We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate for a short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Central Hotel Yangon
Ranked #73 of 151 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Singapore
Level Contributor
89 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Adequate for a short stay”
Reviewed 7 August 2012

The hotel is old, dimly lit and gloomy looking. However if you are in Yangon for only one or two nights and do not stay in the room in the day (eg, up and about sightseeing), then it is an inexpensive place. Very conveniently located, it is within walking distance to the Bogyoke Aung San market and a nearby mall and supermarket called Ruby Mart. It is also near a cinema and other local shops where you can get inexpensive local meals. Next to the hotel is the slightly more upmarket Traders Hotel where you can try out their F & B outlets if you prefer not to dine at Central Hotel.

The hotel provides money changing services and even offers to send breakfast to my room at 4 am, in time for me to catch an early flight. You can get free wifi at the hotel lobby. There is supposed to be free wifi in the room too but the signals were too weak where my room was located.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LuoCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    100
    142
    24
    17
See reviews for
36
90
45
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We stayed here two nights and dreaded it so much. The room was so old and in desperate need of renovation. The wallpaper was ripping off the wall, the bathroom ceiling was collapsing, the carpet was stained beyond repair, but the worst part was the dampness in the room which made the bed sheet feel moist and smelly.

Do yourself and your family a favor and stayed somewhere else a little more pleasant. The central location was not worth the unpleasantness of this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Leah_25122012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels

New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

In Myanmar, the most important thing is ease to convert currency. As it is so much devalued that you give few dollars and u get loads of Kyats that is very difficult to carry. So keep changing currency as and when required. Staaf is good. Average bfast, slow internet and they even switch off internet at 11 pm - very bad

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bharat1702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

This place is a cultural vacuum that is hard to fill or define. It does have a wonderful location next to Traders Hotel and a block from the "Scott Market". One has the feeling that little goes unnoticed and there is just something ODD but strangely affecting about the place. It has been about two years since I stayed there but I stopped by last week just to checknout the vibe. They are doing some referbishing so they are in step with the tone of the times. It is getting hard to find a reasonable hotel in Rangoon so the Central is looking to be a more attractive option at an affordable price. The Chinese food was good.

Room Tip: hi, it doesn't have a pool but it does have a massage place that gives a mean foot massage. i d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights when me and my family visited Yangon in end May'12.

Undeniable, the location of this hotel is quite strategic where it is near to Scott market. However, the building and rooms of this hotel are way too old. The rooms and the bathroom need renovation/upgrade desperately, even the bed lining/bedsheets and wallpapers The lighting in the room is too dim and dark which make us feel very uncomfortable.

For breakfast, ample choices of food and food is tasty. The only drawback is the breakfast place got no air-conditioner, not sure it broke down during my visit or it got no air-conditioner all the time. So the entire breakfast place was stuffy and smelly.

One good thing about this hotel is all the staffs are very polite and with good attitude, especially the front desk staffs.

However, if I would travel to Yangon again, I will choose other hotel for a more comfortable stay. My family wasn't too happy with the stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eve83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Central Hotel is in a good location, has an impressive lobby and professional staff.
The room was in need of redecoration with scruffy wallpaper ruining any feeling of quality.
It had a new LCD TV and desk with the best in room Internet I’d found in Myanmar.
Food and breakfast were good.
Best hotel breakfast and food that I had in Myanmar in a 3 week visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank peaceofangkor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miri, Malaysia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

It's a good place to stay for travellers who are after a good rest and nothing fancy. Afterall, it's only a 3-star hotel.
Staffs are friendly and helpful. Room is clean. Convenient location and it's only walking distance from Bogyoke Aung San Market.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CrystalYee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.0 mi away
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
#29 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clover City Center
Clover City Center
#33 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.1 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#45 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtown)
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtow...
#23 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Star Hotel
City Star Hotel
#46 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beautyland Hotel II
Beautyland Hotel II
#80 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Hotel Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hotel Yangon

Property: Central Hotel Yangon
Address: 335/357, Bogyoke Aung San Road | Pabedan Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 151 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Central Hotel Yangon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Central Hotel Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Central Hotel Yangon Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing