We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The problem is not with the hotel..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Central Hotel Yangon
Ranked #74 of 150 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The problem is not with the hotel..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Central hotel for our last night in Burma. The rooms are OK but the ,they arrange us take away breakfest for early in the morning leaving. But,no resturants nearby even the hotel located in the center. I rank it very good because i dont think the hotel have to suffer beacause of the terrrible city ,Yango,its located in!!!
For our luck we spend there hulf a day ,no to much to destroy the all tour in Burms.
If you can ,avoid this city!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank oi1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    100
    142
    24
    17
See reviews for
36
90
45
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
86 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

We spent one night here. It is old fashion hotel both inside and outside.
Good thing that it right on the main road, that is key advantage of this hotel.
with 80USD per night I am sure it can go further. Generally room is clean but got smoking smell in the room.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank proudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Central Hotel for our last night in Myanmar, what a deception after a gorgeous trip!
All rooms in the left wing (touching the Traders Hotel) are terribly noisy as all the aircons, generators and machines are exactly opposite the windows. Constant extremely loud humming day and night.
Around 5am terrible kitchen smells creep in, seems also that the kitchen is close, the windows are so bad that all comes in. Avoid this hotel!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TeresaChina2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

This hotel was booked by our local travel agent, and we paid $83 per night for a twin. This may seem expensive for what you get (a dated hotel that is in need of some renovation), but given the quality-price ratio of accommodation in Yangon, I can definitely recommend the Central.

As the name suggests, it is very central - around the corner from Trader's and close to the Sule Pagoda and the surrounding areas (great for exploring on foot with camera in hand) as well as the Boyoke Aung San market. It is even possible to walk to the Shwedagon Pagoda from here (if you like walking!).

First appearances are not great, but the rooms are kept spotless and bathrooms even come with basic toiletries. The breakfast buffet offered quite a few choices. Maybe not the greatest quality food, but included in the price so no complaints on that score.

The staff were unfailingly friendly and helpful, and will arrange wake-up calls and early-morning airport transfers ($10).

I was skeptical about the massage room on the 6th floor, but decided to give it a go anyway - at just K9000 for an hour and a half, it's worth a try. What a wonderful massage! Highly, highly recommended.

A taxi from the airport will cost you K7000 (arranged at the transfer desk as you enter the arrivals hall), and a taxi back to the airport will costs the same after a bit of bargaining.

This hotel gets my thumbs-up. But lower you expectations to avoid disappointment.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DiveDiva21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Didn’t find the staff very friendly, but the room was clean and functional (superior). However we were in the corner and near to something (machine) very loud – which luckily switched off from 23.00 -05.00! Breakfast looked to be quite varied – but unfortunately only time for coffee and a quick soup before leaving for the airport.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa and Erich B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location near the market and Traders hotel. My room was quite large and whilst a little bit dated it was comfortable. The breakfast wasn't amazing, it appeared mored skewed to an Asian diet. Overall it is a good Yangon option.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank CarlaSBris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

The Central Hotel was quite pleasant. I was there as part of a tour group so cannot comment on the value for money, but theroom was clean and the bed comfortable, and there was plenty of hot water. The breakfast was, for Myanmar excellent. the location was also very good across fromthe market and easy walking distance to the Sule Pagoda, china town and the colonial areas near the river. It is fairly non-descript but if you are just looking for a bed it's fine. There is a massage area on the 6th floor which was heavily booked while we were there which suggests it is well priced and a good massage.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diforgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.0 mi away
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
#27 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clover City Center
Clover City Center
#33 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.1 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#44 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtown)
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtow...
#23 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Star Hotel & Restaurant
City Star Hotel & Restaurant
#46 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beautyland Hotel II
Beautyland Hotel II
#79 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Hotel Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hotel Yangon

Property: Central Hotel Yangon
Address: 335/357, Bogyoke Aung San Road | Pabedan Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 150 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Central Hotel Yangon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Central Hotel Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Central Hotel Yangon Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing