We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Place to stay!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
Ranked #15 of 147 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Manalapan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place to stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

I was there January 8-14 and it was one of the best Hotel experiences I have ever had. The room 120 with a deck view to the lake is fantabulous! Rain shower head, beautiful marble and granite, very we'll appointed and beds a dream puff! The staff was attentive and response time to requests was fast. The grounds are beautiful, the food was great and the staff extremely pleasant and well dressed. Overall excellent experience, the only reason I did not give it 5 star is that it smelled slightly moldy, but the Hotel is all teak and sets off of a lake, as well as humidity is very high in Yangon, but I loved every minute of it and would schedule my next visit there at the Kandawgyi again !

Room Tip: I would say the "room with a lake view" the deluxe w/deck to the lake view, a little more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reality2_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    629
    170
    46
    14
See reviews for
154
587
65
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

We stayed at the Kandawgyi Palace Hotel at the beginning and end of our tour of Myanmar. We found it comfortable, quiet, well appointed and the staff very professional and helpful. The grounds were lovely and we enjoyed strolling through them.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Myrna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
104 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 395 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Stayed at The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel for one night. We arrived to Yangoon very early in the morning and met our great guide and driver at the airport (around 8 in the morning). Before going on our full day sightseeing-tour we drew to our hotel and vere surprised that we got our room at once upon arrivel. We got a verty warm welcome upon arrival. The room was large and beatuiful, we really loved the desig. Big bathroom with separate shower and bath. Very clean and comfortable beds. The garden with the pool was beautiful and had a nice view ower the lake. In the eavning the wiew to the Schwedagong pagoda was magical. We had dinner at the Chainees-restaurang at the hotel and it was delicous. The day after we left very earliy so we vere told that we could have a smaller continetal preacfast (as it was 1 1/2 hours before ordinary breakfst started) but I must say that this breakfast was much better and bigger than a lot of hotels have as ordinary breakfast.
We really enjoyed staying at this hotel and would absolutely recomend it. Great rooms, very friendly staff and good location.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mats_Stockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

I never stayed at any other hotel in Yangon but we had friends that stayed in I others they said ours was very nice compared to there's. We enjoyed it the staff was great the A/C was cold and the bed was very comfortable. The French restaurant was not worth the money spent but overall it was very nice, clean and staff was great.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Philly62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

I stayed at this hotel after staying at Traders' during my last trip to Yangon. Due to this, Traders' was my point of comparison. Unfortunately Kandawgyi Palace Hotel did not meet the high standards set by Traders' Hotel.

The hotel and the room met my basic needs but missed out on being perfect. Some of my observations are as follows,
- only toiletries provided are shampoo and foaming bath gel
- room is not carpeted and the tiled floor is not the cleanest. The floor is also very slippery.
- lighting in the room is very dim and not at all conducive to working in the room
- lack of power points in the room, especially near the bed
- swimming pools are quite a walk from the rooms
- hotel is not conveniently located


I had a massage at the spa and was surprised when I was led to a hotel bed for my massage. Not only was it uncomfortable getting the massage on a springy bed, but the bedsprings were effectively absorbing the pressure applied on my body. This made it seem like the masseuse was simply applying oil on my body, and not actually massaging it!

In my opinion the hotel is good for those staying for leisure but not so much for business travelers.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Madancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

I had a wonderful view of the temple from my window.
At night the temple stood out in the dark.
The view of Lake Kandawgyi around the hotel was a nice.
The swimming pools around the hotel just blends in with the lake.
I enjoyed my walking tour around the lake.

Room Tip: elevator goes to all five floors. However rooms on one side of the 5th floor is only access by stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 28Galed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

What a beautiful oasis in Yangon. The hotel is very attractive with its teak , gardens and outdoor seating. The room was pretty and comfortable. Lots of atmosphere here.
Why would anyone ever want to stay at the Strand ( with its outrageous prices and undesirable location on a busy downtown street) when you could escape to the Kandawgyi Palace and get away from the hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindakreaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.3 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel
Rose Garden Hotel
#9 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#5 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,524 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Esperado Lake View Hotel
Esperado Lake View Hotel
#13 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
1.6 mi away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#7 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel

Property: The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
Address: Kan Yeik Tha Road | Mingalar Taung Nyunt Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#6 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#7 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#8 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#12 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, JovagoAsia, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
Hotel Kandawgyi Palace
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing