We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely boutique hotel”
Review of Savoy Hotel Yangon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Ranked #2 of 159 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed in The Savoy twice during our trip to Myanmar, once at the start of our holiday and again at the end as Yangon was a good base for getting to other areas in Myanmar.

We had a great stay on both occassions. It's a lovely charming boutique hotel, full of Myanmar colonial charm. I can imagine this is a good alternative to paying the much higher prices to stay at the famous colonial hotel, The Strand. The staff were great and generally helpful, particularly the bellboys who helped us flag taxis to get around the city.

We had a standard "deluxe" room which was really nice (rooms 306 and 307). I loved the colonial style. Great size, comfy bed and clean. Only downsides were the room lighting was a little limited and left the room feeling a bit dark and the shower was unexpectantly really weak for an otherwise near perfect room.

Internet access was superb in both our room and communal areas which is a major plus in Myanmar. The breakfast buffet was nice and there was a great pool area which we had the pleausre of using during the day of our last day.

We ate once for dinner at the hotel restaurant (Kiplings). It was ok but overpriced. I'd recommend the place across the road for a convenient bite to eat (Friendship restaurant) which had great food.

Location-wise, I got the impression it wasn't as convenient as the big hotels which were downtown (e.g. Traders/Shangri-La) so it took a bit of an effort getting taxis to places when we weren't with our guide but if you can overlook this, overall, we had a great stay at The Savoy. We didn't hesitate going back to The Savoy for our second stay. A lovely boutique hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uniteam, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Yangon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear WYC,

Greetings from the Savoy Hotel Yangon!

Thank you for your kind comments, we value your feedback. We are currently upgrading the lighting in the bedrooms. The power in the shower is an issue already addressed and repaired.

We thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Alex Ruether
General Manager
Savoy Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (956)
There are newer reviews for Savoy Hotel Yangon
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

529 - 535 of 956 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2013

Stayed for one night 12 November old style colonial hotel with ok pool on busy crossroads but didn't stop us sleeping, showers could do with a refurb as base filled up due to poor drainage.
Staff very good and happy to help. Had to leave early so hotel made a pack breakfast ok. Walking distance to the main Pagoda

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnharp53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uniteam, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Yangon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Johnharp53,

Greetings from the Savoy Hotel Yangon!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for bringing up the issue with the drainage. We have looked into the matter and resolved it.

We hope to welcome you back to the Savoy in the near future.

Best Regards,

Alex Ruether
General Manager
Savoy Hotel Yangon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We arrived very late at night but the staff was fresh and gave us a quick check in. When going to my room I was amazed at the beautiful antiques and the beauty of the staircase (be aware no elevator).
The room was large and nicely decorated.
The staff always makes a place special and the staff here is top quality.
I had no complaints and would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank threeqs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uniteam, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Yangon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear threeqs,

Mingalarbar from the Golden Land!

Thank you for your wonderful comment; we are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Alex Ruether
General Manager
Savoy Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Unfortunately, we were in between travels, and could only stay one night in this gracious hotel in an old, well preserved British colonial building. Reception, accommodation and breakfast were superb. Polished timber everywhere was a delight to behold, the only downside being that there was no lift. However, the walls lining the staircases featured exciting, modern paintings of Myanmar life that so impressed that we took photos of several. Friendly and efficient staff ensured our brief stay was of the highest order. We would have liked to have stayed at least one more night, if only to wallow in the small, but inviting, pool!

Room Tip: Rooms on a lower floor would save tramping up and down the stairs.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank howleroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uniteam, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Yangon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear howleroo,

Greetings from the Golden Land!

Thank you for writing up such a wonderful review, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Alex Ruether
General Manager
Savoy Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We arrived in pouring rain on the first night of our holiday for a 3 night stay. From the moment we walked through the door we were warmly welcomed into this lovely old colonial building. Our room was spacious and from the small balcony we could see the golden Shwedagon Pagoda. The only negative with the room was the incredibly dirty windows! It is on quite a busy intersection but you can't hear the noise inside.

We ate in the bar the first night which was relaxing and had one lovely meal by the pool.

It is easy to exchange money at the desk and the rate was the same as the market and a lot easier.

Taxis are readily available and it costs $2 for most trips.

I would recommend it to all my friends.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foxy042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uniteam, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Yangon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Foxy042,

Greetings from the Savoy Hotel Yangon!

Thank you for your kind review and we apologize for the windows not being clean, however, with the traffic in Yangon and the endless rain during the monsoon; it is quite a task to keep the road side windows clean, however, we will look into a solution; thank you for bringing this matter to our attention.

Also, thank you for your kind words and it is very motivating for our team to get such wonderful feedback.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Best Regards,

Alex Ruether
General Manager
Savoy Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We spent the last night of our holiday here and thought we would push the boat out as it was a special birthday. I had made the Savoy aware of this special birthday and they pulled out all the stops to make it memorable with flowers and cake. It was great.

The bitter side was that the rooms were musky and not as equipped as the other cheaper hotels we had stayed at through our holiday ( we stayed in 6 hotels in total in Myanmar).

We had dinner in the main restaurant where there is outside balcony dining set up for couples. We requested 2 tables be put together as we were a group of 4 but the new French chef told the staff that the outside area was couples only. No explanation as to the thought process was shared with us.

We ate inside and I have to be honest, the food was great but on the expensive side.

In the end I felt that they were pushing the Savoy "reputation" so was a little let down.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uniteam, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Yangon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Alex K,

Greetings from the Savoy Hotel Yangon!

thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We are delighted to hear that you had a great birthday celebration and we apologize that the room was not up to par. We will be looking into the situation and ensure it will not happen again.

As for the dinner reservation, the terrace is on the smaller side and so if we place tables together it makes it very difficult for the service team to pass around the tables. We are aware of this and are looking into a solution.

Once again thank you for bringing the matters to our attention and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards
Alex Ruether
General Manager
Savoy Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed at the hotel only one night right at the very beginning of our trip to Myanmar.Wish we could have stayed longer .we received very warm welcome top class hospitality fantastic dinner .the rooms were large and sheets crisp clean staff veryfriendly and helpful colonial atmosphere gives you a very good feeling.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank firat t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uniteam, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Yangon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear firat t,

Mingalarbar from the Golden Land!

Thank you for taking the time to write up a review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Alex Ruether
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
1.3 mi away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,367 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
2,687 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Strand
The Strand
#3 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
#10 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
335 reviews
1.6 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,529 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
#16 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Hotel Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hotel Yangon

Address: 129 Dhammazedi Road, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#2 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#5 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#6 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: £115 - £309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Savoy Hotel Yangon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Savoy Hotel is a four star colonial boutique hotel committed to personalized and attentive service. It is ideally located in a picturesque area of Yangon overlooking the Shwedagon Pagoda, Myanmar’s “twinkling wonder” and nearby the People’s Park. All 24 deluxe rooms and six suites express the charm of “the old days” with traditional Myanmar antiques, teak furniture and spacious bathrooms. Nicely overshadowed by tall old trees, the large pool with its lounge area makes the Savoy Hotel a silent oasis in the middle of the buzzing city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Savoy Hotel Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Savoy Hotel Yangon Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing