We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A classy place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
Ranked #15 of 149 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    467
    638
    174
    46
    15
See reviews for
159
597
69
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
206 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2010

we stayed here a few years ago after travelling around burma for 3 weeks. it was the perfect end to a wonderful trip in a beautiful country. i would stay here again any time when back in Yangon

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fabiofort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2010

Beautiful place located right next to the lake. Great staff, wonderful food and an atmosphere that cannot be beaten.
Other better known places in Yangon have no heart but this has thanks to its incredibly helpful and kind-hearted staff.
We had a great stay and will go back next year.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elilagalesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2010

The many positives
The location and setting is unbeatable. Sheltered from the Yangon shabbiness and traffic yet a short taxi ride away from the sights and downtown area. There are better hotels at much higher prices but they all seem to be located on busy roads with no atmosphere. Kandawgyi has a nice pool and outdoor area set in a stunning garden setting. Very friendly staff especially the travel desk who helped with flight bookings and loads of general advice regarding trains etc. Breakfast buffet was great.
The one negative
Other reviewers comments that the standard rooms are a bit tired and dark are probably accurate. Nothing too seriously wrong or unpleasant but they could be better. I guess its all relative to the price... the standard rooms are not expensive compared to other hotels.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrettSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
166 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2009

A tip: contact a travel agent in Yangon to book hotels (and flights/guides, if you like) for you for your entire trip in Myanmar. We booked this hotel online and paid about 10% more than we would have had we worked with our travel agent (we only found this out after!). We worked with William at Good News Travel - highly recommended.

The hotel:

Pros:
- Beautiful garden setting, including a dinosaur!
- Great views of the gleaming gold Shwedgon Paya from some rooms
- Right on the lake, which is surrounded by a lovely wooden boardwalk, great for running or walking in the mornings
- Staff were generally very nice, especially the concierge and the bell hops (they always negotiated the rates with the taxi drivers for us and confirmed our destinations with them - very nice!)
- Lobby is beautiful, a great place for tea or to curl up and read a book

Cons:
- Rooms are a bit worn, not as modern as some of the hotels closer to town (we stayed in the ParkRoyal later in our trip - nicer rooms and location but staff weren't very helpful/nice)
- You can't access the lovely wooden boardwalk around the lake from the hotel; in fact, it costs $2 per person to use it!
- Not an easy walk to town; you'll need to take a taxi (not a big problem, though - $2 to pretty much anywhere in downtown that we wanted to go)
- The "fitness center" is a joke - it's a few rusted, old pieces of machinery sitting on a deck outdoors

If you go to Yangon, definitely try Monsoon restaurant (in town, not too far from the Strand Hotel). Excellent!!

Also, don't bother with the hotel's pickup service. The taxi drivers are very honest; just pick one as you leave the terminal and tell him the hotel name (pronounced: "Kan-dodgy"). Agree on the price upfront - it should be $8 most times of the day; a little more at night. It's fine to pay in dollars (US, just make sure that they're very new bills with no marks or tears).

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aml888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.3 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel
Rose Garden Hotel
#10 of 149 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#9 of 149 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 149 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Esperado Lake View Hotel
Esperado Lake View Hotel
#13 of 149 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
1.6 mi away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 149 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#5 of 149 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel

Property: The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
Address: Kan Yeik Tha Road | Mingalar Taung Nyunt Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#6 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#7 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#8 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#12 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, JovagoAsia, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
Hotel Kandawgyi Palace
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing