We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neither here nor there”
Review of Savoy Hotel Yangon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Ranked #2 of 159 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2014

This is a pretty place with charm, but not quite a 'boutique' (too large, too old) and definitely not 5-star. The location is within walking distance of Shwaddegon Pagoda but otherwise uninteresting and the intersection is fairly noisy. The breakfast buffet is not bad but the restaurants are extremely overpriced. The staff is friendly, but not always knowledgeable. I was infuriated by the fact that the management refused to help me out with a room cancelation made a few hours after the 7 days advance deadline, despite the fact that I still stayed in the hotel for 1 night and despite the fact that the hotel was completely sold out. They blamed Agoda; Agoda blamed the hotel. At 30% of the price I paid I'd be quite happy, but I would advise the Chatrium, which is not as charming but far more comfortable and better service, plus considerably less expensive.

Room Tip: Many rooms can be noisy if they front on the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zlisbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (966)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

507 - 513 of 966 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2014

This is a really charming hotel - we stayed here on our first two nights in Myanmar on our way to Lake Inle. It is a surprising little oasis that you notice suddenly when you dive out of the chaos that is Yangon traffic. It is effectively a walled 'colonialish' house built around a central pool. It is small you could say boutique. Lovely timber floors throughout and antiques and items of interest make up the decor theme. You are struck by the service the moment you arrive - they are lovely and could not be more accommodating, they seem genuinely concerned that you are happy. Like most of Myanmar, the staff at the Savoy clearly have a fixation with Christmas decorations and we were greeted by Santa and his sleigh on the front landing. Just another example of Burmese kindness to humour the foreign tourists!

We had two rooms, a deluxe and a suite. Originally these were both on the ground floor facing the pool - not terrific as you have no privacy if you open your French doors onto the pool. Also the suite on the ground floor was a little musty and dark. We were moved with some difficulty to a suite on the 1st floor and it was infinitely better. The suites have marvellous bathrooms with a roll top bath and shower, a guest bathroom, a small kitchen with very good tea/coffee making facilities and a fresh shortbread, a homey colonial feel with gorgeous timber floors and comfy planters chairs to lounge in and take in the view through the French doors. Be aware this is a very small hotel and in the peak season they are full so moving rooms if you are unhappy is difficult, despite the best efforts of the staff to be responsive. Other guests we spoke to who were not on the pool wing complained of traffic noise - our rooms where very quiet and very attractive. There is no lift in the hotel so if stairs are an issue you may however need to specify the ground floor.

The pool area is very pleasant with beautiful boganvillia growing over the walls in a riot of colour. The hotel is in an older neighbourhood and the surrounding buildings which you can see from the breakfast area verandah are interesting. The restaurant 'Kiplings' [rather a lot of restaurants called Kiplings in Myanmar] has a view of Shwedagon and you need to ask for a table with that view. The food was fabulous- no other way of describing it - we ate both nights at the hotel at Kiplings because the Burmese fusion food they produced was outstanding. Breakfast was a buffet with the usual trimmings and a wide range of local and Western options and lovely being able to sit outside on the verandah. All up I thought this is a great little hotel and worth the money. It does not have the grandness of some others but has a charm all its own and is of a very high standard for the floors, food and service alone!

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor facing the pool are restful and very charming
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maggs07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

The Savoy hotel in Yangon is a colonial ("old school") old style decorated hotel. Very pleasant to stay. Comfortable and specious rooms with all amenities and more. very nice dark wood setting and most comfortable, large windows overlooking the inner yard with a nice swimming pooll. Lovely public halls, bar and restaurant. Very nice service. Most pleasant to stay. We enjoyed it immensely.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zeev G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Great hotel in good location. Old colonial style house. Lovely pool area. Room was large and looked over the pool. Quiet. Staff were excellent and food good. Lovely breakfast area and balcony. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room overlooking the pool was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MHS11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

The Savoy was not my first choice, but since the other property was fully booked for my 2nd visit to Yangon, accepted the proposal from my agent to stay there, and I did not regret it!
A beautiful and well restaured colonial hotel, in the center of the city. Did not eat at their restaurant but had a beer (very affordable prices) at their bar.
The swimming pool is small but charming.
Our room (suite 210) was large and very quiet.
Service was attentive, only small remark : have sent a question a few days ago to their guest relation assistant after my departure and have still not received an answer. But this does not deter the quality of my stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelmontreux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Before I elaborate on our stay at The Savoy, it's important to know that you should lower your expectations significantly--chances are, you will not be getting the level of service and room that you would with the same price in a "normal" country. After all, Myanmar is in great shortage of real modern hotels while number of inbound tourists increase as the day goes by. That is going to be the case before international chains like Shangri-La opens up at around 2016/17.

To begin, this German-run boutique hotel has nothing to do with the famed Savoy in London. The hotel is conveniently located not far from the Shwedagon Pagoda (roughly 15-20 minutes walk) in the embassy district. It has a relatively more modern/western vibe than the old downtown part, but we did not explore.

The room was spacious (we got a standard one; think it's called "deluxe") with all necessary furnishing. To my surprise, they even got a flat screen TV. The bathroom was decorated with style but not luxurious--the shower was a bit mediocre. For those of you who like teak wood, yes, the room had teak wood floor.

The staff was overall attentive and helpful, but again, you can't really expect Myanmar service to be on par with what you would get in more developed countries. They tried their best, and you just need to have a little bit of patience.

Breakfast got variety (not a feast) and was very fresh. We liked both sitting outside and dining inside looking out to the Shwedagon out of the window. We did not try the restaurant nor the bar.

We liked this boutique hotel for its basic yet quaint feel and all the thoughts they'd put into the decorations and design--the paintings, the sculptures and all. We looked into the souvenir shop but decided not to buy anything as Yangon was our first stop, but only to realize later that the stuff we saw in there was actually of the best quality we came across on the whole trip.

In sum, this is a nice hotel and probably one of your best bets in Yangon. And no, as much as a night costs here, you should not expect it to be of luxury/boutique standard in the West or other Southeast Asian countries. Myanmar simply is not there; hotels are by and large expensive and not value for money. That said, I will recommend this place to other folks visiting Yangon, and I myself am very likely to stay there if I went again.

PS: Just in case you can't accept the fact that you're paying luxury price and not getting what you know as "luxury" in your home country, you might wanna take a look at Governor's Residence and The Strand. We did not stay at either as both were fully booked. Governor's looked good but the price was even better (US$600+/night during Christmas), while The Strand seemed to have everything it takes to be called luxury but receive very mixed reviews (perhaps due to old decor?).

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Schwarzerstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-SHY, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Yangon, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Dear Iain D,

Greetings from the Savoy Hotel Yangon and thank you for your comments.

Indeed, Myanmar is with regards to neighboring countries, far behind in terms of service standards as well as many other aspects which one may find. Nevertheless the charm is unending.

The Savoy, correctly stated is not part of the Savoy London, is a boutique hotel and we take great pride in doing our best to offer our guests a memorable stay. The challenges are great, which any hotel manager will affirm but the challenge is also what makes it a truly sensational experience.

As the country is now opening up, we have a great deal more opportunities to upgrade our amenities which we are doing on a constant basis and will continue to do so.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future so that we may showcase our upgrades to you and offer you another great stay!

Best Regards,

Alex Ruether
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed staying at The Savoy. It had quite an intimate and tranquil feel about it. The staff were very friendly and helpful but unobtrusive. Our room was large and cool. True the toiletries were in glass bottles by the wash-hand basin, which we thought a bit daft, so we just used our own. The breakfast was fine - not fantastic but perfectly good enough - and the staff asked us if we wanted any eggs. They also made a nice breakfast box for our early flights. We stayed one night at then end of our stay so we were able to leave some of our belongings in their left luggage whilst we went travelling around

Room Tip: Better to get the top floor. The suites are very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-SHY, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Yangon, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Dear Christopher G,

Mingalabar from the Golden Land!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review; we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

With regards to your comment about the glass toiletries bottles; we are happy to inform you that we will be upgrading our amenities soonest and will be using plastic bottles inn light of safety issues and ease of use.

thank you once again and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Alex Ruether

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
1.3 mi away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,377 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
2,708 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Strand
The Strand
#3 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
#10 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
344 reviews
1.6 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,539 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
#16 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Hotel Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hotel Yangon

Address: 129 Dhammazedi Road, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#2 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#5 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#6 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: £169 - £320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Savoy Hotel Yangon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Savoy Hotel is a four star colonial boutique hotel committed to personalized and attentive service. It is ideally located in a picturesque area of Yangon overlooking the Shwedagon Pagoda, Myanmar’s “twinkling wonder” and nearby the People’s Park. All 24 deluxe rooms and six suites express the charm of “the old days” with traditional Myanmar antiques, teak furniture and spacious bathrooms. Nicely overshadowed by tall old trees, the large pool with its lounge area makes the Savoy Hotel a silent oasis in the middle of the buzzing city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Savoy Hotel Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Savoy Hotel Yangon Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing