We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Yangon Kaba Aye
Ranked #56 of 163 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2014

My wife and I stayed for a period of sixteen days at the Micasa Hotel Apartments in February and March this year.
Over this period the service was exceptional and staff were very attentative to our needs.
Rooms were cleaned daily and the hotel was well maintained for an older hotel.
The Taxi ride to downtown Scott market took about 30 minutes in peak traffic.
Although not in the down town area the hotel was a nice restful place to stay away from busy down town Yangon.
Breakfast was both western and Burmese and we had no complaints with what was on offer.
Hotel prices in Yangon are far to expensive, including the Micasa, in comparison to other asian cities and long term these high prices cannot be sustained if Myanmar wants to see a boom in its tourist trade. This is our second stay at the Micasa and trust prices will be more competative next time we visit.

Room Tip: A second story room over looking the pool is nice, as long as there are no major functions going on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2014

Had a apartment type room with a double bedroom and a twim room. The place was very clean overall, spacious with a small kitchen. Staff was very helpful when we caught a taxi to the airport early in the morning, they helped us to bargain the fair with the driver since they tend to charge extra for foreigners and will increase the price for early morning and late night trips. Breakfast was great, we stayed for a few nights and noticed they rotate some of the options on different mornings while keeping the usual stuff (suitable for western travellers) every morning. I stayed at 3 other hotels in Yangon, and trust me, you would like your hotel to serve food that won't make you sick.

Price-wise, you really can't complain too much, because hotel prices have risen two or three times or more in recent years. Gym was average, has most of the stuff you need. Pool, I didn't dare to swim in it as I saw many birds standing by the edge of the pool and I am pretty sure the water can't be that clean.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DC2014311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I have been to Myanmar 7 times and this was my first time trying this hotel based on a local's recommendation. I liked the 2 bedroom option, the pool and the hotel restaurant. I felt the price was reasonable despite the high hotel prices that Yangon has seen due to the increase in tourism. The internet connection speed was horrible. The rooms were also rather smokey despite that they were non smoking rooms. We lost power several times during our stay. The hotel is in walking distance to L'Opera and the downtown area of Yangon. The staff are friendly but the rooms are tired and outdated. The laundry prices were very reasonable.

Room Tip: If you are looking for space, try the two bedroom option. Make sure that you bring some Febreeze to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lewis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We spent six nights at this hotel. It is located on a busy street some distance from downtown.the room was a regular size,was clean and everything worked. The staff were particularly good, polite and helpful. The breakfasts offered a good variety. We did not eat dinner at the restaurant as it was too smokey. Smokers and non smokers are close together in the same room. To access the local ethnic food you had to go into the smoking section. There are two good restaurants next door and a barbecue restaurant a little further away. There are many taxis available with good rates if you negotiate. Our room was close to the elevator so we heard people as they would talk when entering the elevator and when they exited. We could also clearly hear the ding-dong of the bell.
The pool is a good size. The water is cold but refreshing. I did get the itch the first time in and informed the staff who tested the water and added the right chemicals.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dennis07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Room are good but furnitures are quiet old, air conditioning is very noisy in some particular rooms. The saff is very friendly and you can ask whatever you want. Breakfast is perfect, very good choice from asian to european food. The hotel is a little bit expensive.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurent A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

MiCasa is a very good Yangon option in many ways. Its open design means you're not inside all the time, it has a good size pool, its kitchenettes mean that you can choose what you eat and the Malaysia-style cuisine served in its restaurant offers a welcome break from Burmese.

Its one big problem is that it doesn't have a non-smoking floor. Parquetry floors in the apartments do minimise the impact, but you can't be guaranteed a room that doesn't smell of smoke - and some corridors are absolutely putrid. The staff were very accommodating when we requested a room change, but it means you could never safely book for a larger group.

I understand that the hotel mainly caters for Asian businessmen, many of whom appreciate the pro-smoker policy, but it would make good business sense to set aside one floor for those of us who don't.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Global_academic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

Mi Casa is a great alternative to hotels, especially with hotels being rather expensive in Yangon. There were five of us travelling and we stayed in a 2 bedrooms apartment with an extra bed. The rooms were very clean, staffs were very helpful, we enjoyed having a pool to laze around and cocktails before bedtime. Location is not bad, the lake, Fancy House (massage and beauty joint), barber and local eateries are within 15min walk. Taxi is also readily available.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frecklecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Parami - Yangon
Hotel Parami - Yangon
#32 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
100 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inya Lake Hotel, Yangon
Inya Lake Hotel, Yangon
#29 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
496 reviews
0.9 mi away
Melia Yangon
Melia Yangon
#3 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Best Western Green Hill Hotel
Best Western Green Hill Hotel
#16 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
453 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sedona Hotel Yangon
Sedona Hotel Yangon
#14 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,147 reviews
3.5 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
#10 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Yangon Kaba Aye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Yangon Kaba Aye

Address: 17 Kaba Aye Pagoda Road | Yankin Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11082, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#22 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: £48 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Yangon Kaba Aye 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Yangon Kaba Aye is your ideal Yangon abode. Its seven storeys are conveniently situated just 10 km from Yangon International Airport and a short drive from University of Yangon. You are within walking distance of Inya Lake, Myanmar International School Yangon (MISY), Myanmar Investment Commission (MIC), two hospitals and Myanmar Plaza shopping centre. For such a central location, the hotel is a surprising oasis of peace and calm. All 183 rooms and apartments feature complimentary high-speed WiFi and creative décor inspired by Myanmar people and culture. For long-stay guests, Mercure Yangon Kaba Aye proudly offers one-, two- and three-bedroom apartments with a fully equipped kitchen and separate lounge/dining room. Enjoy the local and international flavours of our contemporary restaurant, serving a bountiful buffet – as well as à la carte dishes – from early morning until late at night. The cosy bar is the perfect spot for relaxing drinks, light bites and good company. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Yangon Kaba Aye reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Yangon Kaba Aye Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing