We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of PARKROYAL Yangon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
PARKROYAL Yangon
Ranked #10 of 147 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“nice hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

2008 & 2010 We booked the hotels during our stay through an agent so I don't know about the price.
The service was excellent. The breakfast offered for both east and west taste, it was very crowded every day and so the service was slow but not bad.
Their buffet in the evening was good value for the money and well stocked.
We used this hotel to get a good bed, bath and relax during several stop over of trips off the beaten tracks.

Room Tip: choose this hotel on the last night so you can buy things next door supermarket to fill the last gap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcplox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    487
    113
    14
    9
See reviews for
63
238
112
418
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

A recent biz trip took me to Myanmar, all my bookings were handled by someone else so I had no option.

The hotel is nice and clean, with good food from a mixture of cultures an very friendly and helpful staff. My room was on the 6th floor and well presented with good furnishings and clean bedding and bath towels. A nice lounge bar with a good 3 hour long happy hour to wind down at the end of the day. There is also a music bar downstairs if you wish to continue later into the night, here they have a live band (quite good at the moment), not sure what time they close.

Only one small complaint, I left my razor at home and the one provided was not so good, but if thats all I have to complain about I'm guessing the hotel is pretty comfortable, although slightly on the expensive side.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank industrial-gypsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at PARKROYAL Yangon, responded to this review, 1 July 2012
Dear Sir / Madam,
Thank you for choosing PARKROYAL Yangon as your preferred residence in Yangon and for recommending us on Tripadvisor.
We receive several positive comments on the service provided by our associates, I am pleased to note you enjoyed your stay with us. PARKROYAL provides modern comfort for which we ensure continuous upkeep of all areas of the Hotel with regular preventive maintenance. The Lobby Bar was renovated last year, it offers a wide variety of cocktails, mock tails, monthly special promotions, snack menu and an afternoon Hi Tea. It is a popular venue for business entertainment as well to unwind after a long day. The Music Club is a unique club, one of its kind in the city, operates from 7 pm until about midnight.
We have taken note of your comment on the quality of razor provided in the room and are reviewing it.
Thank you again, I look forward to your next visit, please be so kind to drop me a note along with any preferences we should take note
Kind regards
Ram Nurani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town RSA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

The Park Royal is about a 20minute ride from the airport and is nicely situated in downtown Yangon. The railway station is a 3 minute walk across the road and Bogyoke Market (Scots Market) is also just a short walk away. The walk to Shwedagon Paya is about 20mins but could take much longer as there are some interesting stops along the way!

Reception and check in were fairly smooth and the reception area is very busy with lots of businessmen who are obviously the hotels main clientele. The rooms are comfortable and clean with flat screen tv's, comfy beds, bathroom with bath/showers and safe deposit boxes in the rooms. There are room renovations taking place currently but these are unobtrusive. The free wifi is also a great bonus.

Breakfast is quite a feast with many local and western choices available. Try the Ohn Noh Khauk Swea (coconut noodle soup with chicken) - it is absolutely delicious!

Ultimately what makes this hotel great however are the frontline staff. The concierge and others helping out in front cannot do enough for you. Nothing is impossible and every request is met with a smile. We stayed here on 2 different occasions and made many varied requests to these guys & nothing was too much of a problem for them. Especially helpful were the concierge Min Thu Ya as well as Than Zaw Ag and Thet Ng Soe.

All in all the Park Royal is a good place to spend your time in Yangon.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelmaniacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at PARKROYAL Yangon, responded to this review, 1 July 2012
Dear Sir / Madam,
Thank you for choosing PARKROYAL Yangon as your preferred residence in Yangon and for recommending us on Tripadvisor.
Our location is most ideal whether your stay is for business or for Holidays. Hotel is undergoing upgrade of rooms which is scheduled for completion in October. We receive several positive comments on the service provided by our associates, I am pleased we make your stay a memorable one. Our breakfast covers a wide array of offerings including local Myanmar specialties.
Your comments on our Front Desk and Concierge associates have been related to them, they are delighted they could meet your expectations.
Please be so kind to drop me a note whenever you plan your next visit and also indicate any special preferences that we should take note of.
Kind regards
Ram Nurani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cusco, Peru
Level Contributor
144 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

Park Royal's staff genuinely cared about our stay. We were given rooms on the VIP floor (standard for all Agoda bookings), which come with a lounge, internet room, and snacks. Although I was first given a smoking room, the staff changed my room within a few minutes.

The overall check-in policy needs to be overhauled as the ground-floor front desk could not find our reservation, and the non-smoking rooms were overbooked.

The restaurant staff were also quite friendly and whipped up fresh and scrumptious dinner for us late at night. My family and I walked away impressed.

On our final morning, the kitchen staff prepared massive "to-go" breakfast boxes and held them at the front desk before our 6am flight. Wonderful!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vinay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at PARKROYAL Yangon, responded to this review, 23 June 2012
Dear Sir / Madam,
Thank you for choosing PARKROYAL Yangon as your preferred residence in Yangon and for recommending us on Tripadvisor.
I am pleased to note you enjoyed your stay, albeit with a delay in meeting your preference for non smoking room, please accept my sincere apologies. I have taken note of your comment on identifying your reservation on arrival, our reservations and front desk teams have been further educated for improvement.
Our restaurants enjoy good reputation with in - house as well as city patrons, All day dining La Brasserie offers a sumptuous buffet spread over breakfast and dinner. Phoenix Court offers Cantonese and Sichuan Dishes and Shiki Tei offers Japanese bento boxes and set menu for lunch and a great buffet spread for dinner. I am pleased to note you enjoyed our Restaurant offerings.
Please be so kind to let me know when you plan your next visit along with indications of any special preferences that we should take note of.
Kind regards
Ram Nurani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Firstly people make or break a property. I cannot praise enough the staff at the Park Royal in Yangon all smiling friendly and helpful without exception. One of our party had a passport stolen on the train from Yangon to Mandalay, getting back to Yangon to arrange an emergency passport without an Embassy and needing finger prints, Zaw Win Aye the security Manager made it all happen, forever in his debt.
Apart from that the Park Royal is a business hotel, right in the centre of Yangon, comfortable clean rooms, free internet, we got an amazing rate, had nothing to complain about, the breakfast buffet is great and had no complaints, the staff were very attentive.
The Japanese restaurant is very expensive but can highly recommend the Chinese restaurant for lunch.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whereswally_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at PARKROYAL Yangon, responded to this review, 24 June 2012
Thank you for choosing PARKROYAL as your preferred residence in Yangon and for recommending us on Tripadvisor.com.
As you have rightfully indicated, our associates are our greatest asset, they take pride in providing genuine and caring service to our valued guests. Hotel security and service go hand in hand, guest safety and security is also our highest priority. Zaw Min Aye was pleased that he was able to provide all assistance.
PARKROYAL Yangon has been awarded the “Business Hotel of the Year 2011” by the Tourism Alliance Awards and we continue to make efforts to serve our guests as individuals whether staying with us on Business or for Holiday. Attention is paid to details on cleanliness of our rooms and public areas undergo regular maintenance and deep cleaning. Our breakfast buffet has been put together with careful consideration of our varied guest demographics. Phoenix Court is the most popular Chinese restaurant in the city serving cantonese and Sichuan specialities. Shiki Tei similarly enjoys popularity for its Buffet during dinner as well as bento box and set menu over lunch.
I look forward to your next visit, please be so kind to drop me a note along with any preferences that we should take note of
Kind regards
Ram Nurani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

Hotel is nothing special. typing western-style business hotel. Partially slightly dated and run down. Relatively overpriced (by Myanmar standards, as most places these days given imbalance visitors to offered infrasructure). Service unmotivated. Especially at breakfast service terribly slow - hope for your coffee. Also food on buffet very long in high heat - very appealing (you see it).

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andry123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at PARKROYAL Yangon, responded to this review, 24 June 2012
Thank you for choosing PARKROYAL as your preferred residence in Yangon and for recommending us on Tripadvisor.com.
Myanmar is a very exciting country right now, several initiatives are being implemented progressively.
We receive several commdendations on our service, we are continuously educating our associates on consistency of service.
Our breakfast buffet has been put together with careful consideration of our varied guest demographics and I am pleased you enjoyed our offerings.
I look forward to your next visit, please be so kind to drop me a note along with any preferences that we should take note of
Kind regards
Ram Nurani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BKK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

Great interior and great service. Also attended a conference there served with great pastries and tea. If in need to consumable items, the mall next door provides cheaper prices than the hotel. Nothing much to complain, so you guys might wonder "why 3/5?". I happened to witness the falling of marble tiles at the front door. Although no one was injured, I hope parkroyal pay more attention to the construction of their building.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Damien_Holloway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.3 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#5 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,524 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#7 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
1.4 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel
Rose Garden Hotel
#9 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
3.1 mi away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#4 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
1.3 mi away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PARKROYAL Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PARKROYAL Yangon

Property: PARKROYAL Yangon
Address: 33 Alan Pya Phaya Road | Dagon Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11191, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#5 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#7 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#8 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — PARKROYAL Yangon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You're in for an unforgetable experience at PARKROYAL Yangon, one of the best hotels in Myanmar, with superb location that puts you in the heart of the city's prized cultural attractions, including the legendary Shwedagon Pagoda and its heritage sites. Explore Yangon, a charming melting pot of noble cultures, scenic attractions and ancient traditions, from our convenient location. Our helpful associates are pleased to point you towards the best local experiences. Whether you're here for work or leisure, you'll leave with happy memories of dynamic Myanmar hotel that pampers you with its superb hospitatlity and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Pan Pacific Hotels Group, Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your PARKROYAL Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkroyal Yangon Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Parkroyal Yangon Rangoon
PARKROYAL Yangon Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing