressive staff, good experience and definitely will return to stay here again if the price is not too high??

Room Tip: Room on high floor with lake or pagoda view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamephoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Great hotel for the area. Truly a quality hotel with amazing amenities. The pool was high quality; the executive lounge hosted by "Christine" was amazing and the service level was very, very high. The hotel does an amazing job making you feel welcome. As others have mentioned internet speeds aren't the greatest, but frankly that is to be expected. Breakfast buffet was very nice with plenty to chose from no matter what region of the world you live. The coffee situation could improve; two machines for the number of persons seemed a bit slight. We ate at all three restaurants during our 7 nights and had very high quality food at each. The spa prices and service were very good; the discount for hotel guests is a nice bonus.

Overall very good visit, great level of attentive service and very good accommodations. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Executive level is worth the price. Access to lounge and free wifi really made it worthwhile. Flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rmc1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Business traveler, Hyatt gold, Marriott rewards, Hilton Honors, etc. Good western style accommodations, but a shortage of good hotels to service the booming tourism has resulted in price gouging. Global chains entering the marketplace could get Yangon prices down. Until then, you're stuck. Good breakfast buffet, spacious rooms, friendly staff. Messed up my billing and charged twice. I'm disputing through my cc company. I stayed 2 nights, left, and came back for 2 last nights. You're stuck on cancellation to 7 day notice. On the second stay I requested a move to the cheaper rooms facing the city due to the nightly racket poolside. They would not lower my rate. Linens had sour odor on 2nd stay. Nice touch putting fruit in your room the first night. Good wi-fi. Room upholstery worn and faded. Mattress very firm.

Room Tip: Choose deluxe city view to avoid noise from nightly parties poolside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Expensive for what it essentially is a business hotel three and a half star. Rooms were comfortable but a bit tired. Breakfast was varied and had all international type offerings. Swimming pool (morning ok but afternoon and evening there was always a event/wedding taking place around the pool) and gym was well equipped. There are international ATM's and you are able to exchange USD, EURO and Sing dollars into local currency for a reasonable price. Spa was overpriced for what it was and I even got bruise on my leg from my massage. It's also a bit out of the way but taxis are cheap enough to get around. It was a ok stay, staff were friendly enough but I wouldn't say it was 5 star.

Room Tip: Don't choose the room overlooking pool area, it maybe a bit noisy as events take place around th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrissielw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Ok, this hotel might equal a four star facility in other countries and it is very expensive by comparison but that's Yangon hotels really. The Chatrium is still very beautiful, the breakfast buffet was delicious. BUT, most of all, the staff are incredible - helpful, polite, friendly. Really made for a wonderful trip in Yangon. Thank you!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake iin Yangon is an excellent hotel. Roooms, service, restaurants and the beautiful pool is perfect. We spent only one night there, and only (negative) surprise was a helicopter that hovered over the hotel just after midnigt. Presumably the junta hunting for opposition.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 97Rolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
1.6 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
2,755 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
#10 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
359 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
#16 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#4 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
684 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#9 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
345 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sedona Hotel Yangon
Sedona Hotel Yangon
#14 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon

Address: 40 Natmauk Road | Tamwe Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11211, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#3 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#5 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#7 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: £100 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon shines as one of the city’s topmost hotels for pure luxury and rich colonial-style heritage. Situated among lush greenery and beside the famous Kandawgyi Lake, views are simply stunning and spectacular. Every guestroom is spaciously designed and furnished to reflect the luxurious surroundings, with breathtaking views of Shwedagon Pagoda. The Chatrium Club Lounge provides an added touch of luxury and exclusivity with a private check-in lounge, complimentary refreshments, access to our Meeting Rooms and many more special privileges. Choose from six restaurants and bars for delicious dining, relax by our beach-styled swimming pool, work-out at the Fitness Center and rejuvenate at Nemita Spa. Our Grand Ballroom is ideal for weddings, banquets and large events, with smaller meeting rooms available for more private functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Southall Travel, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatrium Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing