We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good location, quite old but still acceptable (in price) :D”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Central Hotel Yangon
Ranked #74 of 159 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Reviewed 14 February 2013

It seems quite old type hotel, located strategically in downtown area. Near Bogyoke Aung San market, Sule Pagoda, Central Railway & Aung san stadium. First time come in, the carpets quite smell, just like lil bit wet, you know. My window has no good views, only wall. they have uite vary menus for breakfast, also restaurants for dinner if you go nowhere at night. And I've got discount! Maybe because I move from other hotel ;) For a superior standard room, it's the cheapest one than some other hotels nearby.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ms_lime13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (304)
There are newer reviews for Central Hotel Yangon
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 304 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2013

I stayed in 2 different rooms during my trip to Myanmar. The first room I stayed was 209. The room was dark but acceptably clean. The trouble appeared when I tried to close the curtain at night and found out that the curtain rail was broken and I couldn't move the curtain further leaving the gap about 50 cm. between the two sides. I was so exhausted to get neither repair nor room change at that time so I decided to use my hair band to tide the curtain together during two nights of our stay and it worked somehow.

The second stay was in the room 304. The room had better look since the curtain was newer and the wall light had better look. The trouble this time came from the toilet. The water kept pouring out from the toilet tank all the time and soaking the floor. I was afraid that the room might get flood at night so I had to turn off the faucet of the toilet tank. I again too exhuasted after a long trip to Bago to make any complaint to the hotel.

The hotel had two elevators but one of them was out-of-use at that time. The other one was on the blink, it refused to close its door all the time that the hotel had to assign an elevator boy to close the door from inside one day during our stay. Both of the elevators were out-of-use on one afternoon that my unhealthy mom in her 70s had to climed up a flght of staires to our room on the third floor!

The location of the hotel is the best to get aroun in town. The rates of our triple superior was 68$ a night through an agency. Some other agencies quoted around 100$ for a double deluxe but said the rooms were all fully booked. Check the price with as many agencies as possible since price varies so much between agencies and some of them may be more powerful to get a room for you.

There is a money exchange counter at the hotel lobby with the rate a little bit better than the rate at the bank in the airport. However, the exchange counter opens late around 9 AM and closes early at around 4 PM. If you are in need of Kyats, the hotel can change money for you at an acceptable rate about 20-30 Kyats less than the bank rate.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kumaneko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

this is the best example of you get what you pay for. The hotel is located in a very good location. The room is clean, bathroom is also clean and decent. Breakfast tastes pretty good, and they offer quite a range of variety there. Staff are friendly and helpful as well, for the most part.
Here are the reasons why I'm rating them 3/5. There's no hairdryer in the bathroom. Although they do provide you with one upon request, it's barely servicable. Our travel agent booked us a double bed room, but they gave us 2 single beds room. We requested a room change and they simply replied there aren't any double bed room left. Obviously we didn't get any compensation, nor did they even apologize. If you are booking through travel agent, do make sure it's a double bed room before you even arrive Myanmar.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Winston H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

We stayed at hotel 1 night only for 60 $/double with breakfast. Not so bad. Rooms were clean enough, baths were very good. Not bad restaurant - beef was good and not spicy. Good location. Near the hotel you`ll find big market to buy souveniers from Myanmar. But, stuff are not friendly and completely helpless. When i asked, have we enough time for breakfast (because we had early flight to Bangkok) they told me, then the airport is far away from hotel and we`ll spend at least 40 minutes to go there(without traffic jams), so we should starting earlier. The way took us 15 minutes only...

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luluka35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

We needed a room for our last night in Myanmar, some of the other hotels quoted unrealistic rates. Finally we ended up with Central, they gave us a good rate and the hotel was decent enough. They offered the best breakfast during our stay in MYanmar and also the rooms were up to western standards, a bit of the '90s feeling, but very clean and nice. The staff was friendly and the xmas decoration in the lobby brought smile to our face whenever entered or left the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vizslabp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We have stayed here several times already, because we like the location. There's been some renovation since our last visit. The rooms have been redecorated and i believe they may be all non smoking, thankfully, but for some reason they allow people to smoke in the corridors so now smoke drifts into everybodys room, most annoying. Whilst we were there they were upgrading the lifts and one was out of service which meant you had to wait sometimes for the lift and enjoy everybodys stink. Once they've sorted out the smokers it will be back on track to be awarded a 4 out of 5. Though value for money is being challenged by escalating room rates (50% increase from last year) but general for all Burmese hotels.

Room Tip: Non smokers be aware!
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Merl1n2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Unfortunately we spent 2 nights in this hotel. ( superieur room 80 USD) January 2013
Please check our photos of the hotel. It is very dirty, they have never cleaned the rugs or curtains.
They have not invested a penny in the last 15 years to keep well the hotel.
We got grey towels instead of white ones. Rusty celiling in the bathroom.
The first time in Myanmar that staff was not helpful at all.
Smells like humidity in the rooms and the corridors. The sheets smelled like mothball.
The elevators were not working for a couple of hours.
And the best of all : at 6 am there is a machine working ( we do not know what it is doing) very very noisy so you have to get up.

The 2 positives points of this hotel : location and very fast internet.
Yes it is true there a not a lot of hotels in myanmar, but I am sure for 80 usd is possible to get something al least clean. In fact all our hotels in differents regions we payed 80 USD and they were great.
Next day we went to Bangkok, we got a 5 stars hotel super clean, modern, well situated for 90 USD. If hotels continue to charge prices likes this one, tourist would prefer to go back to Thailand or vietnam.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Veronica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.0 mi away
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
#30 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
253 reviews
0.1 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#51 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
597 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clover City Center
Clover City Center
#40 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtown)
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtow...
#20 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
494 reviews
0.3 mi away
Panorama Hotel
Panorama Hotel
#52 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
281 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)
Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)
#27 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Hotel Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hotel Yangon

Address: 335/357, Bogyoke Aung San Road | Pabedan Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 159 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: £38 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Central Hotel Yangon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Odigeo so you can book your Central Hotel Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Central Hotel Yangon Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing