We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Garden Guest House
Nearby Hotels
Taw Win Garden Hotel(Yangon (Rangoon))
US$95
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savoy Hotel Yangon(Yangon (Rangoon))
US$206
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sule Shangri-La Yangon(Yangon (Rangoon))
US$178
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon(Yangon (Rangoon))
US$163
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Strand(Yangon (Rangoon))
US$278
US$213
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belmond Governor's Residence(Yangon (Rangoon))
US$300
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$45
US$36
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon(Yangon (Rangoon))
US$99
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$41
US$32
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$89
US$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveller rating
2
10
8
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2
10
8
7
5
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 32 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Stayed there for 1 night, had a cell like room with no windows. It wasn't very clean either, the water from the sink was smelly. The view from the breakfastroom was great, opposite the Sule pagoda . They charge cheaper rates for local people, i had no other option then to stay there, cheap rooms are hard to find these days in Rangoon, but i hope i never have to stay there again.

Room Tip: The better rooms are on the second floor, however, they are the most noisy ones too.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grietje1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Used to stay here since my first visit back in 2005 many times, rooms are very basic and not really clean, but the staff is friendly and the view from the breakfast room (breakfast = 2 slices of toast, Jam and 1 coffeemix) on 4th floor is unbeatable! Most rooms have in-room shower/toilet, better avoid the ones without windows, feels like a prison cell... But anyhow, are very cheap place in the heart of Yangon, I also remember the staff as being very helpful and friendly, they always found a room for me even if they were officially Full...

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LLJM77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We stayed here recently, due to lack of rooms elsewhere and a complete disaster a few weeks prior to this after staying in the awful Mayfair Inn. We arrived at Garden Guest House @ 5.45am to the most pleasant welcome. The rooms are very basic, cell like. however the linen was clean and the rooms were quiet. The staff could not have been friendlier. If you are passing through, its fine for a night.

Room Tip: Towards the back they are quieter.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dublinblueeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I stayed here for a few nights recently; very basic; probably would not stay here again but as is the case with Yangon, everywhere is full so at least it's a room!
Breakfast consists of 4 slices of white bread with some jam and tea; ok I suppose as I only paid about $10 per night.
Just across the road from Sule Pagoda so very central and easy to find.

Room Tip: I don't know if there is a "Good" room; have a look first. It doesn't really matter because you probably won't spend much time in the room anyway!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Garden GH is directly next to the Shwe Pagoda; so the comforting low hum of ''Om mane whatever-it-is'' carries on most of the day. Quite sleep-inducing.

Rooms are typical of the $12 class of guesthouse: mostly windowless boxes from the firetrap school of hotel architecture, but with toilet/shower - some of which are occasionally warm. But the manager [who was quite untypical of Burmese in being positively disagreeable] sometimes tries to charge $16- $25 for them. He also charges Ky300 per phone call, but can't be bothered to help with them.

Breakfast is summary: the barest minimum of 4 slices of pre-packed undercooked polystyrene, half a teaspoon of jam, some grease, and a sachet of tea or coffee.

Overall: you can do better.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank spanner48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews