We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, great pool, great humidor” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Savoy Hotel Yangon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Ranked #2 of 147 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Davao
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food, great pool, great humidor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

It was a lovely stay in the low season. The hotel was quiet and we had all attention from the staff. I loved the frog legs and the cote de boef - beef rib by the poolside. The hotel also a humidor where by boyfriend found his favorite cigars from the Caribbean. The bar is quaint and suite had was huge in size, all in teak.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GinaReyesGonzales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    526
    260
    68
    15
    16
See reviews for
114
473
69
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Located by the pool. Simple menu with selected choice of a total of 20 dishes to chose from. French, of course.
It was raining like hell that day and very few clients were having lunch at the restaurant.
Business lunch. 4 people. 2 French and 2 locals.
We touch the promising 'bouillabaisse from Marseille". A disaster. Hot water basically. we both just ate the bread without taking the soup. We zish the chef, if any, had come to ask up what we thought to tell him something was wrong.
Both our local invitees had main dishes that looked far more appealing. Chicken cordon bleu was gigantic and looked really good with plenty of fried potatoes to go along.
The other got mussels and French fries. she finished it all.
After the soup, I headed for dessert but the chocolate mousse was very disappointed.
Again, by seeing the dish come back almost untouched to the kitchen, the chef should have wondered something was wrong.
Others took the tart tatin and seemed very happy with it.
I surely not my lucky day...I even got to take the check!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

After we traveled 2 weeks through Myanmar we arrived for our last night in Yangon before heading back the next day.
We were already full of sooo wonderful pictures, experiences but we couldn't get enough from this country and from Yangon.
So we had several things on our list what we still wanted to see. But arrived at the hotel - we indulged in the SAVOY.
It was just wonderful!!!

Room Tip: We had a suite ground floor - so nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkcallalily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
163 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

What a beautiful Hotel! We didn't stay here because we were at the Traders Hotel [now known as the Sule Shangri La, Yangon] but we did enjoy a sensational meal in one of the dining rooms here. The A/C was working a treat and we were grateful after enduring another day of 40 degrees and inhospitable humidity. The staff were friendly, attentive and the food was superb. Plenty of wines from around the world to choose from as well as the locals brews and wines and fresh, flavorsome dishes. Very enjoyable meal and a very attractive Hotel. The pool area looks stunning!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simonsays3042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
87 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

I have been working in Myanmar for several months and decided to treat myself to a stay in the Savoy on my last night. Excellent rooms, beautiful comfortable beds, and lovely restaurants. The travelers who complain about WiFi must understand that it is slow and unreliable throughout the whole city. The internet in the Savoy was quite good if you compare it to other places in the country. If you want fast internet, go to Bangkok. The staff were lovely and welcoming and the lounge for breakfast was a nice treat. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my 85 year old grandma for our last 2 nights of our Myanmar trip in 2013. We previously stayed at the Strand at the start of our trip! We had 2 separate corner suites in the hotel... She was on ground level which was great as she has trouble walking upstairs and there is no lift and I was on the level above! Rooms were great clean, comfortable and large! The pool was very very crowded when we got there- I would have loved to go for a swim when I got there but was put off by the fact that there were no lounges available and it seemed very squished and full! The breakfast buffet wasn't the best- lunch was nice but the dining room/ restaurant is up very steep stairs and with no lift in the hotel it did cause some grief for my grandma but we managed. We booked high tea for 4pm on our last day as a nice farewell treat however it took a very very long time for our food to come out- maybe almost an hour... I thought they had forgotten about us and seeing we had booked well in advance I don't see why this happened as they had more than enough time to prepare! The actual food was nice but I wouldn't have had it knowing we would have to wait that long sitting in the outside heat.. It was nice overlooking the pool though! Had a lovely foot massage before my flight- spa is nice but in one small room and very simple so if you're looking for a luxurious spa maybe pick another hotel! Apart from those small things I really did enjoy my stay there- lovely service and rooms which is the main thing and in a good location close to good restaurants! Maybe they could reconfigure the pool space as there is not much room! Would stay again!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Estock17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

We loved the colonial feel of this hotel, with the wooden floors and stair case. The location is great, within walking distance from the Shwedagon Pagoda, and the Thai restaurant across the road from the hotel was great. However, the wifi connection was unstable and it was always on and off which was annoying. Probably due to the same connection problems, we were not able to pay for our bill upon check-out with our credit card, luckily we had enough cash as we needed to get to the airport. We saw a couple getting very frustrated the day before not being able to pay with credit card so you may need to bring cash just in case. The breakfast buffet had rather limited options and the food was just OK. I guess for the amount of money we paid I had expected a better breakfast selection since we paid less for a beautiful hotel in Bagan which was far superior in all respects. I had a foot massage at the spa and it was so-so, I would not recommend it. I would probably not choose to stay there again for the price we paid.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
1.3 mi away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#5 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,524 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Strand
The Strand
#3 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#4 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
1.6 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#7 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Hotel Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hotel Yangon

Property: Savoy Hotel Yangon
Address: 129 Dhammazedi Road, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#2 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#5 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#6 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Savoy Hotel Yangon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Savoy Hotel is a four star colonial boutique hotel committed to personalized and attentive service. It is ideally located in a picturesque area of Yangon overlooking the Shwedagon Pagoda, Myanmar’s “twinkling wonder” and nearby the People’s Park. All 24 deluxe rooms and six suites express the charm of “the old days” with traditional Myanmar antiques, teak furniture and spacious bathrooms. Nicely overshadowed by tall old trees, the large pool with its lounge area makes the Savoy Hotel a silent oasis in the middle of the buzzing city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Savoy Hotel Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Savoy Hotel Yangon Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing