We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The old renewed prince palace gives you royal treatment.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
Ranked #16 of 159 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 December 2012

If you ever plan to travel to this awesome country and you wanna spend some time in Yangon which I bet you will, falling with this city for the rest of your days you just must stay at The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel. I bet the prince who used to live there must have live at the level you will be at this place. I was. tremendous service, politeness, kindness, smile all what Burma delivers. Luxury deco, spacey rooms, excellent breakfasts and ladt but not least Shwedagon Paya which you probably travel to Burma for is at just walking distance. Go and endulge.

3  Thank MaciejTPL
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,396)
There are newer reviews for The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

662 - 668 of 1,396 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2012

The location on Kandawgyi lake is impressive. You can have a longer wooden bridge on the lake and on the shores along the ' Karaweik ' hiking. Options for shopping and other restaurants were very far away. Nearby the Karaweik there are many simple-but very recommendable and reasonably priced myanmarische restaurants. The renovation in the hotel building is in the meantime almost completed; in the outdoor areas inclusive parking and underground parking is still in preparation. Planned is also a new larger pool next to the parking. in the dining room are mostly larger travel/tagungsgruppen, especially from the Asian area.There is only central restaurant with a French chef. If not a friend Italian kitchen and the bland international cuisine not like, has only the choice of 5 different Myanmar Curries. The prices are in the meantime also refined. The dining room is businesslike cool furnished, with a long table for meeting and Gruppenreisegäste, only a handful of single tables were situated for individual travellers. The breakfast buffet it is very versatile and also in respect to myanmarische food a request desired..

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elinor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We stayed twice here during our one month holiday. Checking in in the morning took more than an hour so we left for sightseeing. The deluxe room on third floor 25m2 + bathroom 11m2 gave distant view on the Swhedagon Pagoda. Slight traffic noise all night due to single glass windows.
The second time we stayed in superior room on first floor, no traffic sound, room 24m2 and bathroom 4.5m2, hardly any difference.
Free internet and printing of air tickets in business centre. Coffee-tea and water. Safebox. We got a small map with restaurants. Taxis easy to get and cheap; anyway you cannot walk anything in town, especially not in the evening, so the hotel location does not matter very much.
Best breakfast we had compared with all other hotels we stayed. Nice grounds and interesting pool, comfortable place to hang around for some hours.
Our dinner in the hotel's chinese restaurant was the most expensive and mediocre of one month.

Room Tip: The deluxe room is hardly an improvement over the superior room. The view on the pagoda is not worth...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank huys25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

This is a very nice hotel situated near the zoo in Yangon with its own concrete dinasaurs in the beautifully kept gardens which overlook the lake.
The staff were very friendly and the public rooms very clean and well looked after. The rooms were large and huge bed and really great pillows, so soft in fact that it was difficult to get up in the morning.
Breakfasts were good although extremely busy, plenty of choice and nice surroundings. The pool was being refurbished while we were there but there was another nearby.
A good choice of restaurants were available within the hotel but a little pricey and it would need a taxi ride to go somewhere different. Great views of the Shewagan Stupa from the hotel especially at night when it is lit up.
Definately stay there again if I was in Yangon.

Room Tip: If you can afford it upgrade to a lake view
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hearthammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We were thrilled to arrive at the Kandawgyi, which was friendly, warm and welcoming. Though construction was going on in the pool area, the project should great when it is completed. Lounge chairs/towels at pool are the best! Hotel sits on lake, providing a beautiful setting to relax and enjoy. Great location, quiet area of city, nice walking paths. Staff recommended restaurants, which we took taxis to. Downside was the moldy smell of room, which staff worked on to improve. AC vents need to be cleaned! Taxis are cheap- about $2 for most rides. Our room was clean, comfortable and pleasant. Breakfast buffet was good, other meals the same, for hotel restaurants. The spa was excellent. Would recommend to anyone going to Yangon, despite it being pretty pricey.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marycairns56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Stayed several nights. The hotel is situated along Kandawgyi Lake and some rooms have lakeside views. My room was well appointed with two double beds and a seating area along with modern, newer bathroom and fixtures. The walkways/hallways around the hotel are open to the air, while the lobby is air conditioned and usually had an English-speaking musical act in the evenings. The buffet breakfast was fairly extensive, but it was hard to get a hot cup of coffee. The Internet (Wifi) during my visit was more off than on, but they did have two computers in the lobby for guest to use. The hotel is frequently used by mid-size tour groups. It's close to Shwedagon Pagoda and main attractions Encourage eating other meals outside of the hotel.

Room Tip: Request lakeside view away from elevators or stairs and away from lobby.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaylaartt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Stayed at this hotel because we were booked there via Journeys Intl. Hotel was very clean and supplied rooms with plenty of bottled water. Just had their breakfast buffet which was good with quite a few choices.
I am not a "tour" person but most of the hotels on this tour were pretty good. Not happy with Journeys a/c of putting a 3rd person on the tour about 2 weeks before we left and this person could not get into the same hotels so we were either picking him up or vice versa. He said he was given a $1,000 discount and we paid $400 each a/c of only the two of us booked on that tour. Third person was 20 years older and a few things had to be rearranged a/c of this. I will never use that tour company again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milehi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.3 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
#10 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
337 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,529 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
2,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#2 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
956 reviews
1.6 mi away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,367 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#9 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel

Address: Kan Yeik Tha Road | Mingalar Taung Nyunt Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11221, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#6 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#7 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#9 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#15 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: £71 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yangon boasts the largest number of colonial-era buildings in the region. The moment you pass the threshold of the Kandawgyi Palace Hotel, you will experience a unique colonial-era that is remarkably intact. Enter a luxurious oasis amidst an evergreen tropical garden on the waterfront of the idyllic Kandawgyi (Royal) Lake and in a blink of an eye, forget that you are nevertheless in the middle of the lively metropolis, Yangon. Experience the famous Myanmar hospitality surrounded by traditional Golden Teak architecture with modern conveniences of a 5-star hotel. Enjoy your stay in our oasis, just 35 minutes from the international airport, with many sightseeing spots, shopping centres and Yangon’s business district nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
Hotel Kandawgyi Palace
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing