We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Savoy Hotel Yangon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Ranked #3 of 147 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Diss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

I just loved this hotel.

The rooms are spacious and well decorated. The bathroom is a good size and very tasteful. The hotel had a colonial boutique feel. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Breakfast was a bit unappealing, even for Burma where the standard is pretty low. For the evening meal, we did not eat in the restaurant, but instead went left one night to a place where locals ate and had really cheap noodles and beer. Other nights we went right and ate at Coffee Circles which looks over westernised, but actually serves a good range o f food and is frequented by the richer locals.

Bizarrely the toilets at the hotel near the swimming pool has framed smutty seaside postcards on the wall, some funny but rather rude, so if you do go take a look. My husband informs me that the humour in the gents was less smutty but a bit odd.

If I return to Yangon, I will make this hotel my first choice.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Parvatithecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uniteam, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Yangon, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Dear Parvatithecat,

Greetings from the Savoy Hotel Yangon!

thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We value all reviews and act upon them too where possible. We have taken note of the pictures and they have been removed and replaced. We are saddened that you did not enjoy our breakfast, however, our F&B department has already been implementing changes and enacted improvements.

We hope to welcome you back to the Savoy in the near future.

Best Regards,

Alex Ruether
General Manager
Savoy Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    524
    259
    68
    15
    16
See reviews for
114
471
69
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

Only 30 odd rooms allows the hotel staff to really concentrate upon your needs and provide a personalized, friendly service away from the hussel and bussle of Yangoon and some of the larger hotels. As someone else said - "a true oasis".

Convenient restaurant options available close by such as Sharkeys, Coffee Club and Thai Kitchen for when you don't want to eat in the hotel.

My wife and I enjoyed relaxing drinks by the pool after a hard day sightseeing.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chilliedan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uniteam, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Yangon, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Dear Chillidan,

Greetings from the Savoy Hotel Yangon!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us; we always feel honoured when our guests are happy. We take great pride in offering our guests personalized service and providing a relaxing atmosphere; this is what we are about.

We hope to welcome you back to the Savoy in the near future!

Best Regards,

Alex Ruether
General Manager
Savoy Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake District
Level Contributor
110 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

Absolutely wonderful staff and food and quiet location, really handy for the Schwedogon temple. Dinner was excellent but the atmosphere is a little lacking. You can always eat in the bar or the odd terrace!

Room Tip: Try for a room away from the main road, so near the pool is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chutneymonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uniteam, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Yangon, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Dear chutneymonster,

Greetings from the Savoy Hotel Yangon!

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to write a comment about your stay.

We are constantly upgrading and working on the property in order to keep up with current trends and are happy to inform you that again this year we will be undergoing some more interesting projects for the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to the Savoy in the near future.
Best Regards,

Alex Ruether
General Manager
Savoy Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

We had a great stay at the Savoy. I especially loved the spa, and sitting by the pool during the heat of the day. It is an old colonial house converted to a hotel--it would have been really interesting to have a tour of the house and know about the life.

But we loved our very comfortable room, with good, not great internet.

The only downside was very poor water pressure in the shower.

My husband had been concerned with the distance to downtown, but we found it worked out to our advantage. taxis are very cheap, we needed an oasis, and the location is very near larger parks and the major pagoda. so all in all the location was great.

VERY nice people and excellent spa services.

Really lovely property.

Room Tip: Ours overlooked the pool and we liked that--the inner courtyard was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank avidforafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uniteam, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Yangon, responded to this review, 17 March 2013
Dear avidforafrica,

Greetings from the Savoy Hotel Yangon!

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Indeed the Internet is a little slow at times, however, we have already upgraded our Internet line in order to have greater speeds. We apologize for the water pressure and we are looking into this matter.

We hope to welcome you back tin the near future .

Best Regards,

Alex Ruether
General Manager
Savoy Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

This small boutique hotel is absolutely beautiful with a lovely collection of art and colonial decor. Overall we had a nice stay and were completely comfortable. The breakfast was the best we had in Myanmar, the poolside restaurant and lounge were enjoyable and relaxing during the hot afternoon. The staff were attentive. The hotel is walking distance to Shwedagon Pagoda but you need to take a taxi to go downtown. There is also an international ATM within walking distance (5 minutes). While the hotel is beautiful, I wouldn't say it is truly 5-star yet as it has a few kinks to work out.

The Savoy confirmed the day before our arrival that they would send a car to pick us up at the airport. When we arrived, we waited for about 20 minutes and no driver ever showed. We took a taxi, which ended up being ok, because the price quoted for the car from Savoy was 4x as expensive as a taxi.

Next, when we arrived at the hotel, there were no porters to assist us. Luckily, we weren't carrying much luggage, so we carried it in to the reception area.

At check-in everything seemed ok, but then when the porter took us to our room, it was a room with 2 twin beds. The room was basic although it did have a nice pool-side view. We had reserved a king-size bed. Normally I wouldn't make a big deal out of these things if they happened individually, but when you claim to be a 5-star hotel and you get three things wrong in a 1 hour period, something must be said. After we spoke to the manager about these mistakes, they upgraded us to a suite on the "noisy" side of the hotel. Yes, the view wasn't as nice as the original pool-side room with 2-twin beds, but the room was stunning.

One other suggestion for the staff is to provide visitors a small map of the area at check-in.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uniteam, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Yangon, responded to this review, 17 March 2013
Dear katilson,

Greetings from the Savoy Hotel Yangon!

Thank you for taking the time to write us about your stay at the Savoy Hotel.

It is unfortunate that the services did not meet your satisfaction, we are looking into the matter and will take the necessary steps to ensure it does not happen again.

Nevertheless, we are delighted that you enjoyed the suite and we are currently undergoing soundproofing in order to reduce the noise from the traffic.

We hope that you visit us again so that we can impress you with our services.

Best Regards,

Alex Ruether
General Manager
Savoy Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
126 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

Yes it WAS expensive, but every hotel option in Yangon (as well as the rest of Myanmar) has fallen prey to massive increases in demand coupled with significant undersupply, and pretty much every hotel in the country is trading at at least 2x to 3x their listed prices. That being said, the Savoy was awesome. Small colonial boutique, beautiful teak wood finishes everywhere, including the rooms, great pool area for a refreshing dip following a hot day's touring / business. Nice position with an easy walk to the Shwedagon Pagoda. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wking21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uniteam, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Yangon, responded to this review, 17 March 2013
Dear wking21,

Greetings from the Savoy Hotel Yangon!

We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Furthermore, we are happy to hear the you enjoyed our facilities.

We are always happy to hear feedback from our guests and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Savoy in the near future.

Best Regards,
Alex Ruether
General Manager
Savoy Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
123 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed just one night in a Deluxe room in the 2nd floor, facing the courtyard of the hotel (swimming pool area) and really enjoyed this spacious room. It was clean, nice furnished and light flooded. Everything was fine, you just have to be patient with the toilet flush. It takes a long long time!

At the swimming pool area there were some sunchairs and a few tables where you can eat a snack or a meal.

Breakfast was good, they offered both Western and Myanmar food.

Staff was helpful, friendly and did their job well. They helped us to bring our luggage to the room and when leaving, they brought it from our room to the taxi.

Around the hotel there are some restaurants and small shops.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank _Betty_Sue_1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uniteam, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Yangon, responded to this review, 10 March 2013
Dear _Betty_Sue_1108,

Greetings from the Savoy Hotel Yangon!

We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we also thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay.

It is only with your reviews that we are able to keep improving our standards and amenities and we have taken note of your comments regarding the toilet flush and we will be investigating/fixing the issue.

We look forward to welcoming you back tot eh Savoy in the near future.

Best Regards,

Alex Ruether
General Manager
Savoy Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
1.3 mi away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#5 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,524 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Strand
The Strand
#2 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#4 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
1.6 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#7 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Hotel Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hotel Yangon

Property: Savoy Hotel Yangon
Address: 129 Dhammazedi Road, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#3 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#5 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#6 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Savoy Hotel Yangon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Savoy Hotel is a four star colonial boutique hotel committed to personalized and attentive service. It is ideally located in a picturesque area of Yangon overlooking the Shwedagon Pagoda, Myanmar’s “twinkling wonder” and nearby the People’s Park. All 24 deluxe rooms and six suites express the charm of “the old days” with traditional Myanmar antiques, teak furniture and spacious bathrooms. Nicely overshadowed by tall old trees, the large pool with its lounge area makes the Savoy Hotel a silent oasis in the middle of the buzzing city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Savoy Hotel Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Savoy Hotel Yangon Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing