We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good and convinient. Nice staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Ranked #8 of 147 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
93 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good and convinient. Nice staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Nice hotel, of international standards with nice and helpful staff, incuding hotel management. Only negative shadow is that they organize a lot of events, using common areas (particularly around the swiming pool) in prejudice of local guests.
Breakfast is also very good and internet works.

Room Tip: New rooms are nicer. Pagoda view is not worthwhile the price difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jordi_co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sahapol L, Manager at Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Jordi_Co,

Mingalarbar from Yangon!

Thank you most sincerely for the kind review of Chatrium Royal Lake Yangon during your recent stay. We are most delighted to note that you stay with us was remarkable one and very pleased to know you were impressed with the friendliness and helpfulness of staff and management of Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon.

It was indeed a pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to welcoming you again as we strive to be your first choice hotel whenever you travel to this famed Golden Land of Myanmar.

Yours truly,
Sahapol Ladda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    685
    572
    130
    21
    13
See reviews for
148
514
106
346
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Our stay here was great!
I took a dip in the pool at night with no one around. Beautiful.
Drank some beers and enjoyed the comfort of the bed.
The bathroom is nice. We only took a couple of showers since we were there for one night only. I like the products that are provided so leave your set at home.
We had a great breakfast with lot's of choices. Both local and western.
The service was very good and we enjoyed having a person grab us a taxi to head to the market or a cute festival we landed upon and enjoyed for the rest of the night while eating fresh crab in chili sauce and beer. Too good. Too good.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fiercelu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sahapol L, Manager at Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Firecelu,

Thank you very much for having taken your valuable time to write on Tripadvisor during your recent stay at Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon.

We were delighted to note that you found every aspect of your accommodation highly satisfactory; and that the quality of service rendered by our staff greatly contributed to making your visit even more pleasant and comfortable for you.

It was indeed a pleasure having you as our guests, and we look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel on your next trip to this famed Golden Land of Myanmar.

Yours sincerely,
Sahapol Ladda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

We arrived in Yangon after a very long trip from the USA, very tired and worn out from all the connecting flights. Our checkin was so easy, we couldn't believe it. The staff was so very helpful with our questions and any other concerns we had and always greeted us with a smile. Our stay in Myanmar was excellent thanks in part to your hotel. We highly recommend the Chatrium to all visitors of Yangon!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gnan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
359 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

The chatrium is a good option for an international & well located hotel in Yangon whether visiting on business or pleasure.. Facilities largely reflect expectations of a large hotel. Rooms are comfortable & staff helpful. Internet works better than many others.

Room Tip: We had a quiet room with a partial view if shwedagon. However some rooms I understand can be noisy b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stuffmatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

My wife and I visited Myanmar for the first time. We stayed three days at Chatrium which I will always remember. It certainly was above our expectations. From the time we stepped out of taxi to the time we left we only had excellent experience. The staff was very friendly, polite and helpfull. The breakfast was fantastic. The view of Schewadagon Pagoda from our 6th room was great. It is right on the side of Royal Lake with lush green palm trees. If we ever go back to Yangon this will be the place we will stay. All the attractions including down town is 2-3 US$ by taxi.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to Schwadagon Pagoda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ashiq001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Over a three week visit to Myanmar I spent three nights in total at the Chatrium Hotel, one a the beginning of my trip and two at the end. On both occasions I stayed in a comfortable run of the mill room with excellent views towards the Shwedagon Pagoda and the city skyline. The room had extremely comfortable beds and the bathroom a good free standing shower, which I appreciated. On my first stay, a wedding was occurring by the poolside, which my room overlooked - I thought oh no a sleepness night, but this was concluded and packed up around 10pm, which impressed me.

I could not fault any staff I dealt with, they were all welcoming, friendly and helpful. My check ins and check outs were handled efficiently without any problems.

I only ate breakfast at the hotel and this was fine, only criticism would be the slowness of gaining a coffee/chocolate, even so this meant I sat and experienced the pleasant atmosphere of the outside area.

I used the pool and found it clean and refreshing with excellent service by the attendants.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellover077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

My wife and I visited here January 2014. Initially our reservation for an Executive Deluxe room was not honored. We explained to the manager our booking from 9 months ago and he remedied the situation by providing us with the Corner Deluxe Room. The staff is helpful but at times forgetful (as at the morning breakfast coffee may need to be ordered twice). This hotel tries very hard but the staff is not fully acquainted with 5-star Standards of service. We enjoyed a comfortable visit. It would be interesting to see this hotel again in a few years after they improve the service. The staff is friendly and extremely gracious. The food is delicious.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DHDL97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
1.6 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#5 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,524 reviews
2.8 mi away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#4 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel
Rose Garden Hotel
#9 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
#15 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
1.6 mi away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#2 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
1.4 mi away
PARKROYAL Yangon
PARKROYAL Yangon
#10 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon

Property: Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Address: 40 Natmauk Road | Tamwe Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11211, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#3 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#5 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#6 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon shines as one of the city’s topmost hotels for pure luxury and rich colonial-style heritage. Situated among lush greenery and beside the famous Kandawgyi Lake, views are simply stunning and spectacular. Every guestroom is spaciously designed and furnished to reflect the luxurious surroundings, with breathtaking views of Shwedagon Pagoda. The Chatrium Club Lounge provides an added touch of luxury and exclusivity with a private check-in lounge, complimentary refreshments, access to our Meeting Rooms and many more special privileges. Choose from six restaurants and bars for delicious dining, relax by our beach-styled swimming pool, work-out at the Fitness Center and rejuvenate at Nemita Spa. Our Grand Ballroom is ideal for weddings, banquets and large events, with smaller meeting rooms available for more private functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Southall Travel, JovagoAsia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatrium Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing