We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only downsides were about bathroom”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of PARKROYAL Yangon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
PARKROYAL Yangon
Ranked #11 of 150 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Only downsides were about bathroom”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

The hotel is in downtown Yangon. Breakfast is very good, and staff are friendly and helpful.

Swimming pool is a bit short for lap swimming, and the gym is rather basic.

The only downside I have is of the bathroom/toilet. Perhaps it's my corner room, but the toilet bowl was too big and the door could not open completely (not even a 90degrees), making it rather inconvenient to step into and out of the toilet.

Also, the sink is way too low. I'm standing at 166m, and finds that I've to bend over too much. First hotel ever to have such a low sink. Not much that can be done about it anyway.

Overall, a good hotel except for the grouses I have of the bathroom.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aurora26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    499
    115
    14
    10
See reviews for
65
247
114
425
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

I had a great stay at this hotel for a day on 26 April. The hotel gave me a spacious large room, with all amenities. I liked my room very much since it had sofa chairs for guests.

I liked the staff of the hotel also. They are ever smiling and very helpful. The lady at the entrance, in green typically Burmese dress, helped me with my transport arrangements also Now, this is very useful, if you do not know the local language. The staff is also very young, all in, their 20s, but very hardworking and capable.

As a vegetarian Indian, I was happy with my food here. There is an Indian chef, so you are safe. I dined in the night, the Indian chef was away but he had trained a local chef who was able to look after me very well. He even gave me an "Aloo Paratha" with Dal Fry. There were also small dosas for breakfast in the morning!

I had a very happy and comfortable stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RajuAneja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
87 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

This is my second stay at Park Royal, and it's a perfect business hotel, all facilities in excellent delivery. Myanmar, is indeed busy, so the breakfast room in the morning, I could not get a table.
The business center showed excellent service.
I will be back

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Morten H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

This hotel is in a good location, close to the markets and within walking distance of most amenities. The staff and very friendly and helpful, security is tight, the room was clean and there was a good selection of food at breakfast.
We would definitely stay again if we were in Yangon.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MrsB-Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

I stayed for more than a week and found the hotel very comfortable. The staff were very friendly, helpful and efficient. They would not only have answers for the random tourist questions I had, but would also ensure that they communicate my needs to taxi drivers, where there were often a bit of a language gap.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DisasterRelief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Recommend this hotel for business travellers, not so much for families. This is not a 5 * hotel, even though their rates are high. Hotel has a good business lounge but the food/snacks are uninteresting and repetitive, also not very appetizing. Breakfast is very good and caters to a number of nationalities and food preference. Staff are very friendly and accomodating. I stayed for almost two months and was made to feel very much at home and welcome by staff. The pool area is not very attractive.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool area - less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sheerim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seremban, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Visits Yangon for business opportunity. As a first timer in the middle of unknown town, you really wish to have someone to tell you where to go and what to do.

The staff are really friendly. Giving so much important do's and don't in the town.

My room is clean and they have nice buffet breakfast.

A recommended hotel if you are in business trip, and a family trip that have extra budget for pricey hotel.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Padila J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.3 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,557 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#5 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel
Rose Garden Hotel
#10 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#9 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
3.0 mi away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#4 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
1.3 mi away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PARKROYAL Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PARKROYAL Yangon

Property: PARKROYAL Yangon
Address: 33 Alan Pya Phaya Road | Dagon Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11191, Myanmar
Phone Number:
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#6 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#7 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#9 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — PARKROYAL Yangon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You're in for an unforgetable experience at PARKROYAL Yangon, one of the best hotels in Myanmar, with superb location that puts you in the heart of the city's prized cultural attractions, including the legendary Shwedagon Pagoda and its heritage sites. Explore Yangon, a charming melting pot of noble cultures, scenic attractions and ancient traditions, from our convenient location. Our helpful associates are pleased to point you towards the best local experiences. Whether you're here for work or leisure, you'll leave with happy memories of dynamic Myanmar hotel that pampers you with its superb hospitatlity and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Pan Pacific Hotels Group and HotelQuickly so you can book your PARKROYAL Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkroyal Yangon Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Parkroyal Yangon Rangoon
PARKROYAL Yangon Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing