We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Efficient and attentive lakeside hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
Ranked #15 of 151 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Efficient and attentive lakeside hotel”
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed for our first 2 nights in Yangon but used the outside deck area several times during our time in the city. We liked the lake side setting, the outside deck area/ gardens and the pool area. The staff were very helpful and attentive. Our room was on the lake side away from the busy road so quiet with pleasant views. Air com in room, mini bar, comfortable bed, good shower. Food in the restaurant was very good with lots of choice.
Lots of European tour groups and several weddings during our stay. We would use this hotel again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    474
    645
    176
    48
    15
See reviews for
161
604
73
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

The only real 5 star hotel in Yangon.
It is less than 5 minutes by taxi form the Swedagon pagoda.
Has all amenities required, excellent wifi ( each room has its own router), Tv with many international channels, many restaurants ( a highly expensive French restaurant, a chinese, and a 24h coffee shop with good choice of burmese and international food).
Rooms are very spacious and comfortable.
The hotel is on the banks of the big eponymous Lake. It has a beautiful garden and no less beautiful swimming pool.
It is in par with the best hotels from big chains in other parts of SEAsia.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frenchindotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neuhausen, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2014

It was my fifth stay in Kandawgy Palace within one year and it was a very good experience again. Nice room to the garden and lake side. The personnel is very friendly and courteous and provides good service. Hotel has a nice garden with grate lake view and is good for relaxing. I think I will come again.

Room Tip: Upper floors to lake side provide good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ludwig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We had two wonderful stays at the Kandawgyi Hotel, and I'll stay there again (unless the Governor's Residence get back to its former prices....). The location is perfect, by the lake Kandawgyi. I had more pleasure watching the sunset from the Kandawgyi Gardens than from the crowded Shwedagon Pagoda!

The hotel and the rooms are clean and well decorated. Service was very good, food and cocktails also. Free wifi in each room.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seraph1Lampion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
365 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The hotel staff has great hospitality and assistance. Very nice and large recption rooms inside with a vey efficient staff. We ordered coffee before we went into the wedding reception and it was fast, with a smile. But one comment:very expensive. BUt the live-showpiece of the traditional music @xylophone or 'patalar' was an excellent idea.
The food at the reception was great with a wide variety of meat. Lovely view overlooking the 'pond' and the Karaweik.To be noted- the WC facilities were a few steps down to the actual poolside for those enjoying the outside reception, But there are those inside the hotel itself. The hotel looks great with the wood carving, and traditional Myanmar architecture.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank y0rkshire_0wl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Crest
Level Contributor
252 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We spent two nights at The Kandawgyi Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon). The hotel is very beautiful with its traditional Burmese architecture. Our rate included a nice buffet breakfast featuring both dishes from Myanmar as well as Western favorites (eggs cooked to order, breakfast meats, etc.). Our room was well-appointed and included a small refrigerator for keeping beverages cold. It also had a water boiler and complimentary tea and coffee. The only issues we encountered were: (1) having to pay for extra services (i.e., meals, beverages) in USD – no credit cards or other currency accepted; and (2) arriving at breakfast at 6:00AM (published opening time) due to early touring and not having the full buffet available – there was only bread, jam and fruit – before we had to leave at 6:30AM. That being said, however, Kandawgyi Hotel was a nice retreat during our stay in Rangon (Yangon) and we recommend it to other travelers.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExcellentAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

I have a small group in the hotel now. We booked deluxe rooms. Not one has a view of anything nice - from car parks to street traffic. Out of the 5 rooms, 3 report mold smell, all say the towels are paper thin, and the rooms are basically tired. The city is very full - high season - I'm afraid that this hotel is simply running on reputation and the ability to fill rooms.

Room Tip: get there early- don't settle for what your first shown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hillsoftuscany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.3 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel
Rose Garden Hotel
#9 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#5 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Esperado Lake View Hotel
Esperado Lake View Hotel
#14 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
1.6 mi away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#11 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel

Property: The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
Address: Kan Yeik Tha Road | Mingalar Taung Nyunt Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#6 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#7 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#8 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#13 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, JovagoAsia, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
Hotel Kandawgyi Palace
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing