We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smile”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Central Hotel Yangon
Ranked #71 of 150 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Smile”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013 via mobile

Good location you can walk around in the night or get something to eat. A little too dark and noise in the night but the room is big. WiFi are slow, at least there's one. They serve good breakie and if you're leaving to the airport before the restaurant ready for breakfas,t do ask the reception ready a simple breakfast for you bring to the airport. =)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VincentPhang_vip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    100
    142
    24
    17
See reviews for
36
90
45
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

Great beds, big room with a central location. Central surprised us as it looked fairly ordinary when we entered the lobby and on our first stay we had an I renovated room which was clean but need reprinting, etc, but was still comfortable. On our return we stayed one floor up in a renovated room which was fine.
Good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MahoutMal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

As the name suggest, Central is really centrally located within walking distance to Bogyoke market, Sule Paya, Hiogh Court building, Central Railway station, restaurants, Maha Mandula Garden, Muslim, Indian & chinese shopping area.

Reception, Bellboys and House Keeping staff are very friendly. Bellboys go out of their way to assist. Restaurant is located on lobby level and serves buffet breakfast 6am - 10am, lunch and dinner. Buffet breakfast is combination of Western, Chinese & Myanmar dishes & pasteries, fruits and a stall with chef serving hot Chicken noodle soup. Hot items are changed daily. Quality of buffet breakfast is good.

Hotel has 6 floors. On mezzanine floor is located their ballroom. During weekends, sometime up to 5 - 6 weddings takes place. 6th floor has a popular massage parlor, manucure & padicure salon. No rooms on 6th flor. Guest rooms from 1st till 5th floor. 2 lift serving all floors.

Rooms are on front, left, right and back of building. The center is an atrium with some natural light filtering through and open to ballroom on 1st floor.

We stayed in their superior rooms on 5th floor. Rooms are spacious with clen beds, writing table with flat screen TV, mini bar, coffee/tea making facilities and sitting tabale with 2 chairs.
(Wish reading light was brighter). Each room guest is provided a water bottle (replendished daily) Salelite TV with CNN and many movies shown.

Bathroom are of good size wth dryer, bathtub/shower, toiletries - shampoo, shower cap, toothbruch & soap (replendished daily)

There is Malaysia Airlines office attached to the lobby area and money changing bank with good exchange rates.

I would highly rate this hotel for its friendly staff and clean large room.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front of the hotel will better than the right, left and back of reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank andymuni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandefjord, Norway
Level Contributor
373 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

The hotel is as the name suggest located very centrally. 10 min walk from the railway station, a few blocks from the Market, Sule pagoda etc. Lot of eateries near by, among other some western options, like Zagyi Cafe accross the street
Big rooms, wifi.
Of some reason their towels arrived wrapped in plastic, and smelled really, really bad!
It is a very busy road outside, so expect a bit of noise. Also very popular for weddings and functions, and some time plays extremely loud music (can be better to avoid rooms on 2 nd floor). Thankfully this ended fairly early when we stayed here

Breakfast was rather boring

There is a beauty parlour/massage, however we did not test it

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank abcnord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

We stayed here on 3 seperate occasions during our 28 days in Myanmar. As everybody says, rooms are dated, but large, comfortable, clean. Laundry service is reasonable, breakfast good. Staff friendly and helpful. One lift never working the whole time we were there, and the one that works is pretty slow, so take the stairs :)

Room Tip: try to be away from the lift area rooms 10,11,12 on each floor would be the ones to avoid if possibl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
83 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

The location is good, near to the Bogyoke market and the Sule Pagoda.

Room is spacious enough for 3 persons, clean but basic. Bathroom is small, and no hooks can be found to hand clothes during shower.

We checked out the next morning at 4am and the hotel had prepared packed breakfast consisting of a banana, hard boiled egg, bread and water. It seems that all the hotels in Myanmar does pack breakfast should guest request it.

On our return to Yangon, we decided to upgrade to a better hotel

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OrangeWhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

Right next to Traders, across the street from Scott's market and an acceptable walk to many of the major things to do/see. Our room was a tad shabby, but was clean and everything worked just fine. CNN on TV, ok breakfast, decent bed. The noise insulation between rooms was not too good (fortunately our friends were staying next door), but that wasn't much of an issue. The wi-fi worked well, too - rare in Myanmar.

We did pay a pretty up-market price ($70 for a twin), but after staying at the Thamada up the street, we were happy for a nicer room in a cleaner hotel. We also stayed during the high season when most hotels in the country were sold out. The staff seemed pretty accommodating (we were making arrangements to add nights and people, we traveled with a large group) if not altogether friendly. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CalifornianInChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.0 mi away
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
#27 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clover City Center
Clover City Center
#32 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.1 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#44 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtown)
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtow...
#23 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Star Hotel & Restaurant
City Star Hotel & Restaurant
#45 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beautyland Hotel II
Beautyland Hotel II
#79 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Hotel Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hotel Yangon

Property: Central Hotel Yangon
Address: 335/357, Bogyoke Aung San Road | Pabedan Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 150 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Central Hotel Yangon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Central Hotel Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Central Hotel Yangon Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing