We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous colonial mansion ”
Review of Savoy Hotel Yangon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Ranked #3 of 155 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Gorgeous colonial mansion ”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Love this hotel! Teak flooring antiques, beautiful room, service with a very big smile. Feels like staying in an era long ago! Free wifi, which amazed me by working! Several eating places nearby, hotel prices were high. Breakfast good choice and delicious too.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chitchat78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-SHY, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Yangon, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear chitchat78,

Greetings from the Savoy Hotel Yangon!

Thank you for writing up about your stay and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Alex Ruether
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    570
    276
    70
    15
    17
See reviews for
129
499
73
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This was our last hotel of our trip. We had stayed in the Strand on arrival and we loved both of these hotels for their different individual qualities. It's further out of town, and so closer to the airport, but still in a great spot to get to all sights easily. The rooms are the epitome of subdued elegance and have interconnecting for the children. The hotel generally is very well done interior wise and has a wonderful ambiance about it. Lovely swimming pool too. Had a drink in the bar and only downside was the very loud music which overwhelmed the small room. Difficult to hear each other!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-SHY, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Yangon, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Nicola L,

Greetings from the Savoy Hotel Yangon!

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, we greatly appreciate it. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed our services.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Best Regards,

Alex Ruether
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macau, China
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This hotel is one of a kind. Absolutely Sublime!

The Savoy airport representative met me at the airport and escorted me to the waiting car. When I arrived at the hotel I was blown away by the interior decor and most importantly the level of service.

The room I had was very comfortable and cosy. It was raining so I spent the whole day in the hotel just looking at the many artifacts on display. The bar is very good and I enjoyed my dinner at Kipling's.

Walking distance to Mojo Bar and Shwe Dagon Pagoda.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank syawaldaing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-SHY, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Yangon, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear syawaldaing,

Greetings from the Savoy Hotel Yangon!

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your lovely comments.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Alex Ruether
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We booked an executive suite by the pool and loved it. We had to negotiate the price as we were offered a regular room and extra bed for which they wanted an exorbitant fee. The suite was offered instead, and it accommodated us and our daughter perfectly. The sitting area had its own flat screen t.v as did the separate bedroom. The bathroom was marble tiled with a beautiful claw foot tub as well as a shower; it had a nice dressing table and all the toiletries and amenities expected.
There was a hallway with a separate toilet and what looked to be a butler type pantry with coffee and tea facilities. The teak wood and the rattan furniture and potted plants were reminiscent of a bygone era. The fruit basket and water were refreshed daily and the turndown service was superb.
We enjoyed the daily breakfast buffet which was not as extensive as some of the over the top buffets we received in Bangkok, but the food was delicious. There was a choice of western as well as Asian food, and we especially liked the crepes and the mini quiches which were not always available. The selection changed daily. The bar at the hotel was delightful and the drinks were reasonably priced. The food at the French restaurant was excellent and the wine selection quite good.
The sidewalks outside the hotel were quite treacherous, especially at night, as there were giant and deep holes everywhere. But the proximity to Sharkeys restaurant was a bonus. We had pizza and wine and gelato there one night, and purchased some mango jam to bring home as gifts.
The hotel booked us a taxi for the day when we expressed a desire to visit Bago and its temples.
The driver was most accommodating and took us everywhere we wanted to go, including a
Mayanmar restaurant in Bago and he took us to the snake temple which was difficult to get to.
We paid 70 dollars for this service. We used the same driver to take us to the airport.
Our stay at the Savoy made our trip to Myanmar a memorable one!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-SHY, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Yangon, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Robert B,

Greetings from the Savoy Hotel Yangon!

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a great experience in this fantastic Country.

We hope you visit us in the near future and look forward to showcasing our upgrades and developments.

Best Regards,

Alex Ruether
General Manager
Savoy Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

A great introduction to this country. A lovely refuge after busy sight-seeing days. Lovely pool, quiet and spacious rooms, smiling staff, good food, and an excellent sleep every night on firm beds and soft pillows.
The Savoy feels like staying at a large private bungalow in the tropics.
Located close by are the some good eating and drinking spots, so if you tire of eating in-house, there is plenty of choice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flipper9593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davao
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

It was a lovely stay in the low season. The hotel was quiet and we had all attention from the staff. I loved the frog legs and the cote de boef - beef rib by the poolside. The hotel also a humidor where by boyfriend found his favorite cigars from the Caribbean. The bar is quaint and suite had was huge in size, all in teak.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GinaReyesGonzales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Located by the pool. Simple menu with selected choice of a total of 20 dishes to chose from. French, of course.
It was raining like hell that day and very few clients were having lunch at the restaurant.
Business lunch. 4 people. 2 French and 2 locals.
We touch the promising 'bouillabaisse from Marseille". A disaster. Hot water basically. we both just ate the bread without taking the soup. We zish the chef, if any, had come to ask up what we thought to tell him something was wrong.
Both our local invitees had main dishes that looked far more appealing. Chicken cordon bleu was gigantic and looked really good with plenty of fried potatoes to go along.
The other got mussels and French fries. she finished it all.
After the soup, I headed for dessert but the chocolate mousse was very disappointed.
Again, by seeing the dish come back almost untouched to the kitchen, the chef should have wondered something was wrong.
Others took the tart tatin and seemed very happy with it.
I surely not my lucky day...I even got to take the check!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
1.3 mi away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,353 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
2,659 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Strand
The Strand
#2 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,510 reviews
1.3 mi away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#4 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
610 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
#15 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Hotel Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hotel Yangon

Property: Savoy Hotel Yangon
Address: 129 Dhammazedi Road, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#3 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#4 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#5 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#6 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Savoy Hotel Yangon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Savoy Hotel is a four star colonial boutique hotel committed to personalized and attentive service. It is ideally located in a picturesque area of Yangon overlooking the Shwedagon Pagoda, Myanmar’s “twinkling wonder” and nearby the People’s Park. All 24 deluxe rooms and six suites express the charm of “the old days” with traditional Myanmar antiques, teak furniture and spacious bathrooms. Nicely overshadowed by tall old trees, the large pool with its lounge area makes the Savoy Hotel a silent oasis in the middle of the buzzing city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Savoy Hotel Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Savoy Hotel Yangon Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing