We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY NICE STAY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Ranked #8 of 151 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Bassano Del Grappa, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“VERY NICE STAY”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Business Travel, I'm satified about the service. The personnel is very polite and prompt. A special thanks to Anna (GRO), Julia (BC), Emiko and Kay Thi (RC) for the very kind professional support. They do their best to make my stay very pleasant. Thanks.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stefanofrigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sahapol L, Manager at Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Stefanofrigo,

Mingalarbar!

Thank you most sincerely for taking some of your most valuable time to review our Hotel on Tripadvisor during your recent stay. We appreciate the information you have provided and are certainly delighted to read your positive and favorable impression of our overall service and facilities.

Anna Guest Relations, Julia Business Centre Office, Emiko and Ka Thi from Reception Desk were very pleased to learn that they can help in making your stay more enjoyable and comfortable for you. Thank you for letting us knows.

We are looking forward to your return visit to our hotel at which time it will be entirely our pleasure to extend once again the very best of our Myanmar hospitality.

Yours sincerely,
Sahapol Ladda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    708
    595
    134
    22
    13
See reviews for
158
528
108
362
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at executive floor (have club lounge for service but not include every room, your can select), all are accepted, good value, best service. They have 3 resturant on G floor and lobby floor. (Free wi-fi)

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice_oy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sahapol L, Manager at Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Alice_oy,

Mingalarbar from Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon!

Thank you for making Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon your home away from home during your recent visit to Yangon and for taking some of your valuable time to compose a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay and are looking forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again in not too far distant

Yours sincerely,
Sahapol Ladda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This was our second stay in the Chatrium Yangon. The hotel was ideal for us as it was in the city centre and also close to the main attractions in Yangon including Kandawgyi lake, Shwedagon Pagoda and the Royal Barge (Karaweik). The hotel's location also meant that getting into the downtown area was easy as the taxi cost is minimal (no more than $5).

The rooms in the hotel are well furbished to international brand standards and all the rooms have free and fast Wifi. The TV has a very good choice of channels for all travellers with numerous movie channels as well as multi-lingual news broadcasts.

The restaurants at the hotel are of a very high standard. Breakfast is served in the main Buffet restaurant on the Ground floor. The choice of food is extensive and often changed on a day to day basis. The quality of dinner is also very good although much more expensive than other dining option in Yangon.

The staff definitely make the hotel what it is. They always warmly welcome every guest as they enter the hotel and are never seen without a smile.

I will without a doubt be choosing the Chatrium for my next stay in Yangon!

Room Tip: If you want a full Yangon experience, choose a room with a Pagoda view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank griggstraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sahapol L, Manager at Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Griggs Traveller3,

Mingalarbar from Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon!

It was indeed our great pleasure to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to stay with us for the 2nd times. Thank you very much for your kind support and for taking time to let us know about your great experiences through a review on Tripadvisor.

We are very pleased to note that you fully satisfied with our services and facilities in particular our Restaurants and food services. We promised to always keep improving our products and service for a better experience of our entire guests.

Meanwhile, we are look forward to a pleasure of welcoming you back on your 3rd visits. If there is any things that we can be of your services please do not hesitate to contact us at your convenience.

Yours very truly,
Sahapol Ladda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The hotel was clean, the rooms were a good size and the WiFI was excellent. This was important as the usual mobile phone networks do not work in the country as yet. The food in the restaurant was good and the staff, in all areas of the hotel, were professional and attentive. The gym was useful after a long flight, it was the wet season so I did not use the large outdoor pool. I will gladly return.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sahapol L, Manager at Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Ian P,


Mingalarbar!

Thank you most sincerely for taking some of your most valuable time to review our Hotel on Tripadvisor during your recent stay. We appreciate the information you have provided and are certainly delighted to read your positive and favorable impression of our overall service and facilities.

Meanwhile, we are looking forward to your return visit to our hotel at which time it will be entirely our pleasure to extend once again the very best of our Myanmar hospitality.

Yours sincerely,
Sahapol Ladda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I've a business trip in Myanmar for few days and very impressed in hotel guest relation service. Staffs very helpful. Good coordination from Mrs.Lin to help me for carry all 80Kgs stuffs during event show. Breakfast in morning also good. Cleaned room. Will revisit again soon

Room Tip: You may need to early book the room due to many of guest booking ahead during opening of this countr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mingalabar119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sahapol L, Manager at Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Mingalabar 119,

Thank you very much for your recent visit and a kind review of Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to note that you have enjoyed your visit and thoroughly satisfied our products and services that we provided.

In particular, Ms Lin our Guest Relations was very happy to learn that she was able to contribute to making your stay with us even more pleasant and comfortable for you. Again, thank you for letting us know.

It was indeed a great pleasure having you as our guest. We are look forward to welcome you back. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly on your next visit so that we can make sure another great visit for you.

Yours sincerely,
Sahapol Ladda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Positives:
+ Property location is pretty good (not if you're looking near CBD, though)
+ Room size (generous >40 sq m, all floors)
+ Bedding/ mattress quality
+ General customer service - they try their best + people at front desk etc are generally nice, even if not very fluent in English

Negatives:
- Not a business hotel - super-slow wi-fi (understandable in Myanmar) and inconsistent signal (not understandable!) + Noise (see below)
- Renovation work - drilling/ hammering noise all through the hotel (except 9th floor lounge) from 9a to 6p
- Noise from a nearby club that blasts random music till 4 am, several days of the week - difficult to fall asleep if you take a Pagoda-view room
- Food quality (both room service and the restaurants) is below-average
- 4 of our group of 6 people, who stayed ~10 days in the hotel got hit by a stomach bug
- Rooms in floors barring 7/8/9 have poor quality linen / bed sheets have spots

Room Tip: Choose non-Pagoda-facing rooms on levels 7/8/9. Level 8 is a smoking floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandman1922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sahapol L, Manager at Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Sandman 1992,

Thank you very much for having taken your valuable time to write a review of Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake on Tripadvisor during your recent stay.

All the issues of your concern are well received and have been passed on to our General Manager so that immediate and long-term solutions may be implemented. Some of these have already been acted on as part of our endeavors to bring greater value and comfort to our guests.

Meanwhile, we hope that our apology goes some way in assuring you of our commitment to responsive customer service, and that we may have the opportunity of serving you better on your next trip to Myanmar.

Yours very truly,
Sahapol Ladda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parma, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

very nice hotel, clean, good breakfast, and staff is brilliant, professional and very kind, much better than other hotel in Yangon.
Only thing I wonder how in such a high standard hotel some service is not available, such as changing money, you need to go to one of the shop inside and pay a very high commission, ATM never works, and box breakfast in the morning is ridiculous for such hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simo2072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sahapol L, Manager at Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Simo 2072,

Thank you most sincerely for the kind review of Chatrium Royal Lake Yangon during your recent stay. We are pleased to learn that you are fully satisfied with the facilities and services we provided.

Your comment about Money Exchange Counter is well received. As per the Myanmar Authority Hotel is not authorize for money exchange facility, our Management is now on process of negotiating with Farmer Authorize Changer to have their Exchange Counter available in our hotel lobby. We hope to have this service available by the beginning of September.

It was indeed a pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to welcoming you again as we strive to be your first choice hotel whenever you travel to this famed Golden Land of Myanmar.

Yours sincerely,
Sahapol Ladda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
1.6 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
2,599 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel
Rose Garden Hotel
#9 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
312 reviews
2.8 mi away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#5 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
#15 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,363 reviews
2.2 mi away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,338 reviews
1.6 mi away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#3 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon

Property: Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Address: 40 Natmauk Road | Tamwe Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11211, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#3 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#5 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#7 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon shines as one of the city’s topmost hotels for pure luxury and rich colonial-style heritage. Situated among lush greenery and beside the famous Kandawgyi Lake, views are simply stunning and spectacular. Every guestroom is spaciously designed and furnished to reflect the luxurious surroundings, with breathtaking views of Shwedagon Pagoda. The Chatrium Club Lounge provides an added touch of luxury and exclusivity with a private check-in lounge, complimentary refreshments, access to our Meeting Rooms and many more special privileges. Choose from six restaurants and bars for delicious dining, relax by our beach-styled swimming pool, work-out at the Fitness Center and rejuvenate at Nemita Spa. Our Grand Ballroom is ideal for weddings, banquets and large events, with smaller meeting rooms available for more private functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatrium Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing