We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,937)
Filter reviews
1,937 results
Traveller rating
1,044
700
151
28
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,044
700
151
28
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shwedagon pagoda tiger hill lobby bar bangkok kitchen shuttle bus japanese restaurant swimming pool small balcony lake view beautiful hotel buffet dinner club floor special thanks the executive lounge luxury hotel welcome drink nice pool
Filter
Updating list...
1,326 - 1,331 of 1,937 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Possibly the only hotel in Myanmar to aspire to 5 star status.
The last day we were there, the Myanmar Military hired the conference centre to host the " Passing Out" graduation ceremony of their Navy.
Well appointed in beautiful. spacious grounds opposite the Royal Lake, with Spa, Swimming Pool, Gymnasium, and good free WiFi.
There are 3 top restaurants including Japanese that has cleanly gentle and very fresh food for a much travelled stomach!
Be sure to pre-book a non-smoking room if that is your preference, as whole floors still have a heavy smoking smell.
Apparently prices have doubled in the last year as affluent tourists are now arriving in numbers.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room with views across the City to the justly famous Shwedagon Pagoda
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stuartbandsuev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Everything you would expect of a business hotel - staff all speak English, very comfortable and modern rooms, free in-room wifi (one device only though), and good, reasonably priced in-house food.

I stayed on the first day of my trip, and returned again a few days later for my final day - and was treated as "returning guest" with welcoming fruit bowl in room, which was a very thoughtful touch.

The hotel is about 20 minutes away from the new international airport (without traffic), but traffic can get pretty bad, so leave enough time for yourself.

The hotel houses an embassy and several international organization offices, so security is not a problem here.

Be advised that from time to time there are "external" issues with internet and mobile connectivity - and this is not the fault of the hotel, and happens throughout the country, so be patient. This didn't happen during my stay, but a colleague had reported this previously.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on Level 5 for non-smoking. Also Level 2 is where the spa is located, so avoid this floor to avoid noise and crowds.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PG_Cumbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sahapol L, Director of Rooms at Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to compose such a great and useful review. We are delighted to know that our services and facilities have met your expectations in every aspect.

Security and safety of our guests is one of our major concerns we are prioritize not only to enhance our customer satisfaction but also gives important to the high safety and security standard and always make sure each of our guest is safe while staying with us.

Once again, thank you for your kind patronage. It was indeed a great pleasure having you as our guest and we are looking forward at the opportunity of welcoming you back to this famed Land of Golden Pagodas in not too far distant.

Yours sincerely,
Sahapol Ladda
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013 via mobile

After almost 2 weeks in northern Myanmar, I couldn't wait to be back in chatrium. Comfortable, pleasant and clean. Japanese buffet at the hotel restaurant was great - one of the best in a country where Japanese cuisine hasn't been caught on yet by locals.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veeene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sahapol L, Director of Rooms at Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2013

Dear Veeene,

Thank you very much for choosing Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon as for your home away from home and for taking your valuable time to share your stay experience on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to note that you were impressed with the pleasant and clean of our hotel areas and found our Japanese Kohaku Restaurant the best Japanese Food in Myanmar.

It was indeed a great pleasure having you as our guest; we are look forward to your next visit, please be so kind to let us know or drop us an e-mail when you plan your next visit to the Land of Golden Heritage.

Yours sincerely,
Sahapol Ladda | Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Chatrium Hotel is perhaps the only five star hotel with real five star facility and five star services. And it is good value for money!! A few other hotels advertise as five star but they are hardly in the same league. The rooms are very clean and large, and there is also a big pool. For all Thai travellers: there are channels 3,5,7!! The service is excellent and professional. I must commend Mr Sahapol, the Director of Room, for being so friendly and has great service mind, and for looking into every detail for hotel guests. This is so rare in Myanmar. I would recommend business or leisure travellers to stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boonck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

After 22hrs travelling from the UK we were so grateful that our rooms were ready at the Chatrium. Staff were extremely helpful and provided us with a welcoming drink. Our room was spacious with very comfortable large single beds. The bathroom was large, walk in shower and bath. Bathrobes and slippers provided. The towels were looking a little grey and thin but all clean. Bath products were a bit on the stingy side, would have liked larger sizes and they smelt a bit clinical. We overlooked the garden area and yes there was a wedding in the hotel that day, which was fascinating to see and all celebrations were over by 9pm.The restaurant was very good, many choices, beautifully cooked and presented, drinks and service very good.Free wi-fi was given to us on arrival a nice touch. The pool area is beautiful, lots of loungers/towels. There is a Cafe in the lobby area, serving good club sandwiches with all the trimming and the most delicious selection of cakes. We stayed at the beginning of our holiday for one night and at the end for one night.We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend the Chatrium Hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kent-TRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews