We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel with Local Charm” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
Ranked #15 of 147 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel with Local Charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

My husband and I and the aunt and uncle spent a week at this hotel and what a time we had! The location is perfect, right on the Kandawgyi Lake and views of the Shwedagon Pagoda and Karaweik Restaurant (floating restaurant). This hotel doesn't just look or feel like any old hotel, but has the same architecture of what a royal house would look like (which is what we wanted). A wonderful breakfast buffet is included with your stay and the hotel's restaurant's are excellent. They even have great happy hours at the bar, spa services, and even gourmet desserts! The staff are friendly and accommodating, especially when you take the time to learn a few phrases in Burmese ( hello = Mingalaba). We are definitely planning to come back to Myanmar and would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adelyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    629
    170
    46
    14
See reviews for
154
587
65
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I dont' know how much this cost us, as we were booked into this hotel by the Journeys Within tour company, but I'm sure it was worth the cost. This is a delightful hotel in a wonderful location, although you will need some sort of transportation to get anywhere. Nothing other than the nice walk around the lake that we could see nearby. Apparently this used to be a private club on the lake, but whoever did the conversion to a hotel knew what they were doing.
Check in and check out were both efficient and pleasant.
The rooms are well appointed and of a convenient size. Our room was facing the street, but there was no traffic noise that we were aware of during the night.
The breakfast has a good assortment of both eastern and western cuisine. The service is very good. We enjoyed most of our breakfasts on the outside terrace. Look for the dinosaur.
There is soothing music on a classical Burmese instrument in the lobby in the evening. Also a well stocked bar by the lobby.
We only ate dinner here one evening, but the food in the dining room was very good.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AhabofLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa Heads
Level Contributor
699 reviews
246 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

The Kandawgyi Hotel is very nice indeed. It doesn't quite make 5 stars though - mainly for the same reasons as all Myanmar Hotels in that they just don't quite get it yet.

The hotel is in a great location. There is a very nice walk along the lake which is just outside the hotel and the views on this walk are pretty cool indeed with the pagoda reflecting on the lake.

The food is good but pretty pricey (as are the drinks) but I guess that is what you get when you stay in a good hotel nowadays.

Service is pretty good but not exceptional - they try but need more training I think.

We asked for a late checkout and were going to charge us for an extra hour - pretty needlessly pissing us off when the hotel was clearly almost empty and there could have been no urgent need for the room.

Room Tip: we only had a superior room - the lake rooms are probably better for the view but I guess will be mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Unlike the Park Royals & Chatrium's which are priced similarly .. Kandawgyi stands out in terms of rustic charm without losing too much of modern amenities which we have come to expect.

Service: impeccable. Checking in was flawless, with complementary drinks and checked in was done at the lounge area instead of having to queue up in lines.

Room: very big! Clean. Toilet was well stocked with amenities

Pool: located at the edge of the premise with the lake just next to it. Well, considering its surrounded by foliage, i guess such environments aint for everyone. Still, the pool was clean.

Location: 15mins walk to the Shwe Pagoda which i assume is No.1 on every tourist wish list. My complain is that the nearest convenience store (City Mart) is quite a distance. And finding reasonably priced, non-hotel food might be a challenge.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

I stayed 3 nights in this hotel and was part of a conference that was hosted here. The ambience is great; the service is excellent and the breakfast spread is good even for a vegetarian!
The rooms are well maintained and have a great view of Kandawgi lake. You just have to walk for 5 minutes out of the hotel and enjoy a early morning walk on the lake and the park.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pari R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
Level Contributor
286 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Entering the Kandawgyi Palace Hotel for the first time in 2011, I knew at once that I would not stay anywhere else in Yangon again. I am back this year and made sure that I had reservations here. From the first singsong Mingalaba, you know you have arrived at a hotel with excellent service values. Beautiful architecture allows you to really immerse yourself in the Myanmarese culture. A huge breakfast buffet leaves you spoilt for choice.The view of Shwe Dagon Pagoda and the lake from the windows, makes it one of the best 'hotels with a view'.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GitaChennai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
121 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Great location next to the lake, modern facilities, nice rooms, good service, fair price. The restaurant is rated just fair and expensive and not recommended. The service is excellent, the pool is nice and the grounds are well kept. I would stay here again but eat out, too many good places to eat.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zato1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.3 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel
Rose Garden Hotel
#9 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#5 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,524 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Esperado Lake View Hotel
Esperado Lake View Hotel
#13 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
1.6 mi away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#7 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel

Property: The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
Address: Kan Yeik Tha Road | Mingalar Taung Nyunt Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#6 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#7 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#8 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#12 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, JovagoAsia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
Hotel Kandawgyi Palace
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing