We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Ranked #8 of 147 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Runaway Bay, Jamaica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

The atmosphere was charming and friendly. Our check-in was prompt and informative. The location was excellent. We enjoyed walking to almost all of our activities. Staff is helpful and friendly. All in all it was a great experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aronagladi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sahapol L, Director of Rooms at Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Thank you very much for the kind review of Chatrium Royal Lake Yangon during your recent stay. We could not be happier with any other news than to learn that you are thoroughly satisfied with the facilities and services we provided. It was indeed a pleasure having you as our guests, we hope to have the opportunity of being your service again in not too far distant.

Sahapol Ladda.
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    685
    572
    130
    21
    13
See reviews for
148
514
106
346
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prince George
Level Contributor
78 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

I wouldn't call this hotel a 5 star by any stretch but it was pleasant enough. It has a slight colonial feel to it- the rooms are a good size and there are little balconies off each room. There is a note that says the doors are locked for safety reasons but mine wasn't . The bathroom was modern though the water pressure and temperature were a bit erratic. Not many electrical sockets in my room and the wireless was very challenging - on off on off but worse is the log in and password on a scrap of paper you have to carry around. Every time it goes off, you have to type in the information and it happens frequently . Plus you can only have one device at a time hooked in though they did give me a second log in. Eventually the log in will stop working and you will have to start again with a new one. I thought the breakfast buffet was adequate and the food overall in the garden restaurant just adequate . The Japanese place was good. The place is clean and the staff eager to help. The location is fine. The pool is huge and grounds are pretty.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salmonpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sahapol L, Director of Rooms at Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Thank you most sincerely for the kind review of Chatrium Royal Lake Yangon and share the experience during your recent stay. We are delighted to note of your compliment on the cleanliness of our hotel, large swimming pool, pretty ground areas as well as the helpfulness of our staff.

All the issues of your concern are well received and have been passed on to our Management so that immediate and long-term solutions may be implemented. Some of these have already been acted on for example extras username and password is providing up on check in. This is part of our endeavours to bring greater value and comfort to our guests.

It was a real pleasure having you as our guest. We hope to be given the opportunity to welcoming you again to our hotel on your next trip to this famed Golden Land of Myanmar.

Yours sincerely,
Sahapol Ladda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
237 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013 via mobile

The Chatrium Hotel is probably one of the largest and fanciest in Yangon. It's a chain, and outside town. A taxi there from the airport was $12 and into the city centre cost 3000 kyats (about $4). Check in was fast and friendly. Our room (a club room) was large with a lovely, huge, comfortable bed. Crisp white sheets with rose on pillow.  Dated but adequate bathroom with fairly consistent hot water. Great view past the hotel pool over the lake and to the golden pagoda. Note they have weddings with loud music around the pool but these seem to finish before 10. The swinming pool itself is very nice, with a pleasant area for sunbathing around it, and staff on hand with towels etc. Breakfast is at the poolside buffet restaurant and has a nice selection for this part of the world, of both local and western varieties. Their omlettes were delicious. Very happy with breakfast. The club floor also has free high tea and cocktail hour which are both pleasant, with a sort of airport business lounge vibe. Wifi throughout the hotel is very good, except that you keep gaving to log in repeatedly. We tried the spa, which is in fairly standard hotel rooms, and we had quite nice massages for a reasonable rate. And we tried the Chinese restaurant which was very nice. The hotel feels more like a Western 3-4 star rather than its 5 rating, and definitely like a chain, but everything's relative, and we were happy with our choice.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ms_scotsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

This was a 5 star experience, a beautiful hotel...everything was great. You will not be disappointed but very pleased with your stay at Chatrium. Sec. of State Clinton stayed at the Chatrium during her stay in Yangon, Myanmar.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank artlak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hockessin, Delaware
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

Stayed 3 nights here in late January. This
was our overflow location since Governor's
Residence was fully booked with other members
from our Myanmar tour. The hotel shows some
wear and tear but the executive service for those
staying on the top 2 floors never disappointed.
My room didn't have the coveted Shwedagon Pagoda
view. All the best hotels in Yangon were overflowing
with travelers like us and Chatrium seemed to be
coping well. Staff was helpful affixing stamps to my
postcards - the stamps have no glue. The rate for
currency conversion from US dollars was a bit more
favorable than elsewhere. Breakfast food was fine
but the ambience - noise, crowding, quick removal
of plates to hurry us along - was a bit disappointing.
Late evening dining in a nearly empty restaurant
featured no rush and adequate fare. Would consider
staying here again but would dine elsewhere.
See my review of Strand Hotel downtown, posted soon.

Room Tip: top 2 floors have executive service
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simple_Country_Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

The Chatrium was a great hotel. The rooms were nice--clean, attractive, modern. The service was wonderful-everyone was friendly and extremely helpful. The buffet breakfast was extensive and good, and the gym had fairly new treadmills, and a good selection of weights (key to me). Despite the fact that previous reviews had mentioned that the pool/gym were closed for renovations and that there was noise from the construction, we did not find this to be the case (although Saturday night we did hear noise from the concert at the venue across the street at the Royal Lake).

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ea701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
69 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

As The Governor's Residence was fully booked (often many months ahead apparently) when we arranged our trip to Myanmar, our tour company sugested staying here ,and we were not disapponted.We had no complaints at all, and particularly enjoyed the complimentary snacks and drinks in the executive lounge.The pool and gym were great, with particularly helpful staff there.
It is not situated in a particularly interesting area from a walking point of view. Apart from the Shwedagon Pagoda, we didn't find nearly as much to see in Yangon as Mandalay.
We found that both the Chatrium and our hotel in Mandalay priced everything in US dollars, whilst our hotels at Bagan and Inle Lake wanted local currency.

Room Tip: Higher the better as they do seem to have a lot of functions on by the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M.R.Carr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
1.6 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#5 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,524 reviews
2.8 mi away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#4 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel
Rose Garden Hotel
#9 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
#15 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
1.6 mi away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#2 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
1.4 mi away
PARKROYAL Yangon
PARKROYAL Yangon
#10 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon

Property: Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Address: 40 Natmauk Road | Tamwe Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11211, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#3 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#5 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#6 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon shines as one of the city’s topmost hotels for pure luxury and rich colonial-style heritage. Situated among lush greenery and beside the famous Kandawgyi Lake, views are simply stunning and spectacular. Every guestroom is spaciously designed and furnished to reflect the luxurious surroundings, with breathtaking views of Shwedagon Pagoda. The Chatrium Club Lounge provides an added touch of luxury and exclusivity with a private check-in lounge, complimentary refreshments, access to our Meeting Rooms and many more special privileges. Choose from six restaurants and bars for delicious dining, relax by our beach-styled swimming pool, work-out at the Fitness Center and rejuvenate at Nemita Spa. Our Grand Ballroom is ideal for weddings, banquets and large events, with smaller meeting rooms available for more private functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, JovagoAsia, Agoda and Southall Travel so you can book your Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatrium Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing