We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well run, clean and friendly”
Review of PARKROYAL Yangon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
PARKROYAL Yangon
Ranked #11 of 151 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Well run, clean and friendly”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I stayed for a week whist working in Yangon. My room facing the pool was quiet and spacious and had everything one could need including efficient and quiet air con. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and greeted me warmly every time I left or returned to the hotel. The location is good and taxis readily available. Breakfast was a feast with many choices and eggs, waffles etc made to order. Dinner was also good with helpful service and the bar excellent with a happy hour early every evening. The hotel now takes Credit Cards. I would be delighted to return.

Room Tip: Rooms on the highter floors facing the pool are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    514
    118
    14
    11
See reviews for
67
249
116
441
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

Nice overall. It's an old property that has been renovated, and it shows in some parts, but the 8th floor seems newer than the others. Fairly spacious rooms, but the furnishings are dated. Gives it a traditional feel, of sorts...but it is kind of a 'mutton dressed as a lamb', so to speak.

The restaurant on the ground floor, 'La Brasserie' is great - typical hotel prices, but well worth it. Lots of variety and some great local food where you won't risk catching 'Burma belly' from. The staff are really helpful/polite and professional.

If you're into massage, the day spa offer a great traditional one, around $45/hour which is expensive by the local standards but it won't disappoint.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Aussie-in-the-desert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shah Alam
Level Contributor
84 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I was informed that Park Royal Yangon is one of the best hotels in town. I am not too sure about the standard of the hotels in town since this is my 1st visit, but the hotel is quite nice.

The staff is courteous and always willing to help / assists … all of whom that I came across would greet me with Ming Ga La Ba – meaning Good Day, with a smile. So after a long journey, arriving at this hotel is indeed, a welcoming sight.

The lobby is spacious with a few sets of sofas – high ceiling and well lighted. I have always like this sort of lobby – it is airy and you don’t feel cramped in small place. There are a few meeting rooms on the same floor, a bar and a restaurant. A disco is located on the lower ground floor. I didn’t have the chance of exploring other facilities since I was on a tight schedule.

The room itself is huge – I had 2 king size beds in my room, plenty of area to put your stuff, a proper cupboard, flat screen TV with satellite channels – probably about 30 of them in various languages, coffee making facility, free WiFi, which I must say was good, and a host of other stuff.

The toilet is nice, although there is no dedicated shower room – you get to shower in the bathtub, but may be on a more expensive room, this is available. The deco in the toilet is basic, nothing to shout about.

The buffet breakfast served is very good – plenty of spreads and selections. They even have Japanese sushi at one corner, and also Indian food, along with the normal type of food / cuisine – both local and international.

I didn’t had the chance to wander around the hotel area, but was told that there is a market close by – maybe 5-10 minutes’ walk where you can get local souvenirs and gifts.

One evening, I came back late from my appointments and was to checking out the next day. To my surprise, there was a plate of local cookies on the table, and a souvenir from the hotel – apparently it was a bar of soap with a holder. I don’t think it cost very much, but the gesture is appreciated.

Another thing which is good, I was informed that the hotel has separate kitchen to prepare Halal food since there are many Muslim patronising the hotel. As such, there is no problem in getting halal food if you are a Muslim. But do check it out and ask before you order your food.

For the rates that I am paying, I think it is a bit expensive, but then again, I think the cost of living for expats in Myanmar is on the rise with the opening up of the economy and increase in business activity in the country.

Due to its locality within the town centre, and the level of services provided, I would definitely return to this hotel during my next visit to Yangon.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mcbrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Lovely friendly helpful staff and a great selection of food in the restaurant, but the whole place feels dated and tired. The bathroom was mouldy in places and the bed/pillows old and musty (the linen is ok though). When I asked for new pillows they were replaced with equally old, stained and smelly ones. Housekeeping just sprayed the room with air freshener. It's noisy too. the windows don't fit or close properly so you get traffic noise or the PA round the pool playing music (at 6am!).
OK, so this is Yangon and a bit of a captive market, but for the money this was not a good value hotel. Comfortable overall, but disappointing.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StevePies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I stayed at the hotel for two nights for business. Given the room rate, I was fairly disappointed at the room amenities and service provided by the hotel. It felt like a run down three-star hotel in many aspects. Breadfast and lunch were not good either. I haven't stayed at other hotels in Yangon but I know I'm not returning to this one during my next trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RiuPalaceCancun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Visited PARKROYAL for 3 days around 25th sept. the hotel is very niceLY located, close to alot of things. The breakfast was very good with alot of choices plus they have a special corner for indian breakfast. they do have very good indian food on menu also. Just like all people in myanmar , the hotel staff was very courteous , caring and were always carrying a smile with them. the amenities at the hotel are very good . considering yangon's accommodation situation the hotel is priced right with alot of facilities . the main plus of the hotel is it has a very good night club at basement dont know the name MUSIC CLUB or something, which infact helps people like me who would want to relax and unwind instead of going out at night looking for some good lounge experience.

From Room Service , to laundry , to asking a pair of scissors the hotel staff was way too fast than most all the places i have been too except for china :)

over and all a very GOOD HOTEL. do look at the pics which i have posted.

BEST OF LUCK ! CHEERS TO ALL PARKROYAL STAFF AND MANAGEMENT

and before i forget if any one wants to know more about the MUSIC CLUB msg me

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sushant4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I traveled to Yangon for the 1st time and stayed here.
Since I reached Yangon through a circuitous route, I was dead tired and also had several meetings lined up for the day. The route from the airport to the hotel running heavy traffic added to the woes further.
But the site of the hotel though from outside not very comforting but was very soothing from the time I entered the lobby. The staff was courteous and checkin quick.

The room was nice with a large balcony and the bed were really comfortable for a 1 hour nap before the meetings.

Though it was expensive but given the quality of service they offered I would rate it close to value for money received.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SamarGGN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.3 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
2,607 reviews
1.4 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,473 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel
Rose Garden Hotel
#9 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#10 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
318 reviews
3.0 mi away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#5 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
560 reviews
1.3 mi away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PARKROYAL Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PARKROYAL Yangon

Property: PARKROYAL Yangon
Address: 33 Alan Pya Phaya Road | Dagon Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11191, Myanmar
Phone Number:
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#6 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#7 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#9 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — PARKROYAL Yangon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You're in for an unforgetable experience at PARKROYAL Yangon, one of the best hotels in Myanmar, with superb location that puts you in the heart of the city's prized cultural attractions, including the legendary Shwedagon Pagoda and its heritage sites. Explore Yangon, a charming melting pot of noble cultures, scenic attractions and ancient traditions, from our convenient location. Our helpful associates are pleased to point you towards the best local experiences. Whether you're here for work or leisure, you'll leave with happy memories of dynamic Myanmar hotel that pampers you with its superb hospitatlity and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Pan Pacific Hotels Group, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your PARKROYAL Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkroyal Yangon Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Parkroyal Yangon Rangoon
PARKROYAL Yangon Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing