We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Option in Yangon”
Review of PARKROYAL Yangon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
PARKROYAL Yangon
Ranked #12 of 163 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 January 2012

I usually stay at Traders Hotel but decided this time to check out The ParkRoyal in Yangon which is situated a ten minute walk from the main thoroughfare and only five minutes from the Football Stadium and main railway station.
This is a good hotel, impressive lobby and good sized bedrooms even if a little worn nowadays. The bathroom was fine and functional with usual toiletries, combined bath and shower. My Double room had two double beds, smart polished flooring, old style tv but plenty of channels and amazingly WiFi which was free and worked well.
The breakfasts are good, buffet lunch and dinner were plentiful, there is a small lobby bar and a basement nightclub with terrific live girl band !
Good gym, table tennis room and spa, the outdoor pool was a reasonable size although unfortunately pigeons from the run down apartments opposite tend to us it as a watering hole !
My room on the 4th floor overlooked the pool and throughout the day one could constantly hear music playing, all day and every day, possibly from an outlet on the main road. However, the staff are efficient and charming and I would definitely use this hotel again.
I have been visiting Myanmar since 2006 and the changes are now evident, lots of developments in the city including new pavements (!), WiFi access and posters of The Lady for sale everywhere, the locals with whom I spoke are quietly optimistic for more real progress. Amusingly, last year everyone wanted dollars and yet now they prefer payment in Kyats !

Room Tip: No preference
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PutneySW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

745 - 751 of 1,110 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2012

We were checked in by our local agent, so I don't know how efficiently that was done. Generally, service was very good. Staff were pleasant and efficient. My wife dropped a shawl on the floor and realized only next morning that it was missing. The concierge located it and returned it very promptly with just a couple of formalities to identify the collector.

The room was a fairly standard 4 -5 star one with all services available. Quite acceptable, but not luxurious.

The highlight of this hotel for us was the buffet breakfast and dinner in the Brasserie. One of the most comprehensive and diverse I can think of. Western, Chinese, Burmese, Indian, Japanese, Korean cuisines - all were available. I was sorry we'd gone along with our agent's advice and arranged meals at outside restaurants in the evening. I would have been happier to have had all our meals at the Brasserie. (The hotel has a variety of restaurants, but we didn't visit the others.)

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Krungsri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Just back from two nights at this hotel. Couldnt really fault apart from a tired bathroom. Room was comfortable. Staff are friendly and typical of the Burmese people. Breakfast was excellent and would match any 5 star western hotel for variety and quality. Taxi rank and shopping next door. Market 5 mins away by foot. Most sights approx 3K to 5K kyats which is approx $5-. I did also note that hotel had won a number of awards. The Japanese restaurant offers a buffet which is excellent.

Room Tip: Try the clear noodle soup at breakfast. Excellent and refreshing. Happy hour from 4 to 7pm in lobby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jimmy69Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We stayed at the Park Royal twice on our recent trip and found it to be very pleasant and well worth the money.
Although the rooms are a little worn by western standard they are great for Burma.

The staff are great and very helpful, the breakfast buffet was great and a nice change, a real find here was the syphon coffee made expertly by the male bar tender, its was great, sorry but the girls had no idea.

I would recommend this as great value for money and a great location for the sites, market and general getting around.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 88fivestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Stayed at both Traders and Park Royal during this trip. I personally prefer Park Royal. The two hotels are only 5 minutes by foot away, however Park Royal appears to be in a more "residential" neighbourhood so you see more locals. The decor also looks warmer (but I am sure Traders would also appear different after the current renovation). Aung Mingalar Noodles is literally around the corner so you can have a cheap local meal and watch the world go by if you don't feel like hotel food. Interestingly, the food outlets in this hotel post their prices in kyats instead of dollars at Traders. Not sure what their policy on USD is should you decide to pay for anything in USD.

The TV reception was not good in the room, so the pictures of most channels were slightly "snow-flaked". However I was only there for one night so it was not like I totally lost touch with the outside world without the different TV new channels.

The bed was VERY comfortable.

For internet, walk into the shopping centre literally next door (to the left of the hotel when you exit) and go to the 4th floor for Cyberia. K500 an hour.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zhaobao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We stayed there for 2 nights. It is clean and the staff is very friendly. Certainly the hotel is not a honey moon place - more a business hotel. If you go around the hotel, be aware of the hookers, which try to sell you cheap trips - usually the trips are not that chap and the guy who drives you has an old car and hardly speaks any english!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travelexpert009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

A typical city hotel in Yangon. Rooms are not bad. Room service food was not that great, but breakfast was not bad. The location is not bad but you have to walk about 15mins to get to the centre where Aung Yong Bok San market is. Other hotels like the Traders Hotel is a better location if you prefer to be at the central. For the price we paid (About USD 85 per night) it was good value for money, though.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mayjayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.3 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
2,905 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
#10 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
421 reviews
1.4 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#7 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
375 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sedona Hotel Yangon
Sedona Hotel Yangon
#14 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,149 reviews
3 mi away
Melia Yangon
Melia Yangon
#3 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PARKROYAL Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PARKROYAL Yangon

Address: 33 Alan Pya Phaya Road | Dagon Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11191, Myanmar
Phone Number:
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#6 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#7 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#10 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: £78 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — PARKROYAL Yangon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You're in for an unforgetable experience at PARKROYAL Yangon, one of the best hotels in Myanmar, with superb location that puts you in the heart of the city's prized cultural attractions, including the legendary Shwedagon Pagoda and its heritage sites. Explore Yangon, a charming melting pot of noble cultures, scenic attractions and ancient traditions, from our convenient location. Our helpful associates are pleased to point you towards the best local experiences. Whether you're here for work or leisure, you'll leave with happy memories of dynamic Myanmar hotel that pampers you with its superb hospitatlity and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Pan Pacific Hotels Group, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your PARKROYAL Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkroyal Yangon Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Parkroyal Yangon Rangoon
PARKROYAL Yangon Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing