We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The only place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
Ranked #15 of 150 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The only place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

The Kandawgyi Palace has it all. It is a beautiful hotel set on the edge of a lake and nestled amongst the lush green gardens. Service is fantastic and you feel welcome as you walk through the doors and are greeted by the staff. The restaurants offer good food with breakfast starting at 5.30 am so that an early start to explore the wonderful city is easy. Ask for a lake view room as this adds to the peace and tranquility that this hotel offers. I would highly recommend this hotel to both travellers and business visitors. Internet can be a little slow sometimes but this is Myanmar. Stay here just once and you will want to return.

Room Tip: Lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SingaporeJanine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    467
    639
    174
    46
    15
See reviews for
159
598
69
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Arriving at the hotel is very impressive. The building is beautiful and you are warmly greeted by staff upon arrival. Our bags were whisked into the building and while we were being checked in we were offered a refreshing drink and cool towel.

The breakfast was mixed a Asian and Western spread all items were done well. We did notice that items towards the end of breakfast were not replaced. The hotel offers breakfast boxes for those early morning flights (it comes with water but getting liquids past airport security was hit and miss during our time in Myanmar). We asked for a box but were also able to squeeze in a quick cup of coffee and some items from the buffet.

The rooms were spacious but furnishing was somewhat dated. The bathroom was impressively marbled which gets rather slick when wet.

The property is very large and it is easy to get turned around while trying to find different amenities so don't get too cleaver taking any staircase assuming it will get you to the same place as the others do.

Our only complaint is the noise isolation within the rooms. We very easily heard muffled conversation from adjacent rooms and noise from the hallway was very clear. For example, we could very clearly hear the music from the hallway speakers to the point we thought someone had left their cell phone in the room or the alarm was going off. We were very confused until we left the room.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quentin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
640 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

A pleasure to stay at this hotel, we were fortunate to be upgraded both times in the last fortnight, staff are friendly and helpful.
Grounds and gardens are well maintained and clean, great view over the lake, pool clean and in a good position.
Breakfast you have a varied selection of foods, service also efficient.
Ate at Thiri cafe for dinner which was also good food, live music in the background was a added bonus.
I would recommend this hotel to stay for short or long term.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris101111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Thanks to all the staff at kandawgyi palace hotel for making our business trip successful. You were all so attentive, polite and helpful. The live music in the lobby was also very pleasant. Breakfasts were outstanding!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra_and_david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, Manchester
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Fantastic looking hotel as built from teak, great little coffee shop area within the large reception area. Staff are very friendly and helpful. We had a lake front deluxe room and although we were slightly sceptical re: flying insects we had no problems at all and it was great to come out of the room and sit on the little bench at the end of the decking facing over the lake. Although there wasn't an extensive choice at breakfast the quality was very good and there was enough for us to choose from (cereals/pastries/fruit/egg station). Only negative for the Hotel is that it's a little way out from the centre of Yangon, however you can walk to the Shwedagon Pagoda and taxis are plentiful and cheap.

Room Tip: For a nice room outlook I'd recommend the Lake Front deluxe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peachy-tutti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Staying in Kandawgyi was a pleasant experience. I had half expected the hotel to be that good, since Myanmar is just opening up. But I got 5-star treatment. I liked the old architecture of the hotel blending with modern conveniences. The staff were helpful and cheerful. The only weak point was the series of brownouts we experienced in the main conference hall, where our group had a workshop.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

This is a really nice property in Yangon. Rooms are very nice, clean and good internet and air conditioning. Buffet breakfast was excellent, beautiful grounds and views. Staff was very welcoming and very helpful. The only con is it is not near anything to walk to, I like being able to explore a city and here you can not do that. But otherwise it is a really nice atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.3 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel
Rose Garden Hotel
#10 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#9 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Esperado Lake View Hotel
Esperado Lake View Hotel
#13 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
1.6 mi away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#5 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel

Property: The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
Address: Kan Yeik Tha Road | Mingalar Taung Nyunt Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#6 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#7 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#8 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#12 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, JovagoAsia, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
Hotel Kandawgyi Palace
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing