We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chillax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
Ranked #16 of 151 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Chillax”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

A nice place to stay. I had stayed here for 6 times from the last 11 months. If you like vintage stuff, you'll like this hotel. The staff is very helpful, room is clean (with mosquito in some period but electric anti-mosquito is also provided), wifi is connected all the time and the variety of breakfast is quite impressive. It's also good to walk around the hotel, especially the pool side. The Kandawgyi park is only 10 minutes walk from the hotel with foreigner entrance fee at 2USD/person.

Room Tip: Request for room with Kandawgyi Lake view but you may get free wake-up call by morning music from gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nirav79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    483
    648
    178
    48
    16
See reviews for
162
609
74
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Although this hotel is positioned nicely right on the lake it comes with some drawbacks, but some good things....1) the pool is surrounded by crow's and wasps (we assumed there was a nest nearby that hadn't been removed) this made relaxing around the pool almost impossible, along with the fact it wasn't very clean.
2) it is very expensive for drinks in particular
3) the wifi is pretty dodgy, especially anywhere other than the lobby (which still wasn't great) they explained this was normal but we had had a better wifi experience at the chatrium just down the road.
4) the rooms are small but well equipped. Nice bathroom, lovely soft towels and bathroom accessories. The bed was incredibly soft which I liked after having slept on many a hard bed across Myanmar.
5) there is no balcony on the delux rooms.
6) the breakfast buffet was the best we had tasted all trip!

If I had to choose again, I would likely stay at the chatrium hotel instead, less bugs, cleaner pool and better value for what you get.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Venetiar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

An excellent, hospitable hotel with very helpful staff. It also has great ambiance and food. The Duty Manager Ms. Myat Moe Thu, is a very dedicated professional and can help to sort out any transport and dietery food issues. She is an asset for the Hotel.

The Hotel rooms have a view of the Pagodas too. The Rooms are well appointed and air-conditioning is very effective - important when the climate is humid and hot. The hotel has a interesting lobby with pieces of art, which are typically Burmese.It combines the best of Burmese traditions and modernity.

I enjoyed my stay at the hotel - I was very comfortable and happy. There are massive green trees and plants, which are very soothing. Rajendra Aneja, India.

Room Tip: Ask the advice of the reception staff, ask for a room with views of the Pagodas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RajuAneja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel is one of my favourite hotels in this crazy city. Overlooking the Royal Lake, gives you a sense of tranquility in otherwise dusty and bustling Yangon. It's within a walking distance from a nice park with bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LenarcikMarek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester Park, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed here for 3-nights at the start of our trip to Myanmar and another night at the end. On each occasion the staff were friendly, helpful and professional. The two restaurants we tried were the Chinese twice and the main dining area twice and we ate excellent food from both. we also enjoyed the large choice at breakfast time. The rooms were perfect for us with large comfortable beds and an excellent bathroom. The air conditioning kept the room at the right temperature and was not noisy. Everywhere was clean and attractive. On one evening we saw local dancers perform traditional dances on the stage in the ballroom while dinner was served at our table, this turned out to be the highlight of our stay. Look for the T-rex dinosaur in the garden .

Room Tip: Lake facing rooms may be quieter than those facing the carpark and road. But early morning joggers a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, UK
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights, 1 at the start and 1 at the end of our tour. The hotel is in a lovely setting by the lake and gardens, rooms were large, clean and comfortable. It's close to the Schwedagon Pagoda. We left early both days so didnt try the breakfast but they did provide breakfast boxes for us. Didn't eat here but there was a restaurant within 10-15 minutes walk which we went to instead. The 1st night we stayed there was a wedding reception here but everything went quiet by around 11pm. No complaints.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo_Aberdeen_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Arriving here after a long flight was like arriving in Paradise. From the moment we set foot in the hotel, the staff were delightful, helpful and friendly (without being oppressively so); the hotel itself was spotless, the rooms enormous, comfortable, beautifully decorated (and cool!) and the setting with rainforest-type gardens next to the lake was exquisite.

Travelling with two teenage children, the gorgeous swimming pools and 'all you can eat' buffet restaurant (excellent value, and fabulous food) were perfect! (My daughter was so blown away by the place, she has decided this is where she is going to get married! Hm - not sure who's going to be paying for that...) We did try out the French Restaurant one evening, and the food was unbelievably fantastic - inevitably however, so was the bill (around $300), so it was a once-only experience, but well worth it for a treat.

You do pay a little more to stay at this hotel, but for the quality of the whole experience, it is definitely worth it. Sadly we only had one night on the way in to Myanmar and one on the way out, but they were two of the most relaxing and enjoyable nights I've ever passed in a hotel anywhere.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the upstairs rooms overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.3 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel
Rose Garden Hotel
#10 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
317 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,491 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
2,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,345 reviews
1.4 mi away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#3 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
937 reviews
0.6 mi away
Esperado Lake View Hotel
Esperado Lake View Hotel
#13 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel

Property: The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
Address: Kan Yeik Tha Road | Mingalar Taung Nyunt Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#6 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#7 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#8 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#14 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
Hotel Kandawgyi Palace
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing