We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely local feel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
Ranked #15 of 151 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
269 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Lovely local feel”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This hotel was recommended to me by a friend who lived in Myanmar with his family for six months.... he and his wife spent their anniversary at the Kandawgyi. It did not disappoint. We had originally been booked at a place that looked like any large western hotel and were pleased to have made the change to a place that felt more like Myanmar.

The rooms were beautiful - good products in the bathroom - including toothbrushes.... We had a view of the lake which was gorgeous - the hotel has a pool - which we did not take advantage of as it was raining while we were there - but it was right on the lake and was pretty.

We had room service the first night as we were exhausted - food was fine - not super exciting, but edible and not too expensive. The drinks were quite expensive ($4 for a soda - which for Myanmar was a king's ransom)

You can change money at the hotel - but the hours are limited and are not posted - so ask - because we didn't, and were there over a weekend and were unable to change money. There is an ATM in the hotel lobby, but it was "finished" while we were there :-) ATMs are still new to Myanmar - bring cash (dollars or euros) with you rather than count on ATMs.

We left Yangon for nearly a week and were able to leave our bags at the Kandawgyi so we didn't have to drag everything with us. Would recommend the hotel

Room Tip: get a view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFOglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    477
    646
    176
    48
    16
See reviews for
161
606
73
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I spent a week at the hotel for a business meeting. The arrangements for the meeting were very good and the staff were very attentive.
The hotel itself lies in a beautiful spot next to a lake. A morning walk on the wooden bridge in the lake is a good way to start the day. But remember to bring some money if you are a foreigner and recognisable as such. There is a 2000 kyat entrance fee.
The hotel itself is comfortable. Everything that is supposed to work did. Wifi in the room was welcome. Pity that there was no fitness facilities. Under construction apparently.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HGinCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jakarta
Level Contributor
195 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

When you want a beautiful sceneries right on your hotel room window in Yangon, choose no other than here.
The room is comfort and the pool is very nice overlooking the lake.
I love the outdoorbar area where you could see the lotus pond

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vayastra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The location of the hotel by the lake and relatively close to the Shwedagon pagoda makes it a good choice at Yangon. But the food, the level of service expected of the service staff and reception staff is average. The understanding of English by the staff seems to be the stumbling block. I have stayed 4 times at the hotel over the last 18 months but have not seen any improvement in the condition of its rooms or quality of service. I am sure with good training of its service staff and maintenance of the rooms, the hotel will be a much better one than what it is right now. A lot of noise from people speaking in the corridors filters into the rooms making it quiet noisy at times especially in the nights.

Room Tip: Request for a lake view or the Shwedagon view. There is no elevator access to some of the rooms on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Akhileswaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

This beautiful teak grand hotel is set amongst beautiful gardens and exudes ambience of a bygone era but with all mod cons. Rooms were very comfortable with regard to bedding and amenities. Plumbing worked well. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in July in a very comfortable 4th floor lake view room. The hotel met our expectations of a 5 star hotel, and in a market where demand often exceeds supply, while not cheap, the hotel was good value at the rate we were offered.
We ate at the French restaurant Agnes one night and it was very nice indeed.
Staff were friendly and the picturesque location made for a pleasant stay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank davestan12016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This hotel is very nice, huge, clean, and tidy. Has lots of trees, and water surrounding it. I got a very nice room, with beautiful view. The swimming pool was clean and beautiful. All the staff are very helpful and polite. I like the type of furniture and ornaments and the decoration those are local styles. I love looking at the gems and jeweleries in the shops of that hotel. Should have bought more. The restaurant in that hotel had very nice quality of food, like home made. We really enjoyed our stay and the food in this hotel. If I go back to Yangon, would love to stay in this hotel again. The only inconvenient was to pay every transaction in cash (in USD or kyats). No credit cards accepted.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rini W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Kandawgyi Palace Hotel is our most favorite hotel every time when we visit Yangon. We must have stayed here for the past 10-12 trips over last few years. The Reception ladies are always so polite & concierge boys go out of their ways to help hotel guests.

It's a joy to stay at this hotel, as it is nestled in the midst of lavish landscape directly next to the charming lake! Thumbs up.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WilliamLau2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.3 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel
Rose Garden Hotel
#9 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
312 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,473 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
2,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,338 reviews
1.4 mi away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#3 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
924 reviews
0.6 mi away
Esperado Lake View Hotel
Esperado Lake View Hotel
#13 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel

Property: The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
Address: Kan Yeik Tha Road | Mingalar Taung Nyunt Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#6 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#7 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#8 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#13 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, JovagoAsia, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Odigeo, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
Hotel Kandawgyi Palace
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing