We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel but inconsistent service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
Ranked #15 of 147 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Poona
Level Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good hotel but inconsistent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

We stayed twice at this hotel on our trip and both experiences were different.
The first time we had a room on the 4th floor with a spectacular view of the Pagoda at night.
The room was well appointed, the bed was very large and comfortable and the pillows were perfect.
The second time around we were not so lucky. Our room was on the second floor, the view of the garden was good but the room somehow did not match up to the earlier one. We were travelling as a couple but were given twin beds this time and generally everything looked a little shabby.
We asked for a late check out but were told it was impossible. That was acceptable but then the lady asked us to check out at 9 since we weren't getting the late check out !! On being asked why she said so they could get the room cleaned and ready for the next guests....We felt that was a little thoughtless.
Other than that one not so pleasant person we found the staff very helpful, pleasant, polite and happy to please.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyGolfer60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    629
    170
    46
    14
See reviews for
154
587
65
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Myanmar
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

The staff of this hotels were very attentive and gave very good service . The room is very quite and clean . when you get up in the morning , you can get the very good view with Kandawgyi Lake coz this is located on the shore of the Lake Kandawgyi .

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoyalSithu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
152 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

When I realized location of hotel I was disappointed it wasn't closer to the downtown waterfront area, but in retrospect that was not a big deal. In fact, the quiet surroundings are a blessing. The rooms are fine, airconditioning worked perfectly. Staff courteous. Wonderful restaurant. In back of hotel is nice garden overlooking beautiful lake. Find the little dock w chairs and watch the locals walk/jog along boardwalk in distance. Beautiful at dusk and at least in February mosquitoes not an issue. Back to its location. In the morning we walked down to the waterfront and old city - maybe a 30 minute interesting (but not beautiful) walk, walked to Sule Pavillion and grabbed a taxi back to hotel costing two dollars. The Internet service was beyond slow, at least on the two clunkers in the lobby and WiFi on my iPad didn't work. But I had same problem in Bagan and Inle Lake so it's a problem everywhere. I have no reservations about recommending this hotel and if I ever return to Yangon I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TigerFord7571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed at this hotel at the start and end of our trip to Myanmar.

The rooms and service were excellent and the beds are the most comfortable I have slept in at hotels! The pool is very small (and cold!) and it has pleasant views of the lake but the main downside is that it is not central and we couldn't find any small restaurants locally.

I would recommend it to others for a short stopover just for the beds!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorset uk
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

We commenced our holiday in Myanmar by staying the night here. We were given a warm welcome and received a delightful room with a view of the lake. Dinner was excellent and the ambience very agreeable. Wake up to a wonderful breakfast! The Asian dishes were superb, the local speciality, Monhinga was delicious. The staff were all helpful and should we return to Yangon I would go there again. We stayed at the Strand last year which was a great experience, but I preferred the Kandawgyi Palace.

Room Tip: Try to book a lakeside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JazzerDorsetUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yavne, Israel
Level Contributor
387 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Beautiful hotel with lots of teak wood, set on the shore of the lake.
the Staff was very courteous and accomodating.
In the evening an americam guitar player entertained in the lobby singing beautiful oldies,
it was really nice.
The problem was I had to sit in the lobby because it's the only place with wifi, and even theree it was exasperatingly slow!
The room we had was ample and nice, though did not face the lake but the parking lot. Like everywhere else, lots of teak wood (including the floor).
Air conditioning was running well.
Cleanliness wise there is place for improvement, the shower curtain for example has seen much better times. On the other hand, they had the most clean and modern public toilets I have ever seen (see photo).
The locatuon of the hotel is great if you look for a lake, but it is far from the city center and actually from everything, you have to take a taxi to get anywhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
72 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

We stayed twice, and for several nights, in this hotel during our visit to Burma.

The very first night we had terrible noise from a discotheque in front of our rooms, so, the next day, we asked for, and got, a quiet room. The second time we got a quiet room, because we specifically asked. So if you want to book a room, do not forget to enquire about this.

Rooms were spacious and clean, the bathroom is very good. There is a flat-screen television and, very important, a safe in the wardrobe. You can hide a laptop in it.

There is an internet corner with two computers, which are very often occupied and have rather used keyboards - sometimes difficult to find your characters. There is WiFi in the lobby, so you can use your laptop or iPad from there. Do not forget however that at the time of writing of this review (February 2012), internet in Burma still is very s l o w, and sometimes you do not get connection to Gmail at all.

Breakfast is absolutely gorgeous, you can get good meals at noon, and dinner is also of very good quality (do not forget to try the excellent Burmese wines !).

Staff is very friendly and helpful, although from time to time there could be a difficulty in understanding each other.

It is next to a beautiful garden with pond, near the zoological garden and very near to the Shwedagon pagoda.

We were extremely satisfied with our staying in this hotel.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, ask specifically for a room away from the discotheque.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Acacia9051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.3 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel
Rose Garden Hotel
#9 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#5 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,524 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Esperado Lake View Hotel
Esperado Lake View Hotel
#13 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
1.6 mi away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#7 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel

Property: The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
Address: Kan Yeik Tha Road | Mingalar Taung Nyunt Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#6 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#7 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#8 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#12 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, JovagoAsia, Ebookers, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
Hotel Kandawgyi Palace
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing