We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay... Mon Mon smile and professionalism” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Savoy Hotel Yangon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Ranked #3 of 147 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great stay... Mon Mon smile and professionalism”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

Amazing place, nice and professional people, special thanks to "Mon Mon" the smile of the Savoy Hotel. The style of this place is old fashion, but very confortable, nice swimming pool, and very good food. The place to be at Yangon!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bebeoFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    524
    259
    68
    15
    16
See reviews for
114
471
69
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pelham, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

I really enjoyed my stay here. The colonial style is romantic, the rooms are BIG, the swimming pool and internet are available 24 hours a day, and staff is friendly and will do what they can to help you with whatever you need. The restaurant upstairs has a view of the Schwedagon Pagoda.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sixweeksoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
612 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

Stayed one night at the end of the trip. We were origfinally booked into a huge and very nice suite but it was right by the main room and a little noisy. Reception qwuickly agreed to move us to a perfectly adequate standard room away from the road. Had a few drinks in the bar and there was even live music (which was OK). The breakfast was not bad and the upstairs restaurant has views of the Shwegaggon Pagoda which is in walking distance

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boonton, NJ, USA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

My wife and I stayed three nights at the Savoy in November, 2011, two at the begining and one on the last night of our Myanmar vacation. On both occasions we were very pleased with the Savoy, even though our 1st room was a bit worn in spots and the hot water a tad spotty (on our 2nd stay we were given an incredible suite, extremely spacious and comfortable). The Savoy makes up for any minor shortcomings with a very friendly staff (not stuffy), good location, cozy bar, large pool, nice big rooms and excellent value (especially when compared to the other top-end hotels in town). The Savoy is on the smaller side, an intimate, boutique style hotel with a pleasant colonial atmosphere that contrasts and complements the city nicely. Yangon's main sttraction, the Swedagon Pagoda, is just a short walk away and there are several good restaurants very close by. Overall, a very good choice and highly recommended.

Room Tip: most 2nd floor rooms have small balconies 1st floor suite # 105 is enormous
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boontonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

In my opinion the best hotel in Rangoon. Cozy and boutique gives you the impression you are in the different world in place like Burma. The rooms are very clean, nice and big, furnished with class and sence of style. I liked it very much. The big advantage is a small but peasant swomming pool which gives you a relief from hot weather and direct sun. I di not try to eat a dinner in the hotel as it seemed to me quite expensive. I defenitely recoment this place to stay in Rangoon. Seeing a lot in Burma and other Countries in Asia - Savoy was one of my best choices I made to stay there.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SlawekPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

I am a Travel Agent in Brisbane and have stayed in 242 Hotels, in 105 Cities, in 39 Countries. So I feel I am in the position to know the difference between a good and not so good hotel.

We stayed here for three nights at the beginning of November, in an Executive Suite.

Due to our late flight arrival we had booked an Airport to Hotel car transfer. The hotel driver was waiting for us on our arrival, and were taken promptly to the hotel. In hindsight we were so glad we did this, as the Yangon taxis are a nightmare!

Check-in was hassle free, we were escorted to our Suite, and our bags were promptly delivered to the room.

The Suite was huge, a flat screen TV in both the Lounge Room and the Bedroom. There was even a guest's toilet. The bathroom was also huge, with separate shower from the bath. The bed was very comfortable, and over-all the whole suite was well appointed and comfortable. The outlook was overlooking the swimming pool.

The ambience of the hotel is of a peaceful oasis in a bustling city. Very old-world colonial, with plenty of art work and artifacts in the public areas.

The hotel has two restaurants, both serving only European food. This was our only disappointment with the hotel. We don't even know if there is such a thing as Burmese food! We love all asian food and were really looking forward to the local cuisine. There are a number of restaurants within walking distance of the hotel, and would you believe, again only serving European food! We couldn't believe it, coming to Burma and having to eat Pizza and Spaghetti!

The buffet breakfasts were a bit of a disappointment, with not a lot of choice. We could only describe this as adequate.

The staff were all very friendly and accommodating. Housekeeping kept our room clean, though never replaced the coffee and sugar etc each day. We had to ask for this to be done each day.

The swimming pool area was peaceful and relaxing. The pool-side service was prompt, and the lunches by the pool were good.

Most of their guests seem to be just one-nighters, either starting or finishing group tours in Burma. Maybe this is why they only had European food.

All in all generally a good hotel, that was very comfortable and peaceful. We would recommend this property, but remember you are in Burma. Do not expect what you would find in a 5 Star property in Thailand or Malaysia.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John5259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

We stayed 2 nights at the Savoy in Yangon in November 2011 - one at the beginning, and one at the end of our holiday in Myanmar. This is a wonderful hotel - the rooms are beautiful, very colonial with lovely furniture - and they are very spacious. Staff were lovely and friendly and the service was excellent. All of the public areas are full of antiques and very well presented. The noodles at breakfast were especially tasty as were the freshly baked cinnamon rolls. We asked if we could have the same room for our return visit and the staff were only to happy offer this. We stayed in room 209 which overlooked the pool. There are several nice small eating places just outside and it was wonderful to be able to see the Swedagon Paya from the hotel itself.
We booked our trip with local travel agents Gulliver Travel who are just the best and offered an excellent service.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor overlooking the pool are the best - numbers from 206 - 210
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crawshawbooths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
1.3 mi away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#5 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,524 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Strand
The Strand
#2 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#4 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
1.6 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#7 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Hotel Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hotel Yangon

Property: Savoy Hotel Yangon
Address: 129 Dhammazedi Road, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#3 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#5 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#6 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Savoy Hotel Yangon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Savoy Hotel is a four star colonial boutique hotel committed to personalized and attentive service. It is ideally located in a picturesque area of Yangon overlooking the Shwedagon Pagoda, Myanmar’s “twinkling wonder” and nearby the People’s Park. All 24 deluxe rooms and six suites express the charm of “the old days” with traditional Myanmar antiques, teak furniture and spacious bathrooms. Nicely overshadowed by tall old trees, the large pool with its lounge area makes the Savoy Hotel a silent oasis in the middle of the buzzing city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Savoy Hotel Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Savoy Hotel Yangon Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing