We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Colonial Hotel”
Review of Savoy Hotel Yangon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Ranked #3 of 155 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Colonial Hotel”
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We stayed at the Savoy at the start and the end of our holiday in Myanmar in December and were very happy with the hotel. We had a nice quiet room overlooking the pool for both stays. The rooms were well appointed in a colonial style, if a little dark (due to dark floor I think). We found the staff to be a happy and engaging team who always tried to make conversation. Do beware though that the hotel rooms are over three floors and there is no lift so if you have a problem climbing stairs then you will need to ask for a ground floor room (staff will carry luggage to the room so you do not need to climb the stairs with suitcases in tow).

The hotel is very well located for sightseeing at the Shwedagon Pagoda, with a very good view of the pagoda from the restaurant, and also reasonably convenient for the airport.

At the end of our holiday we were lazy and could not deal with venturing out into the evening traffic so we decided to treat ourselves to a meal in the hotel's restaurant. We were not disappointed; we had a wonderful meal with courteous attentive service all to an exceptionally high (European) standard. We paid about $55/head including drinks, wine and coffee which we thought was good value given the menu offer and the fact we were in the hotel.

The Savoy was not our first choice of hotel in Yangon and was suggested by our tour operator when they had problems confirming our booking at the start of our holiday planning in Feb '12. We were very happy with the hotel and in fact in retrospect it probably suited us better than our first choice would have done.

Room Tip: Choose a ground floor room if you have difficulty climbing stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BaverHare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uniteam, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Yangon, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Dear BaverHare,

Greetings from the Savoy Hotel Yangon!

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to write a response and we thank you for you kind comments. At the Savoy we constantly strive to ensure that our guests have a memorable stay and we are especially happy that your stay was just that! We are happy to read that you liked the room and enjoyed the breakfast buffet and our pool.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Savoy Hotel Yangon; your home away from home!

A. Ruether, General Manager Savoy Hotel Yangon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    569
    276
    70
    15
    17
See reviews for
129
499
73
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Really enjoyed this place. Had a suite overlooking the pool: huge, nicely furnished, comfortable bed. No traffic noise whatsoever. Friendly, professional staff. Good breakfast with plent of fresh fruit, yoghurt, good bread etc. Old part of building retains real character. Checked out the (pricier alternatives: Strand - v. elegant but a bit more commercialised (shops etc in lobby) and no pool; Governer's Residence - a bit faux (over-restored) and souless (and 2-3x the going rate for drinks).
Savoy is within walking distance of the Shwedagon Paya and great restaurants like Aung Thang (2 mins). Easy to pick up a taxi immediately outside one- or hotel will get you one.(cost - $3 to city centre).
Has a nice pool which is long enough to do lengths but, as with all hotel pools in Myanmar at this time of year (Dec/Jan), the water is not that warm so you need to be quite hardy to brave it. Very refreshing after a day pounding the streets, however.
We booked all our flights through the travel agency the hotel uses - Uniteam tours & Travel - and they were excellent (answered all emails promptly, good English, delivered tickets to hotel). We spent a day and half in Yangon but wish we'd stayed for 3+. It's great just to walk around the centre streets looking at all the street food, markets etc. There's a real buzz.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liedream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uniteam, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Yangon, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Dear Liedream,
Greetings from the Savoy Hotel Yangon!
Firstly, thank you for taking the time to write a response and we thank you for you kind comments. At the Savoy we constantly strive to ensure that our guests have a memorable stay and we are especially happy that your stay was just that!
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Savoy Hotel Yangon; your home away from home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Although the Savoy is not an old building, it exudes an atmosphere of colonial chic with dark polished teak floors, broad wooden staircases and plenty of ground floor club-style bar/library and lounge space in which to relax after a day exploring the many pleasures of Yangon. Our large bedroom was also on the ground floor overlooking the small front garden, but we did not notice the traffic noise. All the fittings were chosen with taste and all aspects of the bathroom worked and if the lighting was not very bright - presumably the result of Myanmar's low wattage overall - it only added to the atmosphere. We had breakfast and dinner in the first floor Kipling's restaurant, and enjoyed New Year's Eve dinner round the pool, complete with fireworks and torch singers of a moody US classic variety - just right. Food and Myanmar's own Red Mountain wine are extremely good and I even managed to get the barman to mix a perfect Sidecar, which should be on the cocktail list from now on! Service was helpful and charming and Mon Mon, head of guest relations, told me she is happy to help organise any trips you want if you email her, at guestrelations@savoyhotel-yangon.com. I cannot comment on value as our booking was part of an overall price for the whole trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laputaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uniteam, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Yangon, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Dear laputalLondon

Thank you very much for your kind review and the compliments, which we will transmit to our staff and especially to our Guest Relation Officer.
Such a wonderful feedback is always the best motivation for the whole team to keep on performing the same way.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food in our Kipling’s restaurant and celebrating New Year’s Eve with us.
We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again at Savoy Hotel Yangon.

Kind regards

A. Ruether, General Manager Savoy Hotel Yangon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Malta, Malta
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights during our visit to Yangon and enjoyed it very much. It is a charming old colonial home to which a wing has been added in which the bedrooms are situated. The pool area is a cool oasis, but they could do with investing in some more pool furniture. Rooms are large and there are teak floors throughout. We ate in the restaurant on two occasions and found the food to be very good. There is a lovely view of the Shwedagon Pagoda from the dining room.

Although this is a nice hotel, do agree with others that the price is steep, but I think it is par for the course in Myanmar, where hotels of an international standard are thin on the ground. We were comfortable at the Savoy and would stay there again.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gypsyjaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

we stayed twice at the SAVOY during the past 3 years. the present prices do not match the services of the Hotel at all. Over priced compared to other hotels in Yangoon. out dated rooms, bath rooms, very noisy toward the main, bustling road, 20 hours of heavy traffic, poor windows.
Lack of hot water, dripping Air Condition.

Reception, poor English, long wait for check in ( lost reservation).
The Bar - Lounge, is a Smokers Den, with very intoxicated expats, using poor language.
At our 3rd journey to Myanmar, we used the Chartrium Hotel, absolute a great difference, complete Hotel Services , lifts to go up or down, a choice of restaurants, a large pool , in a tropical garden setting. Close to all major attractions, including down town, located at a very park - lake like section of yangon, highly recommended.

Room Tip: rooms , facing the pool section, not the road section. 107, 108 109, 110
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lisa976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

2 nights in december 2012. It is a nice hotel for arrival in Yangon. The staff was very kind and helpful. The breakfast is good. excellent food in the restaurant for dinner. The rooms are quite, although near big streets. Nice small terrasse. The swimming pool is in shadow in the late afternoon, and in december a bit cold, but otherwise nice! However, there are not enough longchairs near the swimming pool.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Silvia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Service is really outstanding at this lovely hotel. Although I arrived around 5 o'clock in the morning (and my room was not ready) I was allowed to use another room until my actual room was prepared at 9 o'clock. Staff at the reception is friendly, very helpful and efficient. So are the doormen. When a Sprite can exploded in my minibar, the problem was taken care of immediatelly. There are 2 computers for guests with internet access free of charge.
Breakfast is very good and the restaurant offers a great view of Shwedagon Pagoda.
The pool area is mostly quiet and relaxing, except if seized by embassy staff.
There are two good restaurants on the opposite side of the street.
I would love to come back at any time!

Room Tip: Rooms with view to the pool are much quieter than the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newsjunkie404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
1.3 mi away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,353 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
2,658 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Strand
The Strand
#2 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,508 reviews
1.3 mi away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#4 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
609 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
#15 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Hotel Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hotel Yangon

Property: Savoy Hotel Yangon
Address: 129 Dhammazedi Road, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#3 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#5 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#6 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Savoy Hotel Yangon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Savoy Hotel is a four star colonial boutique hotel committed to personalized and attentive service. It is ideally located in a picturesque area of Yangon overlooking the Shwedagon Pagoda, Myanmar’s “twinkling wonder” and nearby the People’s Park. All 24 deluxe rooms and six suites express the charm of “the old days” with traditional Myanmar antiques, teak furniture and spacious bathrooms. Nicely overshadowed by tall old trees, the large pool with its lounge area makes the Savoy Hotel a silent oasis in the middle of the buzzing city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Savoy Hotel Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Savoy Hotel Yangon Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing