We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in Yangon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Ranked #8 of 161 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We took a cub room and were upgrated to a mini corner suite with a nice pagoda view . The room was nice and spacious. The hotel is clean , but as mentioned by others during the weekend you will get marriage all the time. This was not an issue for us. The club is ok, but with very limited snacks an drinks (They even run out of wine, one evening). The restaurant is good and the price reasonable. Very good breakfast . The staff is polite, however the receptionist seems to make it complicate during the check-in and out… it takes forever.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bzh56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,577)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

896 - 902 of 1,577 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

A very nice western style property with excellent service, grounds and the best buffet in town. Just across from the lake and a short walk to Schewdagon (mind the uneven pavement) this hotel offers all a realistic visitor could and should expect. Forget the Strand stay at Chatrium it's much better situated.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room on the sixth floor or above for fantastic sunset views of Schewadgon
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brooks6782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

It was a very active lobby with several conferences and meetings going on. My husband always liked the Hiltons for this very reason.
The food was good and the seafood buffet on our last night there was outstanding. The staff was efficient and gracious.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twincopagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We enjoyed the Chatrium, although we did have an Executive Club room including access to the lounge with free drinks and snacks.
We stayed twice during our trip. The first time we had a very pleasant room with a view over the Royal Lake and Pagodas from our balcony and the second a spacious suite. The location of the hotel is convenient for sight seeing and many local restaurants are easily accessible.
The Asian food for breakfast was good but the western items less so. We did not eat there in the evenings as there are so many other restaurants to choose from in Yangon.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
The only problem we had was when changing dollars into local currency they insisted on perfect notes, to a ridiculous extent. In the end we went to a money changer in town and had no trouble changing the money albeit at a slightly lower rate.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralph T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sahapol L, Manager at Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear Ralf T,

Mingalarbar from Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon!

Thank you most sincerely for your kind patronage and the kind review of Chatrium Royal Lake Yangon during your recent stay. We are most delighted to note that you were enjoy your stay and found our room was spacious and also enjoy the magnificent view of Yangon City from your room.

Your comment with regards to exchange service are well received and duly referred to the Money Exchange Agency for proper attention. We always appreciate information from our guests since constructive comments such as yours help us to improve our service standards.

It was indeed a pleasure having you as our guest, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to stay with us on your 3rd visit in not too far distant.

Yours sincerely,
Sahapol Ladda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Virtually every tourist entering Myanmar is going first to Yangon. This hotel is a good intermediary point between Singapore, Hong Kong or other first world countries and the more rustic hotels upcountry.

The room was very nice with a comfortable bed and well-appointed bathroom.
the service was both efficient and very friendly. The food in the restaurant was good - though not great. The pool area was very nice. Everything we asked for was supplied with a smile.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sahapol L, Manager at Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear Richlo,

A warmest greeting from Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon!

Thank you very much for having taken some of your valuable time to review us on Tripadvisor during your recent stay at Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon.

We were delighted to note that you have found every aspect of your accommodation satisfactory and that the quality of service rendered by our staff greatly contributed to making your visit even more pleasant and comfortable for you.

It was indeed a pleasure having you as our guests, and we look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel on your next trip to this famed Golden Land of Myanmar.

Yours sincerely,
Sahapol Ladda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We started our trip in Burma staying in the Chatrium and ended it staying at Traders. Given that the prices of both are comparable, we preferred Traders which had newer-looking rooms, a fancier lobby, was more centrally located and had a much better buffet spread.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ladybug789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sahapol L, Manager at Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear Ladybug789,

Thank you so much for taking time to review Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon on Tripadvisor during your recent visit.

Your comments are well received. We always appreciate information from our guests since constructive comments such as yours provide us with one way of monitoring our service standards and the needs of our guests.

Nevertheless, it was a pleasure having you as our guest; and we hope to be given another opportunity to serve you again in your next trip to Myanmar, Land of the Golden Pagodas.

Yours very truly,
Sahapol Ladda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I agree with Cathy's review. The hotel itself was pretty good. Its strength was super friendly staff. The big disappointment for us were the events. We stayed for 3 days and ALL 3 days the hotel were hosting events/weddings. We tried to relax by the pool each day but it was impossible. The constant sound of banging as staging was erected and at times unbearably loud music whilst they tested the speakers. All hotel guests at the pool were very angry. A number left the pool area altogether. We ended up sitting on mats from the gym on the grass because they only had 16 sun beds which is ridiculous for a hotel of it's size. A very disappointing stay and we will never be staying at a Chatrium again. Please start putting your hotel guests first!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shirley p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sahapol L, Manager at Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear Shirley P,

Thank you very much for having taken your valuable time to review Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon on Tripadvisor during your recent visit.

We regret to note that an otherwise pleasant visit was spoiled by an unpleasant experience with the noise disturb from wedding and function set up. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience as a result.

Management is aware of the situation and corrective measures are underway to ensure that similar problems are minimized. We truly appreciate your bringing the matter to our attention, as it is through comments such as yours that we are provided with one way of monitoring and further improving our standards of service.

Nevertheless, it was a pleasure having you as our guest. We hope to be given the opportunity to welcoming you again to our property on your next trip to this famed Golden Land of Myanmar.

Yours very truly,
Sahapol Ladda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
1.6 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
2,760 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
#10 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
362 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
#16 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#4 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
689 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#9 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
346 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sedona Hotel Yangon
Sedona Hotel Yangon
#13 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon

Address: 40 Natmauk Road | Tamwe Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11211, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#3 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#5 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#7 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: £101 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon shines as one of the city’s topmost hotels for pure luxury and rich colonial-style heritage. Situated among lush greenery and beside the famous Kandawgyi Lake, views are simply stunning and spectacular. Every guestroom is spaciously designed and furnished to reflect the luxurious surroundings, with breathtaking views of Shwedagon Pagoda. The Chatrium Club Lounge provides an added touch of luxury and exclusivity with a private check-in lounge, complimentary refreshments, access to our Meeting Rooms and many more special privileges. Choose from six restaurants and bars for delicious dining, relax by our beach-styled swimming pool, work-out at the Fitness Center and rejuvenate at Nemita Spa. Our Grand Ballroom is ideal for weddings, banquets and large events, with smaller meeting rooms available for more private functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatrium Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing