We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overrated”
Review of Savoy Hotel Yangon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Ranked #3 of 151 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Las Pinas, Philippines
Level Contributor
161 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Firstly, this hotel is rated as a three star property by the Ministry of Hotels and Tourism, not 4 star as claimed.. I've stayed at this hotel twice in 2013. The hotel is a classic looking property. Intenet connection is unreliable since the hotel is using the Redlink wireless provider. However if you ask the front desk about any problem there will be a plethoria of excuses. Food served for breakfast is basis and monotonous. I've tried ordering at the bar, however what is on the menu sometimes doesn't arrive and the staff need reminders, again there are excuses.

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ayidth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uniteam, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Yangon, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Dear Ayidth,

thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am saddened to hear we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us.

Here at the Savoy we always do our utmost to ensure the highest level of guest satisfaction, therefore we are grateful to hear your feedback and will ensure that these deficiencies will be looked into.

We hope that you will return to the Savoy in the near future so that we can show you our commitment to service.

Best Regards,

Alex Ruether
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    551
    266
    69
    15
    17
See reviews for
122
491
70
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

The Savoy was the best hotel we stayed at during our 2 weeks visit to Myanmar. Nice rooms, wooden floors, working wifi, great shower with good water pressure and an excellent a-la-carte breakfast. The large pool was great for swimming laps. A small gym would have made the hotel even better. There's a spa, but very tiny, we did not try it. Great staff, very friendly and always trying to be helpful. Yes, the hotel is expensive but this is Yangon and all hotel prices seem to be inflated. We felt the Savoy was worth the money though. We had drinks at the Strand and left unimpressed by its location and service and came back appreciating the small scale of the Savoy even more. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elyke1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uniteam, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Yangon, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear elyke 1234,

we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always motivating to hear such wonderful words.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Alex Ruether
General Manager
Savoy Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Spacious , wooden floor rooms, Fully equipped with Wifi (good speed), fruit basket and international tv channels. Friendly and helpful staff. Facilities for meetings. Small Bar. Good location for business and government/NGO type meetings. International Supermarkets in walking range. A bit pricey but that's Yangon. Minor minuses (Not worth mentioning). Stayed here for 2 weeks and everything went smooth. Located at big intersection but absolutely no disturbing factor in the room that I had.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meiguanxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uniteam, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Yangon, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Dear meiguanxi,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us.

It is always useful for us to receive feedback from our guests and when it is positive, it makes us very proud that our services and hard work has made your stay enjoyable.

Thank you for choosing the Savoy as you home whilst in Yangon; we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Alex Ruether
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

Beautiful place to escape the city of Yangon. Makes you feel like a Raj-like king. The pool is especially special at night when it is lit up. The staff are very lovely and more then helpful. None hotel goes can use the pool for $10 a day.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elmaloglou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uniteam, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Yangon, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Dear elmaloglu,

thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are delighted to hear that your enjoyed your stay with us whilst in Yangon! We pride ourselves in offering our guests tailor made services which make one feel at home.

We hope to welcome you back to the Savoy in the near future.

Best Regards,

Alex Ruether
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

I stayed at The Savoy with my husband and brother in June 2013. As usual when I book flights, I then spend hours and hours researching the hotels, my requirement for Yangon was nothing boxey, nothing standard or Holiday Inn-ish, I was looking for old world glamour with lots of natural wood, quirky nick nacks and yet with high standards of service and good food. I really lucked out with The Savoy, It was the best choice I could have made. Our room overlooked the pool, all the rooms have very big french-style windows which I love, it was really huge as well but OK I am used to small Hong Kong hotels but evenso the room was large enough to have another double bed if needed. The floors are all wood and beautiful, although a bit slippery when you've just had a shower! There's a fridge, safe etc and nice bathroom amenities (but I'd change the glass bottles to plastic). Downstairs, there's a great bar with a lively atmosphere, I will attach some photos. The GM is a very handsome foreigner who has been there a few years already and there's nothing he doesn't know about Yangon, very charming and professional. One day I visited The Governors Residence which was also beautiful and worth going for lunch but location was not good and it was very quiet, with The Strand, I just didn't like it at all. Overall, yes I would recommend The Savoy for the fantastic ambiance, lovely rooms, good breakfast (just ask for cooked eggs, lattes etc) and the great service from all departments. The Burmese people are just so friendly, it was a pleasure to visit this country.

Room Tip: You don't have to insist on a room overlooking the pool, all the rooms are great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teresa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uniteam, Guest Relations Manager at Savoy Hotel Yangon, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Dear Ms.Teresa,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review on this site.We are very delighted to see that you had a memorable stay with us .and yes, our spacious guest rooms are decorated with teak furniture to catch the charm of 'The old Days" of Myanmar.
You rightfully pointed out that our location is very central as we are close to the city and takes only few minutes walking distance to the glamorous Shwedagon Pagoda.
Whenever you are planning to come back, kindly let us know.
With Warmest Regards
Thiri Zeya
Guest Relations Manager
Savoy Hotel, Yangon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

The helpful, considerate and friendly service are the highlight of the hotel staff. We stayed one night before leaving for another destination, and coming back for an extra 2 nights before leaving Myanmar. We arrived in the first morning early expecting the room will not be ready, but the room was ready. When we returned, the room key was waiting for us when we came in. Staff are friendly and genuinely warm when they see us in the morning and when we return from our city excursions. Beds are comfortable, running water is strong and warm. Very nice and memorable. Some rooms may experience traffic noise, hotel is located at busy junction, although you may not feel it when you get inside. Wooden floor can be creaky. Those are the only issues that bothered us.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steven t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uniteam, Guest Relations Manager at Savoy Hotel Yangon, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Dear Steven t,
Thank you very much for staying at our Savoy Hotel Yangon and for writing such a positive review. We are very happy that you mentioned our excellent and friendly staff. Our Management Team will look into the issue with the wooden floor. Thanks for sharing your candid feedback.
We will look forward to your next visit again
With Kindest Regards
Thiri Zeya
Guest Relations Manager
Savoy Hotel,Yangon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

There are more modern hotels in Yangon, and I'm sure more luxurious, but there's just a charm about the Savoy that made it worth the visit for me. An echo to times past, you can have high tea in the cafe looking out of the window, and imagine yourself in the Rangoon of a bygone age.

The location is good, close to the Shwedagon Pagoda, and the staff were fantastic. Friendly and accommodating, they made me feel very welcome (and as I was a single traveler, this was particularly welcome).

As an extra, you can hire a hotel car for about $15 an hour. Admittedly a bit more than a rate for a taxi, but the car is air conditioned with in my case an English speaking driver. I took it for 4 hours and managed a great half day tour to the Shwedagon Pagoda, Scottt Market and the Myanmar National Museum.

All in all, a lovely stay.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 302. Not much of a view (probably the same for other rooms on the same corridor, e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amali_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uniteam, Guest Relations Manager at Savoy Hotel Yangon, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Dear Ms.Amali,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review here. We are happy to see that you had a lovely stay at our colonial boutique hotel and had a chance to catch glimpses of time past from our Cafe' Yangon, a perfect place for high tea ,and Yes, I remember you as we planned together that short sightseeing tour before your departure flight . It is very glad to hear that you enjoyed the city tour and superb service from our professional limousine driver.
I really hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Whenever you are planning to come back, please let us know
Till than with warm regards
Thiri Zeya
Guest Relations Manager
Savoy Hotel,Yangon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
1.3 mi away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#7 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,578 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Strand
The Strand
#2 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#4 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#11 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
1.6 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Hotel Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hotel Yangon

Property: Savoy Hotel Yangon
Address: 129 Dhammazedi Road, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#3 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#5 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#6 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Savoy Hotel Yangon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Savoy Hotel is a four star colonial boutique hotel committed to personalized and attentive service. It is ideally located in a picturesque area of Yangon overlooking the Shwedagon Pagoda, Myanmar’s “twinkling wonder” and nearby the People’s Park. All 24 deluxe rooms and six suites express the charm of “the old days” with traditional Myanmar antiques, teak furniture and spacious bathrooms. Nicely overshadowed by tall old trees, the large pool with its lounge area makes the Savoy Hotel a silent oasis in the middle of the buzzing city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Savoy Hotel Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Savoy Hotel Yangon Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing