We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A sophisticated hotel in the colonial style.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Savoy Hotel Yangon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Ranked #3 of 150 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A sophisticated hotel in the colonial style.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

This is a lovely hotel which is a great place to start a holiday in Myanmar. The public areas are beautiful and the staff are friendly and efficient. When we returned for our outward stay it was like coming home! We only visited the Asian restaurant but both meals were excellent as was the breakfast taken on the terrace.
The rooms near the road can be noisy but the ones near the pool are perfect.
A great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veraanncottrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    539
    263
    68
    15
    17
See reviews for
120
483
69
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
tunbridge wells uk
Level Contributor
118 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We had a 3 night stay at the Savoy before moving on to Inle Lake. The hotel was a quiet haven in the middle of a city of very congested and noisy streets. It has a great 'old world colonial' charm with wooden floors, walls and ceilings and antique fittings everywhere. Reception was a little disorganised at times but we had a good welcome and our room was very large and tastefully decorated. We asked for a quiet room and looked out over the pool which was very peaceful although if one wanted an early night, noise from the tables around the pool could be annoying. Our room was upstairs but there is no lift and a double flight of stairs (not too steep) so you have to be reasonably fit to make it to your room.
We ate every night in the hotel and had excellent food prepared by the French chef. It may have been expensive in relation to Myanmar prices but we could not face getting a taxi and going out again after a hard day's sightseeing.
The breakfast offering was very comprehensive although the conservatory room by the food soon filled up, but there were plenty of other places,including outside,to enjoy it.

Room Tip: Upstairs overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mungoandmaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

I had doubts about there being much luxury in Myanmar, but was proven wrong in a big way! The Savoy, while not cheap, was excellent value and such a beautiful place to stay! A big old colonial building in a central part of town, a great restaurant and some amazing staff made for a very enjoyable stay. Everything about the Savoy was great. The room was spacious & well fitted out, the wooden floors & old style decor gave the place a fantastic air of grandeur. The pool area is so relaxing, and the restaurant/bar was very good. I have to reiterate just how good the service was - we traveled with our baby & the staff went well out of their way to make everything as comfortable as possible for all of us, especially the waitstaff in the restaurant at breakfast & dinner time.


If/when I come back to Yangon, the first place I'll come back to will be the Savoy!

Room Tip: Beware the stairs - there are no lifts. Those with less-than-perfect knees should get a room on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

This was my first visit to Yangon/Myanmar. The visit exceeded my expectations particularly because of my stay at this hotel. It is a beautiful colonial style, I almost expected to see Mr. Maugham's ghost in the corridor!
The staff were wonderful - so helpful and efficient. The food was also very good - the French chef makes the world's finest pizza. I will be back!

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Our third visit to the savoy. It's a lovely tranquil place when you hit the ground after a long flight, the staff are excellent and can't do enough for you, most importantly you are always greeted with a smile. One small gripe this time was the fact that there is only about 10 sun beds by the pool so in the afternoon as people return there is little chance of finding one free. This is made worse as walk ins can pay to use the pool area.
The location is perfect for us with some nice restaurants nearby, walking distance to Shwedagon and a short cab ride from the downtown area with Scott's market and 19th street.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andantrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Amazing hotel experience in Yangon. We loved everything from the authentic colonial feeling to the room and the pool. Breakfast area & restaurant really great, bar is full of "local expats" and service is top-notch. It has a a feeling of being in Yangon 100 years ago instead of today, but being so at 5-star level.

We travel with small children and we really enjoyed the hotel and spent a whole afternoon swimming & relaxing around the small pool. This is perhaps the best city / boutique hotel my family and I have stayed at anywhere in the world.

Room Tip: If you can get to face the pool, that would be optimal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sune-DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aix en Provence
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel at the beginning and end of our stay in Myanmar and can thoroughly recommend it. Do ask for a room on the pool side of the hotel as these rooms are very quiet.The rooms are very spacious and very comfortable. The staff were very attentive. Breakfast was great. We did eat in the Captains restaurant. We went in and it seemed a little noisy, sport bar setting! However the waitress offered us a table by the pool This was a fantastic location and the food was excellent, as was the wine….. both surprisingly at very reasonable prices.

Room Tip: Ask for a poolside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg44AixenProvence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
1.3 mi away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,557 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Strand
The Strand
#2 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#4 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#5 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
1.6 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#9 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Hotel Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hotel Yangon

Property: Savoy Hotel Yangon
Address: 129 Dhammazedi Road, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#3 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#5 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#6 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Savoy Hotel Yangon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Savoy Hotel is a four star colonial boutique hotel committed to personalized and attentive service. It is ideally located in a picturesque area of Yangon overlooking the Shwedagon Pagoda, Myanmar’s “twinkling wonder” and nearby the People’s Park. All 24 deluxe rooms and six suites express the charm of “the old days” with traditional Myanmar antiques, teak furniture and spacious bathrooms. Nicely overshadowed by tall old trees, the large pool with its lounge area makes the Savoy Hotel a silent oasis in the middle of the buzzing city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Savoy Hotel Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Savoy Hotel Yangon Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing