We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in Yangon”
Review of PARKROYAL Yangon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
PARKROYAL Yangon
Ranked #11 of 151 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
236 reviews
226 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Good hotel in Yangon”
Reviewed 2 March 2010

Good hotel in center of Yangon.
As most of the large sized hotels, a bit impersonal.
Good variety of breakfast selection, caters all needs and you would be able to try local fish soup, indian curry etc. and, of course, western selection (cannot comment, since did not try).
Also, good dinner buffet, however quite expensive for Myanmar (USD 17.-), beer app. 5 USD /bottle.
Quite small swimming pool, but also not overcrowded. WI-FI internet USD 2/hour, double the price in business center.
So, good place to stay, but nothing outstanding.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kasparainens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    511
    118
    14
    11
See reviews for
67
249
115
438
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
121 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2010

After having stayed at the nearby Traders for several years, I decided to give the Parkroyal a try for a change. I will never stray from Traders again! While the hotel is cheaper than Traders, the drop in value is more significant. The room was tired, smelled heavily of smoke (though I requested a non-smoking) and looked remarkably better in the brochure than in real life. The location is good and the service, aside from testy front desk people, was good. The lobby was dingy and the furnishings had seen better days years prior. I was pretty disappointed, needless to say. Breakfast was ok, but certainly not on a par with that offered by Traders. The pool was very uninviting.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rupertpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
87 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2010

I booked this hotel for three nights this past July. I received a rate of $52 a night through a Yangon based travel agency, and they were great to deal with overall. The hotel was good in many ways, such as...

1) Great pool to use that was nearly deserted.

2) One of the best breakfast spreads imaginable.

3) Decent location, though taxis are needed to get to some places in the city.

4) Welcoming staff and a great welcoming fruit drink at check-in.


My main negative was with the water pressure in the shower. It was almost a trickle, and made coming in from the Summer humidity in the city not the welcoming treat it should have been. I asked to switch rooms after the first night, but they said they would send up `an engineer' to fix the problem. I don't know if anyone came in the room after going to the front desk, but I do know the trickle never became stronger, so I think they just ignored the reuqest. For that reason, and that reason only, I might try a different hotel if I ever go back to Yangon.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boddicker52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2010

I stayed in this hotel during my business trip to Yangon. I was plesantly surprised at the facilities - some four restaurants, and very helpful staff.

The bar area was good and had free internet and also a happy hour and not too expensive. The rooms were large and clean.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KentBaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.3 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
2,598 reviews
1.4 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,472 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel
Rose Garden Hotel
#9 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#10 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
318 reviews
3.0 mi away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#5 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
556 reviews
1.3 mi away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PARKROYAL Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PARKROYAL Yangon

Property: PARKROYAL Yangon
Address: 33 Alan Pya Phaya Road | Dagon Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11191, Myanmar
Phone Number:
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#6 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#7 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#9 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — PARKROYAL Yangon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You're in for an unforgetable experience at PARKROYAL Yangon, one of the best hotels in Myanmar, with superb location that puts you in the heart of the city's prized cultural attractions, including the legendary Shwedagon Pagoda and its heritage sites. Explore Yangon, a charming melting pot of noble cultures, scenic attractions and ancient traditions, from our convenient location. Our helpful associates are pleased to point you towards the best local experiences. Whether you're here for work or leisure, you'll leave with happy memories of dynamic Myanmar hotel that pampers you with its superb hospitatlity and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Pan Pacific Hotels Group, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your PARKROYAL Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkroyal Yangon Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Parkroyal Yangon Rangoon
PARKROYAL Yangon Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing