We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
Ranked #16 of 151 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Neuhausen, Germany
1 review
“Good experience again”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

It was my fifth stay in Kandawgy Palace within one year and it was a very good experience again. Nice room to the garden and lake side. The personnel is very friendly and courteous and provides good service. Hotel has a nice garden with grate lake view and is good for relaxing. I think I will come again.

Room Tip: Upper floors to lake side provide good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ludwig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    483
    648
    178
    48
    16
See reviews for
162
609
74
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We had two wonderful stays at the Kandawgyi Hotel, and I'll stay there again (unless the Governor's Residence get back to its former prices....). The location is perfect, by the lake Kandawgyi. I had more pleasure watching the sunset from the Kandawgyi Gardens than from the crowded Shwedagon Pagoda!

The hotel and the rooms are clean and well decorated. Service was very good, food and cocktails also. Free wifi in each room.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seraph1Lampion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
371 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The hotel staff has great hospitality and assistance. Very nice and large recption rooms inside with a vey efficient staff. We ordered coffee before we went into the wedding reception and it was fast, with a smile. But one comment:very expensive. BUt the live-showpiece of the traditional music @xylophone or 'patalar' was an excellent idea.
The food at the reception was great with a wide variety of meat. Lovely view overlooking the 'pond' and the Karaweik.To be noted- the WC facilities were a few steps down to the actual poolside for those enjoying the outside reception, But there are those inside the hotel itself. The hotel looks great with the wood carving, and traditional Myanmar architecture.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank y0rkshire_0wl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Crest
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We spent two nights at The Kandawgyi Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon). The hotel is very beautiful with its traditional Burmese architecture. Our rate included a nice buffet breakfast featuring both dishes from Myanmar as well as Western favorites (eggs cooked to order, breakfast meats, etc.). Our room was well-appointed and included a small refrigerator for keeping beverages cold. It also had a water boiler and complimentary tea and coffee. The only issues we encountered were: (1) having to pay for extra services (i.e., meals, beverages) in USD – no credit cards or other currency accepted; and (2) arriving at breakfast at 6:00AM (published opening time) due to early touring and not having the full buffet available – there was only bread, jam and fruit – before we had to leave at 6:30AM. That being said, however, Kandawgyi Hotel was a nice retreat during our stay in Rangon (Yangon) and we recommend it to other travelers.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExcellentAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

I have a small group in the hotel now. We booked deluxe rooms. Not one has a view of anything nice - from car parks to street traffic. Out of the 5 rooms, 3 report mold smell, all say the towels are paper thin, and the rooms are basically tired. The city is very full - high season - I'm afraid that this hotel is simply running on reputation and the ability to fill rooms.

Room Tip: get there early- don't settle for what your first shown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hillsoftuscany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We stayed here two times during our trip to Myanmar in January 2014. We had two types of rooms: Deluxe with lakeview on the 2nd floor and the a more expensive lakefront, which is on groundfloor or just on the floor beneath the reception floor. It is really lakefront and has a wooden terrace on pillars, but the view is not that great as from the upper floors. Besides that, the moskitos dont make the place outdoor very usefull.
But both rooms are nicely decorated with wooden floors and furniture and correspont to a 4 star hotel. The restaurants are good and also very nice.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SchwiizerTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

This hotel is in an excellent location. It is a fast turnover hotel as most people start and finish here. As we did on our tour of Myanmar. The view over the lake is fantastic.
The staff are friendly and well trained. And the food quality is good.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottWilmslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.3 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel
Rose Garden Hotel
#10 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
317 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,491 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
2,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,345 reviews
1.4 mi away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#3 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
937 reviews
0.6 mi away
Esperado Lake View Hotel
Esperado Lake View Hotel
#13 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel

Property: The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
Address: Kan Yeik Tha Road | Mingalar Taung Nyunt Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#6 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#7 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#8 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#14 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
Hotel Kandawgyi Palace
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing