We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value & good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Central Hotel Yangon
Ranked #73 of 151 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good value & good location”
Reviewed 25 December 2011

This is Myanmar. I do not expect too much for $26 per night for a double room. For me, it is a good value for what I pay.

The room is clean but a little bit old. My bed is not too soft or hard so I can sleep well but if your room is on the street side, you might hear some noises from the street.The bathroom is good and has no problem with hot water. It is nice to have a cold water from minibar in the room especially in summer. The A/C works well but no internet unfortunately. TV has many channels including Channel 3 of Thailand so my Thai friends do not miss their favorite series and shows.

The location is perfect. You can walk to the local market to get some water, food or postcard. For the gift, Scott Market is just 5 mins walking. Sakura Tower, the tallest building in Yangon, is only one block from the hotel. Sky Bistro on its 20th floor has the nice lunch/dinner with the wonderful view of Yangon and Shwedagon especially in the night but it's not cheap. There also is a place to exchange money in there.

Breakfast is good enough. There are some choices to choose. I actually like stir-fried noodle. The staffs in breakfast room are nice although can not speak English so well.

The staffs at the counter are helpful. They help us to prepare our breakfast boxes because we have to leave for early morning flight. One of my friend forgot her camera battery with the charger in her room when we checked out and flew to Bagan. They kept it safely and she can get it back a week later when we come back to stay with them again in the last night before fly out of Myanmar.

Tips for money exchange: there is no ATM in Myanmar and few places accept credit cards so all travelers need to carry US dollar with you. Do not exchange on the street or the black market unless you check every bill carefully. If not, you might end up with less Kyats you are supposed to receive. Myanmar currency (Kyat) has only bills (no coins) and they have both old and new bills so you can be confused easily.You can also exchange at the hotel counter but the best place to exchange is at the bank counter in the airport or SOME branches in Yangon (harder to find one in other cities). I did at the airport and a bank closed to Sule Paya. However,there are fussy rules for every bank to accept your US dollar bills.
1) Must be $100 bill only.
2) Must be brand-new bill without any marks or folds.
3) The number on the bill must NOT start with 'BC' and 'CB'
If you want to exchange with other currencies or smaller than $100 bill, you have to do with the hotel or black market.

Tip for the taxi: it should be 6,000 Kyats for a taxi (2-3 persons) from Yangon International Airport to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the room which is not on the main street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank navigator_th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    100
    142
    24
    17
See reviews for
36
90
45
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Kuching
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Room is big and clean. Bathroom clean. Hot water takes a few minutes to work. Booked online with travel agent for a Deluxe Double bed Room with extra bed but the agent cheated us by booking and paying hotel for a superior room only. Hotel staff are helpful. Hotel exchange rate is just as good as airport rates. 800 kyats to USD$1.
Someone posted recommending Joseph, a cab driver as a guide. I emailed and arranged a 2 and a half day tour of Yangon, Bago and Thanlyin with him for USD$200. I second that he is a good, nice and honest guide. He helped us to the best currency exchange rates as well as eating cheap, yummy local food. His email is josephyangon@gmail.com
Hotel is close proximity to Bogyoke market. Huge place. Must bargain. 

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank yim1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

I stayed here my first night in Myanmar because I couldn't find any other hotel in my price range. It wasn't a good choice unfortunately. Carpet in the room...yuck. The sheets had obviously been slept in already! So I called the front desk and they sent a housekeeper to change the sheets. She was quick and apologetic. But still...I had to ask? For a $35 room in Myanmar I had to ask for clean sheets? Unforgivable in my opinion. But the bathroom was perfectly fine. And the breakfast was okay too.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pdxjimOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

The Central Hotel in Yangon is a good central (sic) hotel for lower cost accommodation. It has its limitations, fading decor, low lighting, expensive laundry, adequate, but no more, breakfasts and a scruffy 'locals' bar. Guests are secondary to the many weddings it hosted during my visit. Internet is adequate, most of the time but no WiFi.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scorchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Stayed here for a night after a long haul flight (London to Yangon).

The hotel is in a great location; around the corner from the train station (we got a train there to Mandalay), taxi drivers knew exactly where it was and it is kind of in the centre of a fairly spread out city.

Rooms were a bit dated but clean and comfortable.

The front desk changes money and had the best rates we came across. Note: in Myanmar there are next to no ATMs so you need to bring your money with you in the form of US dollars and the Burmese strangely don't like any marks on the notes whatsoever. Never change money on the street and always check any dollars they give you back carefully as they are sometimes counterfeit. You can pay for hotels, trains, buses and planes in dollars but you will need some local money for food etc.

There is a beauty salon upstairs which does haircuts (did not get one), nails and massages. My boyfriend and I had a head and shoulders massage and it was pretty good and only around $5

This isn't a luxurious hotel, but it's clean and well located, has great money changing rates and cheap massages.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank eleanorlondon86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Not a lot of effort being put into this place. It had that "old" feeling to it, everything from the room to the lifts to the restaurant. Good location and you can get a cab in seconds from the front door - Right across the street from the main market too. The 'spa' upstairs is the dubious kind where men proposition the girls at all hours of the day. We stayed one night and it was fine, any more nights and we wouldn't have been sure.

Note that the money exchange counter offered the best exchange rate we could find in Myanmar, but that also meant they were the most picky with the crispness of the US bills. If you're bringing in US $100's to start your trip, go there and change your money - you need your passport. We were at the end of our trip and were changing $20's so the rate was a bit lower, still better than on the street though.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank canadiann0mad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

With such a price, the hotel is of reasonable standard. The location and staffs are good. Certainly the hotel can consider changing its furniture. There is hot water for shower but was not hot enough. The most memorable experience is my breakfast experience where the food spread is reasonable and I got to interact with a lot other tourists. Overall, simple hotel that is worth staying...

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexchanwb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.0 mi away
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
#30 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clover City Center
Clover City Center
#33 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.1 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#45 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtown)
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtow...
#23 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Star Hotel
City Star Hotel
#46 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beautyland Hotel II
Beautyland Hotel II
#77 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Hotel Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hotel Yangon

Property: Central Hotel Yangon
Address: 335/357, Bogyoke Aung San Road | Pabedan Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 151 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Central Hotel Yangon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Central Hotel Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Central Hotel Yangon Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing