We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Stay away” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
Ranked #14 of 147 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Paris
Level Contributor
248 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Stay away”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2008

This was probably a nice and impressive hotel. Today it needs a complete renovation from the old style lobby to the A/C system which is very unreliable (awfull heat and smell in the room). Appalling restaurant on the terrace (frozen barbecued food).
The ground floor rooms (with the nicest views) are all reserved for the European Commission Aid programme. Good for the hotel in desperate need for customers but not for the other customers ! Schwedagon Pagoda view rooms unavailable due to cyclon Nargis destructions on the roof.

  • Liked — Garden
  • Disliked — A/C not working
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikeworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    620
    169
    46
    13
See reviews for
151
575
65
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2008

I loved my experience here. I travel frequently to Yangon and will make it my ppreferred hotel. it was just after cyclone Nargis so the pool was not operating and ther was some building noise working on repairs to the roof - however the staff and food made up for any of those shortcomings. Excellent buffet breakfast and all meals were of a very high standard.

  • Liked — friendly staff and lovely teak building
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mingalabarAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleby Cumbria
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2008

There are one or two things badly wrong with this hotel. The biggest problem was the bedroom. This looked impressive but had a dreadful musty smell, as did the rooms of our friends staying close by.
The bottled water in the room bar was stated to be imported but was in fact just the local stuff at a truly ridiculous price
On the plus side the lobby is spacious and comfortable and the main restaurant was adequate (apart from the fact they served grated cheese on the cheese cake.!!!)
The pool area is disappointing as the pool is quite small with a naff stone dinosaur standing guard.
Altogether my stay at Kandawgyi Palace was a rather disappointing experience

  • Liked — Close to Shwe Dagon Pagoda
  • Disliked — Musty smelling room
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Braithsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2008

Superb hotel! Very friendly staff, clean and nice decorated rooms, good shower and and a superb view! Breakfast and even the buffet at night were great. Especially if you have the roomrates by the internet it's a very good value!

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank robbie9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2007

We stayed at the Kandawgyi Palace Hotel for our first two nights in Burma. As we arrived at night in the middle of a rain storm we had no idea of the spectacular view from the hotel of the Shwe Dogan Pagoda. As the lift stopped on the fourth floor and our room were on the fifth we were fairly grumpy about having to walk up a flight of steps to our room. However the view was worth all the effort. The Shwe Dogan Pogada light up at night is equally breath taking as the view during the day. Our room, while not five star by other asian standards was none the less extremely acceptable. From what I could work out I think that the hotel is in the middle of renovating the bathrooms on this floor and possibly doing some of the rooms on other floors.

When you have finished with the view of the Shwe Dogan the view from our room into the trees and over the lake was very picturesque.

Unfortunately the only meals we had in the hotel was breakfast. We ate inside and not on the patio so did not have the experience of one of the previous writers of being plagued by crows. The quality and the array of the buffet was very good.

All in all I think that the Palace is one of the best hotels in Yangon for character. Its location is excellent - easy to get down town, close to the Pagoda and set in a quiet location. It also has a lot of character - it can look a little tired externally as most places do subject to the humidity and heat of asia - but how many hotels do you know in the world that has a dinosaur in its gardens

I looked at a number of other hotels while in Yangon (Savoy, Dusit, Sedona, plus a few more) - I did not get to see the Strand and the Governor's Residence due to their proximity to the demonstrations and the request to stay away from downtown action - but I think that the Palace is certainly less expensive than these two hotels but still has some colonial charm

  • Liked — The views
  • Disliked — Not being able to stay longer
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Karuna_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2007

This hotel is located inside the Kandawgyi park near the paya shwedagon, we can see the paya from the patio !!
The rooms are clean and nice. The garden and the pool are amazing, it's so peacefull to stay in the garden after a day in yangoon streets.
The hotel's restaurant is good and if you want to eat Burma food there is a good restaurant close to the hotel with a gorgeous lake view.
Moreover, employees are helpfull and cheerful. Definetly kandawgyi is a very good choice to stay in Yangoon.

  • Liked — the garden
  • Disliked — no lift to the 5th floor
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Ricmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
209 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2007

We stayed here for two days as our first stop in Burma. The restaurant is OK, but tends to cater to non-Myanmar palates. The adjacent restaurant at the lake gets good ratings in the Lonely Planet, but not from us, we have had far better Burmese food. Rooms are spacious, bathrooms need a fix. The location is beautiful with a splendid view over Shwedagon. The downside of the hotel is the horrible string quartet playing in the lobby/restaurant. It tweaks your ears. Staff is very forthcoming like in all Burmese hatels we have stayed in.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PieterdeN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.4 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel
Rose Garden Hotel
#9 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#5 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,466 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#6 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Esperado Lake View Hotel
Esperado Lake View Hotel
#11 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
1.6 mi away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#7 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel

Property: The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
Address: Kan Yeik Tha Road | Mingalar Taung Nyunt Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#6 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#7 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#7 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#11 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, JovagoAsia, Agoda, Ebookers, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
Hotel Kandawgyi Palace
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing