We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Ranked #8 of 147 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

We had a couple of nights here before heading off into Myanmar interior and enjoyed our stay. It was great to have the lovely pool and terrace area after sightseeing and lunches were very nice and reasonably priced. You are a bit hard pressed for dining choices in the are but we enjoyed the Thai food in Bangkok Kitchen by the lake, opposite the hotel. Rooms and everything were fine. I guess it is a bit expensive overall, but that seems to be the way in Myanmar now that it is becoming more popular. Great to wake up and look out over the lake to Shwedagon Pagoda; very atmospheric.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertsCheshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sahapol L, Director of Rooms at Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
March 25, 2013

Dear Mr. Roberts Cheshire,

Thank you for making Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon your home during your recent visit to Yangon and for taking your value time to recommend us on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to know that our services and facilities have met your expectations in every aspect.

It was indeed a great pleasure having you as our guest; and we are looking forward at the opportunity of welcoming you back in not too far distant.

Yours sincerely,
Sahapol Ladda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    683
    571
    130
    21
    13
See reviews for
148
512
105
346
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tumby Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
201 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

We had an evening buffet provided for our tour group and unfortunately there was a noisy wedding reception being held right next to our dining area.This made having a conversation with anyone else at the table difficult. Drinks seemed to have to come from a different area so drink service was very slow.The meal itself although plentiful was quite bland.
Our room being on the 2nd floor also suffered from the wedding band. Its a shame guests cant be placed away from the wedding area if occupancy allows.The staff were friendly and when I requested a room change assured me the wedding finished at 9pm, this was correct so we were able to have a quiet nights sleep in the very comfy bed. The bedroom itself was nice and the buffet breakfast faultless.Didn't have time to use any other facilities.

Room Tip: Request a quiet room away from the entertainment area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller5605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sahapol L, Director of Rooms at Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
Dear Traveller 5605,

Thank you very much for choosing Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon as for your home away from home and for taking your valuable time to share your stay experience on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to note that you were impressed with the friendliness of our staff, our room and the breakfast.

We also take good note on your feedback about our drink service and the room location. These were duly conveyed to concern departments for proper attention. We always appreciate feedback form our guests since all these constructive feedbacks provide us with one way of monitoring our service standards and the need of our guests,

It was a great pleasure having you as our guest; we hope to be given another opportunity to welcome you to our hotel and to serve you better in your next trip to Yangon.
Sincerely yours,

Sahapol Ladda
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

Lovely hotel with welcoming staff.Rooms spacious and great views. great swimming pool. Buffet breakfast great value.Within walking distance of the Aung Sang Museum and 5 minutes drive to the Shwedagon pagoda.
Down side is every night there is a wedding receptioin or promotion and the music is quite loud and can go on till after 11pm.

Room Tip: rooms notoverlooking the pool area avoid the noise from the receptions
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martinSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sahapol L, Director of Rooms at Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Dear Martin,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Yangon and for sharing your great experience on TripAdvisor.

We are glad you had a good time with us, and enjoyed our services as well as our facilities.
Do drop us a mail when planning your next holidays to Yangon, we would be delighted to show you again the very best of Myanmar hospitality

Yours sincerely,
Sahapol Ladda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

Elegant hotel sitting across the Royal lake with really lovely staff members. They really try hard to ensure you have a good stay here! Beautiful pool are that's more like a beach resort than a cit y hotel.Located close to the Shwedagon Pagoda.

Room Tip: Request for rooms facing the lake and the pagoda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lahiri66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sahapol L, Director of Rooms at Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Dear Mr. Lahiri,

Thank you for making Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon your home during your recent visit to Yangon. We are delighted to learn that our services and facilities have met your expectations in every aspect.

It was indeed a great pleasure having you as our guest; and we are looking forward at the opportunity of welcoming you back to this famed Land of Golden Pagodas at which time we can exhibit once again the very best of Myanmar hospitality.

Yours sincerely,
Sahapol Ladda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
166 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

Good rooms with views of the lake and Pagoda. Morning and evening views are great. Super clean swimming pool and nice gym. The rooms are spacious, room service is good. Buffet meals are great value for money and offer good choices too. Lake across the hotel has good walking areas, restaurants, bars etc. Free laundry was a nice gesture too. All in all a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Take the rooms with lake view. Pagoda is visible from there too. Pagoda view is next best choice. Av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arun P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sahapol L, Director of Rooms at Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon, responded to this review, 16 March 2013
Dear Arun P.

Thank you most sincerely for the kind review of Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon during your recent stay. We could not be happier with any other news than to learn that you are thoroughly satisfied with the facilities and services we provided.

It was indeed a pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to welcoming you again as we strive to be your first choice hotel whenever you travel to this famed Golden Land of Myanmar.

Yours sincerely,
Sahapol Ladda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

From what I could gather from our 2 week stay in Myanmar, this hotel is as good as it gets. Large room, all amenities. Not close to the downtown area so you'll need to take a taxi every where. Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sahapol L, Director of Rooms at Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon, responded to this review, 16 March 2013
Dear Wanda J

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are very pleased to read your review and so delighted to note that have had an enjoyable time with us as well as highly satisfied with the quality of service rendered by our staff.

It was indeed a great pleasure having you as our guest and we are looking forward to an opportunity of welcoming you back to this famed Land of Golden Pagodas at which time we can exhibit once again the very best of Myanmar hospitality.

Yours sincerely,
Sahapol Ladda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grignan
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

Everything is almost blameless.
The only thing that is not worthy of a 5 star is that the buffet is very poorly heated
And some dishes exellents but not hot, are not pleasant at all
This is true even for breakfast with fried cold  bacon l
And yet it is so simple to fix this
Many of us complained about this fact
The rest as others say, it is up to what we can expect

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacquesGrignan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sahapol L, Director of Rooms at Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon, responded to this review, 16 March 2013
Dear Jacques Grignan,

Thank you very much for kind review of Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon. We are pleased to learn that you have had an enjoyable time with us. Your comment with regards to the temperature of buffet foods are well received our Executive Chef is now looking into a proper action to improve our food temperature. We always appreciate information from our guests since constructive comments such as yours provide us with one way of monitoring our service standards and the needs of our guests.

It was indeed a great pleasure having you as our guest; and we hope to be of your service again on trip to Yangon, Land of the Golden Pagodas.

Yours very truly,
Sahapol Ladd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
1.6 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#5 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,524 reviews
2.8 mi away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#4 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel
Rose Garden Hotel
#9 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
PARKROYAL Yangon
PARKROYAL Yangon
#10 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
0.5 mi away
Esperado Lake View Hotel
Esperado Lake View Hotel
#13 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
2.2 mi away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon

Property: Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Address: 40 Natmauk Road | Tamwe Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11211, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#3 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#5 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#6 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon shines as one of the city’s topmost hotels for pure luxury and rich colonial-style heritage. Situated among lush greenery and beside the famous Kandawgyi Lake, views are simply stunning and spectacular. Every guestroom is spaciously designed and furnished to reflect the luxurious surroundings, with breathtaking views of Shwedagon Pagoda. The Chatrium Club Lounge provides an added touch of luxury and exclusivity with a private check-in lounge, complimentary refreshments, access to our Meeting Rooms and many more special privileges. Choose from six restaurants and bars for delicious dining, relax by our beach-styled swimming pool, work-out at the Fitness Center and rejuvenate at Nemita Spa. Our Grand Ballroom is ideal for weddings, banquets and large events, with smaller meeting rooms available for more private functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, JovagoAsia, Agoda, Booking.com and Southall Travel so you can book your Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatrium Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing