We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very horrible customer service!”
Review of Savoy Hotel Yangon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Ranked #3 of 155 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very very horrible customer service!”
Reviewed 19 May 2012

I don't recommend staying there. I had very bad experience with this hotel. Cancellation policy is very bad to the customers better not try it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Co C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    570
    276
    70
    15
    17
See reviews for
129
499
73
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We were deciding whether to stay here vs. the Strand or Governor's Residence. We wanted a pool and it's significantly cheaper than Governor's, so we booked at Savoy Hotel.

When we arrived, we discovered that the pool was closed for a week. We felt deceived because it's clearly the main feature that they promote on their website, and we had been given no advance notice by management. Without the pool, there's no reason to stay here over the Strand. So soon after we arrived, I called the manager on duty to let them know that the main reason for our staying at the hotel was now gone and asked if they could give us a discount or some other make-good. Hearing no response, I called back later to find out that the general manager was not willing to offer any discount. Instead, we would be offered late checkout for one room.

Not only is late checkout an obviously lame make-good, since any decent hotel that's not fully booked would just offer this by default, but we had already told them that we were leaving the hotel before 6am the next day - no need for late checkout. I asked to speak with the general manager, who apparently was the only one that could make any decision. We were told that he leaves the office at 5pm, and we couldn't speak with him until after 9am the next day - again, we would already be gone.

When we went to check out at 4am the next morning, the full $200 bill was waiting for us. Never got an apology from the manager, or any follow-up. I very rarely write reviews, but I was so shocked with the poor service from a small boutique hotel. Usually they have the business sense to realize the importance of their service reputation. Honestly, they could have had offered us a free $5 cocktail when we got there to make it better, but they did nothing at all. It just felt totally deceptive.

So based on this experience, I felt the only way to get the point across was to write a review on the web. Hopefully they'll improve because it is a nice place.

A couple days later we spent a night at the Governor's Residence and it was a world of difference. Definitely a bit more expensive but the staff was perfectly attentive, we got a late checkout without even asking, and we were spontaneously comped for our last round of drinks at the pool. Stay there.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank ryanhayward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uniteam, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Yangon, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear Mr.Hayward,

thank you for your response. We always value guest comments and only through these comments can we improve ourselves and be made aware of services or amenities which were missing.

Firstly, we apologize for the pool closure, however, the existing deck was becoming dangerously weak and since we do not want our guests to be harmed in any way, we took the decision to redo the pool decking. Since we are not a seasonal hotel, we have no choice but to undergo renovations whilst still operating. We can very well understand that this may frustrate our guests, however we have no choice.

We are also renovating most other areas in the hotel so as to keep up with standards and sincerely hope that you come and stay with us again in order to make up for your unsatisfactory stay.

Best Regards,

The Savoy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Nigeria
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a total of three nights, one at the beginning of our trip and two at the end.

The location was fine for us and the hotel functional and comfortable and the staff pleasant and accommodating.

The rooms were quite dated and the lighting poor, however this is a problem that we encountered everywhere we stayed in Myanmar.

The room was equipped with tea and coffee making facilities, complimentary water, television, mini bar - housekeeping services were minimal and after the first of our two night stay none of the amenities - shampoo, toilet rolls had been replaced and we had to call and request this to be done.

Our rooms for both stays were located on the third floor - there is no lift in this building so if mobility is an issue be sure to request a ground floor room. Staff were happy to carry bags without question.

There is a swimming pool which unfortunately was closed during our two night stay due to refurbishment.

Breakfast was served in the upstairs dining room and for us the selection was fine.
During our first stay we had a 6.00am flight and reception offered to provide us with a breakfast tray in our room the following morning prior to our departure which was appreciated.

There is a nice bar area which appears to cater mostly for ex-pats. Bar snacks and food from the Italian menu can be served here, but several times during our stay the bar was very smokey and so not ideal for eating.
We did go upstairs to eat where they also have a more expensive menu, however the restaurant was empty and so there was a lack of atmosphere.
We were advised that the outside upstairs terrace area was closed.

There are several acceptable local places opposite and within walking distance for alternative eating options.
We were informed that there used to be a happy-hour and live music several nights a week, but that this has been cancelled on instruction of the new management.
Slow wi-fi was available throughout the Hotel.

Overall the hotel and accommodation was as expected and suited us fine for our requirements, and we would consider staying here on another occasion.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minato-ku, Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

I've never even written a hotel review before, but our experience here was so bad that I felt the need to as a public service! Following check-in, the first room we were taken to had so much MOLD in the bathtub/shower that we asked to be moved to another room. I even took a photo, which I've uploaded, since I could not believe it! The second room had the same level of mold, which had then been caulked over. Based on the pricing ($165/night), general reviews on websites, and the lonely planet write-up, I was expecting a more luxurious level of accommodation. I've stayed in better backpacker rooms for $7/night. Definitely do not stay here.

Other useful tidbits - note that there is no elevator, stairs only (for anyone with mobility issues), internet is extremely spotty (this is likely a yangon-wide issue, but to make it worse employees are reluctant to get off of facebook to let you use the printer for things like printing boarding passes), it's not in central Yangon and the hotel doesn't provide you with useful info like letting you know it's a national holiday that day when discussing where to go. Also - we stayed at Trader's another night ($90/night) and it was a thousand times better (no mold!). It's quite sad, as the property could be very nice, but it is so run-down that for that pricing it's a joke. The Strand was $50/night more, and seems to be well worth the difference (although note that we had lunch there only, so can't vouch for the rooms themselves).

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uniteam, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Yangon, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear StephanieR,

thank you for your comments and we are well aware of the issue regarding the mold, however, we are starting our renovations in June this year where we will be completely overhauling ALL bathrooms and rooms.
Due to the poor business in the last years, hotels in Yangon were unable to undergo renovations and since the country has started to open we are struggling to renovate due to the high demand in rooms.

We sincerely apologize about your unsatisfactory stay and hope that you return for another stay so we can show your that this is not the norm here at the Savoy.

Kind Regards,

Savoy Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Stayed here for one night. Can tell it used to be a nice hotel. Unfortunately, without well ain and management, rooms became seriously damaged and annoying. Location is convinient, bar and lounge is nice. Staff needs to be trained. Better somewhere else if you care about cleanliness and refined ambiance. English is well spoken here.The restaurant next door called Sharky and passion is super nice.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank solo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Straight from central casting, the Savoy Hotel is just what you would imagine a colonial Rangoon hotel from 80 years ago to be – slightly spooky, partly faded, just functional enough and very atmospheric. The rooms are large and quiet and the pool area is a great little sanctuary. The staff is generally helpful. Although decent now, the place is getting rough at the edges and is going to need a major cosmetic and management overhaul if it’s going to survive Myanmar’s opening-up. Neither the location nor the service warrants the price, and once some more internationally-managed hotels open this is no longer going to be a competitive choice. The breakfast is disappointing for what claims to be one of the best hotels in Yangon – very mediocre and uninspired. The rooms are clean enough but the bathrooms need better maintenance (mold in the shower and broken fixtures). I thought it was odd when I arrived that the breaker box in my room was open, but soon learned that every time you use the water kettle it trips a circuit breaker. I stayed at the hotel twice (at the start and end of my Myanmar trip) and both rooms had this problem - why not just invest in lower wattage kettles than use this amateurish solution? Recommended, but only for now.

Room Tip: Be aware that there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MRF_Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
370 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Lots of previous reviews explain how the Savoy gives a piece of colonial grandour to the tourist at a more reasonable price that the Strand. I would echo that fact. It is not a modern hotel however is not 'past its best' either. It provides a degree of comfort without being 'stuffy' or over the top.
We stayed in 3 different rooms during 3 different stays during our 2 week vacation. All the rooms were very similar, good quality bed linen, comfortable beds, reasonably well maintained bathrooms, wooden floors, TV, Fridge and air con. The rooms were also of a good size, very clean and furnished in keeping with the age of the hotel. The only drawback was the air con which although fine was not always quick to cool down the room and one or two issues with the curtains which were hard to draw and off the railings. However we were comfortable and pleased with the hotel and the rooms.
Staff were all helpfull and spoke good English.
Breakfast was OK. The choice was not extensive however was always freashly prepared and if you were early a table with a view of the golden stupa provided the best breakfast view ever. We ate in the hotel bar twice (late returns from sightseeing and exhaustion) and found the choices on the bar menu good and the prices reasonable. They had a good selection of wine again at reasonable prices. The main restaurant was however a little pricey.
The pool area although small was fine for a quick dip and a relax (who comes to Mynamar for the pool scene).
There is no lift however staff will carry bags without question.
Location is a little outside of the city centre but with a view of and in day light walkable to the stupa. When we were there it was too hot to walk far (even during the evening) so were driven around. There are a few shops and cafes outside the hotel gates and it is a short walk to a couple of restaurants. We walked to the Thai House literally across the busy road and had a good and cheapish meal.
The hotel will take dollars at a reasonable exchange rate but prefers to charge in Kyat.
As a base to tour Yangon as a tourist this would be a good choice as it provides a significant degree of charm not found in modern properties. It is small so will never feel too in personal.Slow WiFi was available.
The only draw back is the outside noise as the hotel is 'single glazed' and is surrounded by a busy road. The rooms directly facing the pool are furthest away from the road and would be quietest however road noise was not areal problem. There is a Karoke bar (yuk) across the road which was very loud one night (just before the water festival) and was more than annoying however in our 4 nights at the hotel we only heard it once.
We would certainly stay here again and would recommend it to people who like a degree of 'old world collonial charm' above modern facelessnes.

Room Tip: ASk for aroom overlooking the pool, these are furthest from the busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KevanEastYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
1.3 mi away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,354 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
2,659 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Strand
The Strand
#2 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,510 reviews
1.3 mi away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#4 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
609 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
#15 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Hotel Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hotel Yangon

Property: Savoy Hotel Yangon
Address: 129 Dhammazedi Road, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#3 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#5 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#6 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Savoy Hotel Yangon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Savoy Hotel is a four star colonial boutique hotel committed to personalized and attentive service. It is ideally located in a picturesque area of Yangon overlooking the Shwedagon Pagoda, Myanmar’s “twinkling wonder” and nearby the People’s Park. All 24 deluxe rooms and six suites express the charm of “the old days” with traditional Myanmar antiques, teak furniture and spacious bathrooms. Nicely overshadowed by tall old trees, the large pool with its lounge area makes the Savoy Hotel a silent oasis in the middle of the buzzing city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Savoy Hotel Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Savoy Hotel Yangon Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing