We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for business travellers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Ranked #8 of 151 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Bhutan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Perfect for business travellers”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I have been to Myanmar for a few times from the past 3 years, and Chatrium hotel is located near the Tatmadaw Hall, where they usually hold exhibitions and fairs there.
I would not say that it is the best hotel in Yangon but it's clean and all the staffs are very friendly and helpful.
Hotels in Yangon are generally more expensive, and beware of traffic congestion during rush hour, they can be horrible!
Breakfast in the morning is average, but I'm glad that they serve Burmese noodle soup. We were busy in Yangon that we didn't have enough time to taste Yangon local food. But we managed to taste them for breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoGoRicea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sahapol L, Manager at Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear GoGo Ricea,

Thank you very much for choosing Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon as for your home away from home and for taking your valuable time to share your stay experience on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to note that you were impressed with the cleanliness of our hotel and the helpfulness of our staff. Our Chef and his team also gratified to know you have enjoy the Mohinga our traditional Myanmar noodle at Breakfast.

It was a great pleasure having you as our guest; we hope to be given another opportunity to welcome you to our hotel again in not too far distant.
Sincerely yours,

Sahapol Ladda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    699
    590
    134
    22
    13
See reviews for
156
526
107
356
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
166 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

The Chatrium is well run and organised for international tourists and business people. It is efficient and some of the rooms are really super, sort of the' luck of the draw'. I stayed there twice in November, the first time 2 nights and the second 1. Good service, excellent facilities and the el fresco dining is very pleasant. Well situated yet away from the madding crowds.
Would definitely recommend and return in the future

Room Tip: corner rooms with a view on the lake and the pagoda are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frasedbv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sahapol L, Manager at Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear Frasedbv,

Mingalarbar from Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon,

Thank you the most sincere for having taken some of your valuable time to review and recommend us on Tripadvisor during your recent visit to Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon.

We are most happy to know that you have had an enjoyable time staying with us and the services rendered by our staff tremendously patronized to make your stay a remarkable experience.

It was indeed a great pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to Yangon.

Yours sincerely,
Sahapol Ladda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Risor, Norway
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed at the Chatrium 2 nights. A well run hotel with friendly staff providing first rate service. Room excellent - and one of the best hotel swimming pools we have enjoyed. Nice outdoor eating for breakfast as well as dinner.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I last stayed here 1H2013 for the first time for 1 night, as the other hotel I was at ran out of rooms during my business trip. The location is near Kandawgyi Lake and a leisurely 15 - 20min stroll to Shwedagon Pagoda. Also a short taxi ride downtown for business meetings. There's nothing much outside of the hotel so you'd have to walk out someway or get a short affordable cabride to try other restaurants.

Reception service was good, as was the concierge. Breakfast selection is decent, catering to Eastern, Western and Chinese taste. The pool is pretty and well landscaped. The gym looked alright by Myanmar standards, though I didn't try.

I booked a massage with the hotel spa and it was atrocious. It was a Thai massage for 2 hours and the first lady that sent claimed she just had an operation and had stitches, so couldn't exert much force. Which is perfectly understandable, in fact, I asked her to send her colleague instead, for fear of bursting her stitches. She refused adamantly and wanted to continue with the Thai massage. I had to put my feet down and call up the Spa myself to get someone else. Which took quite a while. Some due diligence should be exercised by the Spa management when assigning work!

Price-wise it was US$200+ which was in-line with what was offered at the point in time. The room is a tad aged with a small TV that can't really be viewed from the bed. No central light switch to turn off everything, but these are small details when you're tired and just want to get some rest.

Room Tip: Better suited for a leisure trip than a business trip. Room lights and table lights are a tad dim fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AudrisTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

It was my first time to Myanmar, but my sister lives in Myanmar, so was very handy to have a part insider. The hotel is very expensive compared to other Asian destinations (our room was $500 a night for no views!), but Yangon, and all of Myanmar are going through a huge change at the moment to deal with the influx of tourist. No doubt when more hotels are built (and there is plenty of construction) this price will drop. The hotel itself though was very lovely. The room was big, clean and comfortable. The bed was very good, and the shower powerful. The pool area is lovely, and most days we watched staff set up for nightly events of weddings or fashion shows. The breakfast is very international, with local, Chinese, Japanese, and Western options all available. One huge advantage of The Chatrium was the wi-fi. My mobile could not pick up any signal (and I was too scared of the cost anyway) so having a stable internet available in the hotel, made face time home no issue. Credit card payment is available, but staff seemed a little unsure of the way to process the payment (thankfully no surprises on my card). Whilst the hotel is not a walk to downtown, I enjoyed the fact that is was quieter, and had a large pool for a swim to end the days seeing the town. Some other tips for travelers. Always set the taxi price before you get in. When getting a taxi from the hotel they will inflate the price. We never paid more than 3000 Kyat (about $3) to get downtown. Traffic is horrible!! allow time to get there if you have to be somewhere at a set time. For some great street food, head to 19th street - fresh seafood, meat and veg cooked on BBQ. Head out to the Nagar Glass Factory - interesting story, and quite beautiful given it is in the city. It is an easy walk to Shwedagon Pagoda from the hotel - go early morning or late afternoon as it is bare feet inside, so ground gets very hot in the middle of the day! USD accepted but bills must be crisp and new. Current rate in Nov is $1 USD = 100 kyat. Overall, a great place to visit - very happy people!

Room Tip: If you can get a room facing Pagoda it would be nicer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purpleSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Finally getting a moment to review my most recent business trip to Yangon. Chatrium is a fairly decent location for business with views over the lake or as my room had, the amazing temple.

While there are staff everywhere, their ability to serve the needs of the business traveler are limited. Less staff, more training and leadership is needed.

The rooms are nicely appointed but old.

The pool is nice but as business, didn't have the opportunity to enjoy it.

Breakfast, while ample, lacked consistency in the delivery of a good cup of coffee, eggs and other.

Room Tip: Request a temple view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michaelshoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
110 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

The Chatrium feels like a heaven of peace in hot and noisy Yangon. The quality of service, spacious rooms, breakfast, the gardens with the pool...it all has plenty of "colonial grandeur". And WIFI actually runs smoothly, a strong asset in Myanmar !

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Dirk3061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
1.6 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#7 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,578 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel
Rose Garden Hotel
#9 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
2.8 mi away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#4 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
#15 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
1.6 mi away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#3 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
2.2 mi away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon

Property: Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Address: 40 Natmauk Road | Tamwe Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11211, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#3 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#5 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#7 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon shines as one of the city’s topmost hotels for pure luxury and rich colonial-style heritage. Situated among lush greenery and beside the famous Kandawgyi Lake, views are simply stunning and spectacular. Every guestroom is spaciously designed and furnished to reflect the luxurious surroundings, with breathtaking views of Shwedagon Pagoda. The Chatrium Club Lounge provides an added touch of luxury and exclusivity with a private check-in lounge, complimentary refreshments, access to our Meeting Rooms and many more special privileges. Choose from six restaurants and bars for delicious dining, relax by our beach-styled swimming pool, work-out at the Fitness Center and rejuvenate at Nemita Spa. Our Grand Ballroom is ideal for weddings, banquets and large events, with smaller meeting rooms available for more private functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatrium Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing