We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Business Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Ranked #8 of 155 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good Business Hotel”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Decent hotel. Good karaoke bar with sake downstairs. Nice location and view. Very modern by Yangon standards. Great burgers as well. I would definitely visit and stay here again. Although one must say that you will be hard pressed to find a better hotel for the business traveller in this region.

Room Tip: Get one on the club floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRamakrishnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sahapol L, Manager at Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Tramakrishnan,

Thank you very much for having taken your valuable time to compose review of Chatrium Hotel during your recent stay.

We were delighted to note that you found every aspect of your accommodation highly satisfactory; and that the quality of service rendered by our staff greatly contributed to making your visit even more pleasant and comfortable for you.

Our Ritz Bar is one of the perfect place for hang out, a variety of famous cocktail and sake bar are await for our guest to enjoy and get relax after a busy day.

Once again, thank you very much for your kind patronage and we are looking forward to a pleasure of welcoming you back to stay with us again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Sahapol Ladda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    730
    609
    135
    23
    12
See reviews for
170
536
108
374
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights at the start of an 18day tour of Myanmar. We upgraded to a lake front room as the back side looks straight onto a building site. The hotel is very popular with business men but that did not effect the atmosphere adversely for holiday makers. There is a lovely large pool with wifi accessible around it, as well as throughout the hotel but it was better by the lobby and pool than in the rooms.
The room was large with a huge bed, at least a super king and very comfortable, and a good sized bathroom with all the extras you need that you may have forgotten to pack. The room has a small balcony, room for you stand on and take in the view across the lake.
The staff were always charming and smiling.
The breakfast is immense, anything your heart desires!
We certainly preferred this compared to the Kandawgyi palace hotel (which most agents seem to put you in - we stayed there our last night)
From what I heard from other travellers, we had chosen wisely to stay here.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Venetiar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sahapol L, Manager at Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Venetiar,

Thank you very much for the kind review of Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake and for making our hotel your home away from home in Yangon.

We are delighted to learn that you are fully satisfied with facilities and service we provide, especially our swimming pool. Our WiFi are available throughout the hotel and we are on process of improving our WiFi to be the fastest in Yangon.

It was indeed a great pleasure having you as our guest; and we are looking forward at the opportunity of welcoming you back to this famed Land of Golden Pagodas at which time we can exhibit once again the very best of Myanmar hospitality.

Yours truly,
Sahapol Ladda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hofheim am Taunus, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed for one week in the Chatrium hotel Yangon. It is a very nice business hotel with a great swimming pool and good restaurants. The staff give this big business hotel a special and familiar atmosphere. You feel very welcome here and the staff know you and take care of your concerns, whatever it maybe. I would like to mention Mr. Steven Naing Tung, Food & Beverage Manager and Victoria, Restaurant Manager, who both impressed up with their great service attidude, their friendly behaviour and their professionalism.

Christian and Julia Richter
Germany

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Apfel_1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sahapol L, Manager at Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Ms. Julia R,

Thank you most sincerely for the kind review of Chatrium Royal Lake Yangon during your recent stay. We could not be happier with any other news than to learn that you are thoroughly satisfied with the facilities and services we provided.

In particular, Mr. Steven Naing Tun, F&B Manager and Ms. Victoria, Restaurant Manager were pleased to learn that they were able to contribute, in their own way, to making your stay with us even more pleasant and comfortable for you. Again, thank you for letting us know.

It was indeed a pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to welcoming you again as we strive to be your first choice hotel whenever you travel to this famed Golden Land of Myanmar.

Yours sincerely,
Sahapol Ladda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake in Yangon is a typical five-stars hotel suitable for both leisure travelers and businessman. Located at the beautiful Kandawgyi Lake it has all the facilities you might need in a favourable location.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LenarcikMarek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sahapol L, Manager at Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear LenarcikMarek,

Thank you very much for having taken some of your valuable time to review Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon on Tripadvisor. We appreciate the information you have provided and are certainly delighted to read your positive and favorable impression of our overall service and facilities.

Meanwhile, we are looking forward to your return visit to Yangon and to our hotel which time it will be entirely our pleasure to extend once again the very best of our Myanmar hospitality.

Yours sincerely,
Sahapol Ladda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

the room was clean and comfortable. Nice food in the restaurant, decent breakfast buffet included in room price.

Receptionists are attentive and cheerful but the staff at the lobby lounge bar and restaurant need better training.

Good location for ones with cars. Not easy to get around on foot.

The pool is good. Expected more for a 5 star range but it is ok.

Happy with the room the most. Except water pressure which is too low. Need some improvement. The amenities are branded. Good smell.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tzazen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sahapol L, Manager at Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Tzazen,

Mingalarbar from Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon,

Thank you so much for taking time to write a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor during your recent stay. We are delighted to note that you have found most aspect of your stay were satisfactory one.

Your comments with regards to the need for an improved of service at Lobby Lounge and Restaurant are well received and duly referred to the department concerned for proper attention. We always appreciate information from our guests since constructive comments such as yours provide us with one way of monitoring our service standards and the needs of our guests.

Nevertheless, it was a pleasure having you as our guest; and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel during your next trip to Myanmar, Land of the Golden Pagodas.

Yours very truly,
Sahapol Ladda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This hotel is a bit dated but still has a lot of charm and an overall high standard, probably similar to good 4 star hotel in more developed south east asian cities. The rooms were great, good size, decor, bathroom, good quality beds, bathroom. Pool was a particular highlight, very nice, good lounges, plenty space. The main downside was the food was very average for a hotel of this size/cost, although we did mainly order western food but the asian food wasn't that great for a place of this standard. The service and all the staff were very helpful and polite and generally had a reasonable standard of English. I'd recommend this as a place to stay in Yangon and it was significantly better than the Summit Parkview which we also stayed at in Yangon.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stonegables
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sahapol L, Manager at Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Stone Gables,

Mingalarbar from Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake,

Thank you for making Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon your home away from during your recent visit to Yangon and for taken some of your valuable time to recommend Chatrium Hotel on Tripadvisor.

Thank you for your kind constructive feedback about the service in our restaurant. We always appreciate information from our guests since constructive comments such as yours provide us with one way of monitoring our service standards and the needs of our guests.

It was indeed a pleasure having you as our guests, and we look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel on your next trip to this famed Golden Land of Myanmar.

Yours sincerely,
Sahapol Ladda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This is really a top class hotel with great service and very helpful staff. Have to say we were a little bit apprehensive about quality of hotels in Myanmar but this hotel was extremely comfortable, with a great coffee lounge near the reception area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nollaigglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sahapol L, Manager at Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Nollaigglas,

Thank you very much for having taken your valuable time to share your stay experience during your recent stay at Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon.

We were delighted to note that you found every aspect of your accommodation highly satisfactory and that the quality of service rendered by our staff greatly contributed to making your visit even more pleasant and comfortable for you.

It was indeed a pleasure having you as our guests, and we look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel on your next trip to this famed Golden Land of Myanmar.

Yours sincerely,
Sahapol Ladda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
1.6 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
2,658 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel
Rose Garden Hotel
#9 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
327 reviews
2.8 mi away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#4 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
#15 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,381 reviews
1.6 mi away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#3 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
947 reviews
2.2 mi away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon

Property: Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Address: 40 Natmauk Road | Tamwe Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11211, Myanmar
Phone Number:
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#3 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#5 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#7 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon shines as one of the city’s topmost hotels for pure luxury and rich colonial-style heritage. Situated among lush greenery and beside the famous Kandawgyi Lake, views are simply stunning and spectacular. Every guestroom is spaciously designed and furnished to reflect the luxurious surroundings, with breathtaking views of Shwedagon Pagoda. The Chatrium Club Lounge provides an added touch of luxury and exclusivity with a private check-in lounge, complimentary refreshments, access to our Meeting Rooms and many more special privileges. Choose from six restaurants and bars for delicious dining, relax by our beach-styled swimming pool, work-out at the Fitness Center and rejuvenate at Nemita Spa. Our Grand Ballroom is ideal for weddings, banquets and large events, with smaller meeting rooms available for more private functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Expedia, JovagoAsia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatrium Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing