We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful, welcoming hotel ”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Savoy Hotel Yangon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Ranked #3 of 150 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Wytham, Oxford
Level Contributor
103 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Wonderful, welcoming hotel ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

Contrary to what some of the reviewers here have said, we had an excellent stay at the Savoy. On arrival we were greeted in very courteous English and with huge Myanmar smiles, and this level of friendliness continued throughout our stay, from all staff. Service couldn't have been better.

The hotel is a short taxi ride from downtown (£2 / $3) but this was fine. It is also very close to the stunning Shwedagon Temple. The place is extremely well maintained and very clean. We ate at the restaurant on our first night: delicious. Breakfast buffet also very good.

This was an excellent introduction to Myanmar (our first stop) and we look forward to 1 night on our way back home.


Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wytham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-SHY, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Yangon, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Wytham,

Mingalabar from the Golden Land!

We are delighted to hear of your enjoyable stay and thank you for taking the time to write a review about it.

At the Savoy we make it our top priority to ensure that our guests are happy and experience a tailor made stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,

Alex Ruether
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    539
    263
    68
    15
    17
See reviews for
120
483
69
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

I would recommend the Savoy Hotel. The style of the house is colonial palace. The room are very spacious, well decorated with dark wooden floor, comfortable (silentious air conditioning, comfy beds) and perfect clean. The location is close to the great pagoda and about 30mn from airport. Breakfast is OK but nothing special. Service is OK too, actually pretty good. Price are much cheaper than grosvenor residence..

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CyrilleFabre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-SHY, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Yangon, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear CyrilleFabre,

Greetings from the Savoy Hotel Yangon!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us; we are delighted you enjoyed your time with us.

We have taken on board your comments regarding the OK breakfast and service;please feel free to elaborate and give us any suggestions, we value any feedback and naturally have ever on going trainings to keep standards where they are.

Please feel free to contact me on: generalmanager@savoyhotel-yangon.com any time with your suggestions.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Alex Ruether
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Grove, California
Level Contributor
404 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

Set in a tasteful, thoughtful conversion of an old colonial building, the Savoy Hotel offers the traveller a sense of how things might have been when Rangoon was the pearl of Southeast Asia. The excellent decor, food and amenities were the best on our 3+ week trip. The location is convenient to shopping and sightseeing, and staff are friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about both. Our room was large, well-appointed and very clean. Bottom line: we find it hard to fault this hotel and its staff. It and they were outstanding.

Room Tip: You might want to ask to be on the back of the hotel, since it sits on a busy, downtown corner, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuNanS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-SHY, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Yangon, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear RuNanS,

Greetings from the Savoy Hotel Yangon!

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us whilst in Yangon.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future here at the Savoy Hotel Yangon.

Best Regards,

Alex Ruether
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

We stayed here for three nights in a deluxe room facing the pool. Payed approx 250 USD, booked early so less than the 315 USD listed. We loved the colonial atmosphere of this place with teak floors, old furniture and lots of old antiques on display. Our room was large, clean and comfortable. The electricity was a bit odd though, there is a main switch that turns off everything. It made it difficult to go to the bathroom during the night without waking up your room mate! No disturbance from the busy streets outside. The pool was really nice, the best we had in Myanmar.

Transport to downtown and sights is necessary, but it's easy to get a taxi. Some drivers didn't understand where we wanted to go though, so we had to ask several. There is a bank on the Dammazedi road, 5 min walk, where we successfully used the ATM.

Breakfast is served as a buffet with plenty of choices, very good. We didn't try the retaurant for dinner, we prefer local food, so we walked to Sabai (Thai) and Little Tokyo (10 min) and House of Memories (Myanmar) (15 min), all good.

I would have given this place a higher rate if the staff had been less tired. In particular the reception staff seemed not very interested in helping. I must also mention the pick up at the airport arranged by the hotel, a mistake. It was 35 USD, which is a rip-off (even if the car was really nice with AC). We took a taxi to the airport when we left, it was 4000 kyat = 4 USD!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trallalao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Upon our arrival at the Savoy Hotel in Yangon we were surprised to find nobody there to take our luggage. We proceeded to reception and requested that somebody could bring our suitcases in, which after a telephone call, they did. Reading through the hotel literature in the bedroom we noticed that there was a "happy hour". A call was made to reception to enquire when this took place. We do not have a happy hour was the answer - but you have the information in the room - we stopped the happy hour - well why have the information in the room was our reply. Hold on and I will speak to the manager, I held on and on and on........... The line was dead! About five minutes later there was a knock at the door. Why when our do not disturb sign was displayed on the outside of the door? We opened the door and the customer relations manager (!) introduced herself and asked for sight of the document that we were quoting. She took it and said that happy hour had stopped three months ago!

So, within the space of about an hour things were not looking good.

As we were not shown to the room and told about the features of the room, on waking at 1.00am for a "visit" and trying to turn the loo light on there was nothing. Pitch black. Scrabbling around in the dark waking others up was not a thing to do so dangerously tried to find the way around. We discovered in the morning that the light by the bed turned off the power in the room. Had we known we would have used another light switch.

A pity. All other hotels in Burma we stayed in were excellent. This one let us down badly. Try the Traders v good in Yangon the buffet dinners are superb hotel excellent very different service and attitude.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jt1977ktat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-SHY, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Yangon, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Jt1977ktat,

Greetings from the Savoy Hotel Yangon!

We are saddened that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Nonetheless, we thank you for your honest feedback and we shall be looking in to the aforementioned issues.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.


Best Regards,
Alex Ruether
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed there for two nights in November. The hotel is a little bit outside the centre of Yangon and also on the corner of a busy road, but neither of these aspects was an issue. The rooms are large and airy and well insulated. Room facilities are fine. The pool area is nicely laid out and it was good to relax there after a sweaty day's sightseeing.
We thought the food and beverage offering to be quite good and compared to equivalent hotels we stayed at elsewhere in Myanmar, prices where generally lower.
Staff were helpful and friendly and, yes, we would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Threeblondesandboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uniteam, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Yangon, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear threeblondsandboss,

Greetings from the Savoy Hotel Yangon!

Thank you for the kind words, we are delighted to hear that your stay with us was a pleasant one and that you had the chance to relax by our pool, our little oasis in the city!

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Alex Ruether
General Manager
Savoy Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Perfect hotel, tucked away from the pot holes and mad traffic of Yangon.
An old merchants house, which has kept the wide,polished floorboards and spacious corridors. Comfortable, cool rooms.
There is a small swimming pool at the centre of the hotel, with a few trees around it- perfect tranquillity in the tropical heat.
The staff are all charming and unfailingly helpful. The food is excellent.
Thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank victoria17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uniteam, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Yangon, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear victoria17,

Greetings from the Savoy Hotel Yangon!

Thank you for your kind comments and for taking the time to write about your stay. We are always happy to hear our guests have enjoyed their stay with us and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Alex Ruether
General Manager,
Savoy Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
1.3 mi away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,557 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Strand
The Strand
#2 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#4 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#5 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
1.6 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#9 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Hotel Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hotel Yangon

Property: Savoy Hotel Yangon
Address: 129 Dhammazedi Road, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#3 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#5 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#6 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Savoy Hotel Yangon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Savoy Hotel is a four star colonial boutique hotel committed to personalized and attentive service. It is ideally located in a picturesque area of Yangon overlooking the Shwedagon Pagoda, Myanmar’s “twinkling wonder” and nearby the People’s Park. All 24 deluxe rooms and six suites express the charm of “the old days” with traditional Myanmar antiques, teak furniture and spacious bathrooms. Nicely overshadowed by tall old trees, the large pool with its lounge area makes the Savoy Hotel a silent oasis in the middle of the buzzing city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Savoy Hotel Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Savoy Hotel Yangon Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing